We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an amazing suprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Green Voyager

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Funky Green Voyager
Save
You added Funky Green Voyager to your Saves list
4 Union St, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“an amazing suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

It's our favorite hostel in NZ and maybe the best one in our journey to New Zealand and Australia. Friendly and helpful staff (Hanna?), spacious and clean living room and kitchen with a yard. We stayed in the twin room and have our own fridge.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    33
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
43
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sucre, Bolivia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

we loved it here so much instead of staying only 2 nights in Rotorua as initially planned, we stayed 5! Gerard is a legend, he knows exactly what travellers want and how to give it to them. Great dorms, spotlessly clean, comfy bunks, great location, amazing staff, brilliant kitchen, lovely garden. Best choice!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.EAST
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

This hostel is by far the best place we have stayed in 8 months of travelling both Oz and NZ. The staff are so friendly, the beds are comfy, great location, warm lounge and tonnes to do and most importantly, it is a place for real travellers. No telly so everyone chats, plus a massive dining table to socialise around. Eggs for 40c, beer for $2 and spices for a donation. This place is completely set up for travellers, not slackpackers, and is run by people who have travelled extensively so know what makes a good hostel. Not only this, it is also one of the cheapest places we've stayed in NZ and no doubt the best week we've had in a hostel!
Also, ignore what all the other comments say about the owner, Gerard. He is a key to making this hostel tick, bringing everyone together in conversation, and made this place a real home away from home for us. Felt like one of the family!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I absolutely loved this place, travelled around the whole of New Zealand and this was my favourite hostel of them all. All rooms were clean and comfy, kitchen was especially nice with beer you could help your self to in the fridge for $1 each. Hostel owner was also lovely. In the evenings it was great to have no tv so you could chat to everyone, board games and cards provided for evening entertainment. Wish I could go back!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights whilst visiting Rotorua. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and approachable, offering discounts on activities to do around town. The hostel was clean and tidy and several hours a day were spent cleaning the place by all the staff. The grounds were spacious and relaxed and it was a great place to chill out. It was a quiet backpackers and attracts a wide range of travellers of all ages. Good central location with a large supermarket nearby.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I only stayed in the Funky Green Voyager for one night, the sort where you arrive at 8pm and leave before 10am, so I can't say I've had time to experience the place fully, or talk to the owner a lot - other reviews don't seem too ecstatic but I spoke to him briefly about activities and he was kind and helpful.

I found the room clean, and the bathrooms good enough although quite cramped. The kitchen was quite spacious too although you have to take your shoes off and I always find that quite a drag when you're eating outside and having to go in and out to get more wine, pepper, check on your food while it's cooking, etc....

The outside area is really lovely, and that is my best memory of this place: hanging around outside all evening chatting with people. It's a very friendly place and all in all I would have happily stayed another night or two!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed in one of the cheapest en-suite rooms that we have been in, in a New Zealand hostel, and it wasn't bad at all. The room was clean and a decent size, decor slightly outdated - no problem really.

We only stayed one night, so didn't use the living area. The kitchen was good and the owners friendly. Liked the back garden to sit in.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Funky Green Voyager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Green Voyager

Address: 4 Union St, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Funky Green Voyager Rotorua
Funky Green Voyager Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Green Voyager, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.