We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot for a mid-summer break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort to your Saves list
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   350 Fenton St, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Regal Palms Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic spot for a mid-summer break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We initially planned to stay 2 nights, we were so comfortable here that we extended our stay another 3 nights. Generous sized bathrooms and amazing spa... this place has the most comfortable beds!! The pool was lovely, although we had some real scorchers while we were there so nice to swim in a warm pool... Fantastic staff, and absolutely spotless.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    78
    17
    0
    0
See reviews for
103
90
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Everything was fantastic. Clean and tidy, beautiful two bedroom apartment for two night stay, I cannot pick at anything. The staff are friendly and helpful, they have a play ground and putt-putt golf for the kids with a great swimming pool. We will stay again, and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had a two bedroom unit and it was well furnished, clean and updated. The family used the pool and mini golf and enjoyed those facilities. We also made use of the kitchen for breakfasts. We did order a cooked breakfast with the motel and it was excellent.

The Spa bath was big enough to take four people.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great hotel with excellent facilities - perfect for families. I couldn't fault a thing! We had a 2 bedroom apartment which exceeded our expectations. The spa in the main bathroom was the best I've come across.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We arrived early and as our room was ready they booked us in, a lovely room and well set out with a brilliant spa and lovely spacious bathroom. Excellent facilities, had a couple of games of mini golf and the pool was just lovely, perfect temperature. Our stay was breakfast included but I forgot to drop off our order before we went out. I phoned reception the next morning and it wasn't a problem! they took the order over the phone and it was delivered 15 minutes later and one of the best breakfasts we had on our tour. The staff were really good and as well as being efficient the cleaning ladies were happy in their jobs which was good to see. Wouldn't hesitate on staying here again or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Everything was excellent. My one complaint was the pool wasnt always heated. My husband complained but was told they reduced the heat because someone said it was too hot and it would take 24 hours to heat it up one degree.It was not even tepid,it was cold!!! It was only when I went in and reminded them they were advertised as heated pools that they did something. Amazing in a short time (not 24 hours) they were a nice warm temperature. Other than that, very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross M, Manager at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
I'm sorry you felt you had to downgrade us just for the pool temperature. The pool got warmer not because of your outburst but as I explained to your husband earlier it takes hours to lift the temp in that amount of water and I had already raised it after talking with your husband.
Most guests tell me at this time of year they find it more refreshing being slightly lower - we run it at 30 degrees and lift it higher in the colder months
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel was great for our family group of 7 with lots to do. Swimming pool, tennis courts, 9 hole mini golf. They even had bikes and helmets for 6 of us who wanted to go riding. Great hiking and biking trails very close. It was clean and nicely decorated. We had a great time here on Christmas day.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort

Address: 350 Fenton St, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Regal Palms Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REGAL PALMS AND THE ART of HOSPITALITY Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua - New Zealand's geothermal wonderland. Here you'll find a great range of high quality accommodation options, exceptional facilities and unsurpassed hospitality. Luxury Rotorua Accommodation: Our modern and well-equipped range of superior suites and apartments make an ideal Rotorua accommodation option for couples, families, corporates and groups. Every suite and apartment has a great range of features, including a luxurious spa pool - perfect to sink into at the end of the day. Superb on-site Facilities: Be sure to make the most of the exceptional on-site facilities at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort. Whether you want to relax with a drink in the cosy Guest Lounge, or you're up for something more active on the tennis court, in our heated swimming pool or on one of our free bicycles exploring the city - there's something for everyone here! Conference Facilities: Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is the perfect location for your upcoming business meeting or conference. We have a range of conference packages to suit all small meetings (up to 20 persons) Packages & Promotions: Check out our Rotorua accommodation packages and promotions to make sure you're getting the best deal when you stay with us! True Kiwi Hospitality At Regal Palms, we understand that hospitality is an art that embraces service, attitude and respect for the individual needs of every guest - you can expect the same high level of customer service every time you stay with us. Warm Regards, Ross, Annie and the team at Regal Palms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Palms 5 Star City Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.