We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort to your Saves list
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   350 Fenton Street | Corner Ward Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Regal Palms Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A superb motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

This is an absolutely superb motel. The rooms are spacious and really well equipped. They are far superior to many 4 star hotels. The bathroom we had was quite magnificent and came with a large hot tub. The layout of the complex is also spacious with easy parking. The staff are friendly and helpful. It's not the cheapest place to stay but well worth the slightly higher cost.

  • Liked — The excellent room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    82
    20
    1
    0
See reviews for
116
102
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

What has happened to Rotorua? It used to be reasonably priced to visit but the tables have turned. I know we have choices and we did choose to pay over $200 a night for a 1 bedroom "suite" but it was the small touches which lost them points with us. Do not get me wrong THIS IS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY. I want to make that very clear. My issues are more around the house keeping and the fact that after day 1 they did not replensih the toilet paper or supply another carton of milk. One of our "clean" towels had two curly black hairs on it AND THEY WEREN'T OURS!!! The reception is not 24 hours either so if you wish to use th wireless internet you must obtain a voucher before 9pm. There are no shops near so walking to get milk is not an easy task unless you wish to cross busy Fenton Street. The rooms really are fantastic however and they are very well appointed. feel bad marking them down on these few issues however if you are going to charge in excess of two hundred bucks you MUST get it right. I would stay here again and I would recommend others to do the same. I would like to see some more focus from the cleaning staff and it would be nice if reception was open 24 hours.

  • Liked — The spacious rooms
  • Disliked — House keeping issues
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

We booked for 1 night and stayed for 4.

This is such a lovely resort. The two bedroomed apartment was huge. It was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable.

The kitchen area was very well equiped with a full size oven, hob, microwave, dishwasher and waste disposal unit. There was a small laundry area within the apartment which had a washing machine and tumble drier in it.

The sofa and chairs were comfortable and blinds at the windows ensured privacy.

The main bedroom had a king bed with electric blanket, plenty of cupboard space and a safe. The ensuite for this room had under floor heating, a heated towel rail and a wonderful walk in shower. Robes were provided.

The 2nd room had twin beds again plenty of storage and robes.

The spa room was superb. The windows folded back and gave you a view of your own private terrace acessed via the master bedroom. There was another walk in shower in this room also.

Pool towels were in the vanity unit and were changed daily

There was an additional cloakroom.

We ordered a cooked breakfast and a continental breakfast,both arrived on time and were very good.

The apartment has wifi which you pay for at reception. The pool & play area were the other side of the complex from our apartment but the bbq was just oposite.

This complex fully deserves it 5* rating and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — The quality of the accomodation
  • Disliked — pool was cold
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

Don't get me wrong... For what you get; a large, updated and very clean room, at the price, how can one gripe? When they promise more than they deliver. The staff's knowledge was sketching, except when it involved booking an item thru them. And I just don't get the five stars... There is no restaurant, no bar, no room service, the front desk is not open 24hrs, and yes, it's only two floors, but I didn't see an elevator. Still, I would recommend it it to anyone as a top notch motor lodge... Which is what it is. Stayed two nights, wished we could have stayed three or more.

Easy access to all the highlights.... IF you understand this is a motor lodge. ie you need a car. And yes, they, like so many other hotels use a key card system to turn on the lights. But not being familiar with these does not mean a negative or a "problem" with the facility.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

After a long day of driving, we reached the Regal Palms and were given immediate asstiance. We were even given a basket with milk and cookies in it when we checked in. We did run into a little issue because we didn't know you had to insert your key chain into a slot to make the power work! The other issue was that they blocked our phone and had some trouble getting it working, but they were very accomodating and ordered our lunch for us. We were given great tips by one of the employees who was extremely helpful and friendly. When we checked out we were given chocolates!!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

A high quality motor lodge without the chintz! Huge modern room with all you could need, massive bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Smell free but near to all the top Rotorua sights. Excellent front desk staff only too willing to advise, help & even make bookings for us. Very clean, spacious, new feel - very well kept complex.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

We stayed at the Regal Palms for 2 nights in April. In the US, motels and motor lodges are places that are usually sketchy, unclean or run-down, but after reading the TA reviews, we knew we wouldn't be running into that in NZ. We had a car, so could get around easily, but I would say that it's a pretty far walk to the lake and most of the restaurants/stores in town. Wallace and Judy at the front office were wonderful and had lots of information to offer on sites/attractions and restaurants in Rotorua and beyond. They also helped arrange a few bookings for us during our stay. We arrived around 10am- way before check-in time - and got into our room within 30 minutes after we arrived since we contacted them when we were on the road (we played a round of mini golf while we waited). The room was clean and basic. Loved the heated bathroom floor!!! I would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — the heated floors
  • Disliked — outside "terrace" was boxed in
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort

Address: 350 Fenton Street | Corner Ward Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Regal Palms Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REGAL PALMS AND THE ART of HOSPITALITY Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua - New Zealand's geothermal wonderland. Here you'll find a great range of high quality accommodation options, exceptional facilities and unsurpassed hospitality. Luxury Rotorua Accommodation: Our modern and well-equipped range of superior suites and apartments make an ideal Rotorua accommodation option for couples, families, corporates and groups. Every suite and apartment has a great range of features, including a luxurious spa pool - perfect to sink into at the end of the day. Superb on-site Facilities: Be sure to make the most of the exceptional on-site facilities at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort. Whether you want to relax with a drink in the cosy Guest Lounge, or you're up for something more active on the tennis court, in our heated swimming pool or on one of our free bicycles exploring the city - there's something for everyone here! Conference Facilities: Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is the perfect location for your upcoming business meeting or conference. We have a range of conference packages to suit all small meetings (up to 20 persons) Packages & Promotions: Check out our Rotorua accommodation packages and promotions to make sure you're getting the best deal when you stay with us! True Kiwi Hospitality At Regal Palms, we understand that hospitality is an art that embraces service, attitude and respect for the individual needs of every guest - you can expect the same high level of customer service every time you stay with us. Warm Regards, Ross, Annie and the team at Regal Palms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Palms 5 Star City Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.