We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but a couple of great sites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waimangu Volcanic Valley

Waimangu Volcanic Valley
587 Waimangu Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
64 7 366 6137
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 44 attractions in Rotorua
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visit Waimangu Volcanic Valley and find out how the world began. Incredible Waimangu is the world's youngest geothermal system and a destination for travellers of all ages and fitness levels. Created in 1886 as the result of a massive volcanic eruption, Waimangu offers today's travellers a choice of easy self-guided walks through a natural environment of volcanic craters and awesome geothermal activity. Frying Pan Lake is the world's largest hot water spring; stunning Inferno Crater will take your breath away with the beauty of its turquoise blue lake; the environment itself will slow you down and soothe your soul.The more advanced Mt Haszard hike rewards with panoramic views, and our Lake Rotomahana cruise will reveal further geothermal activity that can only be seen from our vessel. Your entrance fee includes interpretive guides in a wide variety of languages for both the walks and the cruise. Our courtesy coach regularly circulates the valley to take you to your Lake Rotomahana Cruise, or back to the Visitor Centre when you've finished your walk, where you can enjoy refreshments in our modern Café or browse for mementos and souvenirs at our gift shop. Depending on how much time you have,your walk or cruise can range from 45 minutes to over 4 hours.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Expensive but a couple of great sites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Inferno crater was amazing
Only takes 2hrs to do
A bit expensive, but none other are cheaper
El naturale - did not see any other tourists on our walk
Would recommend for people who don't like tourist traps
Hard to get to without a car

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimangu Volcan... R, Manager at Waimangu Volcanic Valley, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for your review. 2 hours is the usual "visiting time" for the walking tour, and 3 hours for the walking tour + boat cruise. However visitors are welcome to stay at Waimangu for as long as they like within our opening hours. We often have visitors who stay all day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    142
    24
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurworth-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Some amazing views to be seen.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We took half day trip from Rotorua we got taken first to see the famous geiser which was fantastic to watch although a little down hearted to find that it doesn't go off on its own like clockwork and is activated by pouring a substance in it.

Following this we got taken around the volcanic pools which are a wash with colour from the mineral deposits.

I'd love to go back in the summer time to see it all the the sunshine as it was fairly cold when we visited.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A scenic location spoilt by the cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

While I will say it is worth a visit, I wasn't happy with the cost. I'm sorry but I think $34 for a bush walk is too steep. This is state owned land and should be run as an accessible spot for all.

Add to that the bus service is quite periodic for the amount I paid it should have had more services. Having said all that the front lady was quite friendly and the scenery was unique. It is a very nice drive out as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimangu Volcan... R, Manager at Waimangu Volcanic Valley, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Waimangu is a Scenic Reserve, which is Crown land. However, every service, amenity and facility for visitors is provided by a small private company under the provisions of a Crown Lease. The Company pays rent, fees and taxes to the Crown and local government in the usual business way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland,New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our family got a standard walking pass (no ferry) for about $80. The scenery on the walk is fantastic, very unique geothermal activity & it truly is untouched. However it is quite expensive for a walk so that's why it's not getting the full 5 stars.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimangu Volcan... R, Manager at Waimangu Volcanic Valley, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Pleased that you enjoyed the beauty and peace of Waimangu. The entry fee reflects the cost of providing all the services and amenities, including 4km of road and 6 km of paths, in a very difficult to maintain environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“In It's Natural State”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

What we loved most about Waimangu is how it's much closer to it's natural state than many other thermal areas. While Wai-O-Tapu is amazing, it's got a very "zoo"-like feel to it, whereas Waimangu is more like a DOC walk with incredible geothermal features thrown in. Highlights for us included a mini geyser (not sure if this little guy normally plays, there's been a fair amount of rain lately, in the brochure it was just described as a "hot spring"), the awesome Inferno crater and the terraces that give you a glimpse into what the Pink and White terraces (so close yet so far away) would have looked like in their day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimangu Volcan... R, Manager at Waimangu Volcanic Valley, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Waimangu does have a number of beautiful, small geyserlike features, but by far the most important geyser at Waimangu is Inferno Crater Lake, which is the largest of all geysers in the World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waimangu Volcanic Valley also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Waimangu Volcanic Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waimangu Volcanic Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Waimangu Volcanic Valley to your Saves list