We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so funky....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Green Voyager

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Funky Green Voyager to your Saves list
Funky Green Voyager
4 Union St, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not so funky....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

Mixed review really. Positives were the location, which was really handed for getting into town. The outside areas were great and good discounts / info can be had on local attractions.The lady owner, Anja i think, was very friendly and helpful.

Negatives were the more important things to me - we stayed in a double ensuite, and it was pretty nasty. The bedsheets hadn't been washed and smelt terrible and there was someone's hair all over the bed. The bathroom was not much better, with woolly bedroom carpet around the toilet that smelt awful and the shower had quite clearly not been cleaned.

The kitchen does have a good recycling set up, but it's a shame they couldn't clean it. You have to take your shoes off to go inside, which is fine, but the floors were filthy and your feet get covered in other peoples food crumbs.

I also agree with the comments from other travellers that the owner Gerard is to be treated with caution - a man that does not seem to mind butting into rooms and speaking to people like they were kids (left a light on by accident and was humiliated)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    37
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
50
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

FGV is a nice place to stay in Rotorua. Its in a great spot close to town and the Pak'N'Save / Warehouse etc. There are 2 separate buildings - the hostel building and then another quieter house across the road (where I stayed). Both buildings are show-free!

The room was fine, bed's mattress was pretty old and soft/springy but comfy. Kitchen was nice though quite small when the house is full (only one hob). Theres also no windows in the sittingroom and no telly and it gets kinda chilly at night!

The lady I dealt with Anja was really helpful and friendly and helped me find a beauty place that was HEAPS cheaper (and much better value) than the Polynesian Spa.

  • Liked — Its nice & quiet
  • Disliked — No telly and quite slow internet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

This is a backpacker paradis for travellers with a good sence of humour. Gerard and Anja are great hosts. This is a great place to meet other travellers. It is not a place for party animals and drunken teenagers. It's the perfect place for the real backpacker.
I stayed several times in the FGV and had an excellent time everytime. Feel home in Rotorua !

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

So if you have already booked, know ahead of time, you pay with cash only. If you haven't booked, you have to call -- no online booking.

We stayed in a room with a bathroom (en suite). It did not look like much elbow grease was needed to actually remove the mold from shower or back of the toliet. The heater would have been nice if it worked. The heated towel rack was nice.

I would not say this is the best hostel I have ever stayed in, but it was okay.

Note: I recommend traveling to Rotorua last, because all of your stuff will stink (sulfur) by the time you leave...I was happy to come home and was all my clothes :)

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Ok so the other reviews are correct in some ways, yes it's very very clean, well kept and a nice location. But and it's a BIG BUT the owner is to be avoided at all costs. He is very friendly to start with when you check in but then it goes down hill after that to the point you want to leave. There is not a word strong enough to describe him, he is like the other reviews say very very rude. My girlfriend was changing in the room and he'd just burst in for no apparent reason 'to chat'. A girl we were sharing with was ridiculed for the whole night because she bought in his word 'cheap dirty meat', so much so that she had to leave the dining room, I’m sorry but if you own a hostel you accommodate for guests that are travelling on a tight budget. A couple we met after had also stayed there and forgot to turn their heater off - the owner had been in to the room and taken it away from them and wouldn't return it. If you want a shower at any time after 10 am forget it as there'll be a sign up saying 'showers airing for the day' - Great!!! Oh and one last thing if you decide to stay make sure you put the correct items in the correct recycle bin, one poor lad was literally told of like a child at school for putting the tiniest of onion peel in the general rubbish bin instead of the compost bin.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling the world
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

I have stayed at many hostels and this is by far the best I have EVER stayed at (although Krumlov House in Cesky Krumlov is close). Its clean, the staff is friendly (I watched a rugby match with the owner) and there are tons of "extras" to make your stay nicer. They have a large stock of spices in the kitchen, plus the layout was nice.

the only thing I didn't like was that you had to take your shoes off to go inside. I hate that, but about 50% of the hostels in NZ seemed to be that way.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2006

Funky Green Voyager is our all-time favorite hostel. It was clean, friendly, sociable, well-run, and reasonably-priced. But what set it apart was the dedication of the owner-operator Gerard, his wife Anya, and their well-chosen staff to helping their guests find rewarding travel experiences, as well as their dedication to eco-friendly living. The recycling and composting at this hostel is the best I've ever seen anywhere, and the staff never tired of giving us really great advice. Thanks to Funky Green for a great experience!

  • Liked — helpful staff, eco-friendly
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Funky Green Voyager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Green Voyager

Address: 4 Union St, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Funky Green Voyager reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Green Voyager Rotorua
Funky Green Voyager Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Green Voyager, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.