We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wylie Court Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wylie Court Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Fenton St., Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We love Wylie Court and have stayed here a number of times over the years.
As a family you can just move in and there is room for everyone and somewhere for them to do their own thing. The plunge pool in the back courtyard is lovely for a nice warm up whenever you feel like it. First thing on a cold morning was very nice.There is also a good outdoor pool for everyone to use.
The kitchen was well outfitted with equipment and very clean.
And the cleaners did a very good job of cleaning each day while we were out enjoying the sights and activities of Rotorua.
We had a good rest plus some interesting activities and only 45 minutes drive from home.
We will be back again some other holidays for more rest and to explore Rotorua and surrounds some more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    42
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
28
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very clean and well set out one bed down stairs and one queen upstairs. Nice private outside spa.Excellent place for kids with a good size heated outdoor pool and play area. I have stayed here a few times now and have enjoyed my stay every time the people are very nice and the rooms are always clean . It can get a little warm in the rooms over the summer time but just open windows and doors. good flat screen TV's . Heaps of parking and nice and quiet. I will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Clean, friendly, great value family accommodation. We stayed on a special winter rate for around $175 per night for 4 of us, unbeatable value.

We stayed in a EQQ with a closed off floor - we preferred this to a mezzanine so we could put the kids to bed upstairs more like in their own room. Upstairs there was a queen & a single and a bathroom and downstairs another bathroom and queen in the lounge. Had our own spa pool which we all loved.

The cleaners were great, friendly with nice little touches. Hosts were great, we asked on the off chance if they had a baby bath as there were only showers in the bathrooms, and completely unexpectedly they went out and bought us a baby bath to make bathing the baby easier! Hows that for service?! Free portacot all nicely made up when we arrived and highchair made it easy as well. Not like some places where you pre order them, then just have to chase when you arrive.

One of the best things about Wylie court & why we chose it over other places is the onsite restaurant with room service, its so nice when you've got young kids just to be able to order nice meals to your room & not have to worry about dining out every night - or having to cook. Loved this.

Upstairs there are lovely big high windows, can be a bit bright but makes for a lovely outlook looking out at the trees. Yes its a slightly older motel but its very well looked after & our room had been refurbished - we could hear a little bit of noise from the other rooms upstairs but it wasn't enough to disturb us.

If you do want to dine out check out the kurious kiwi down next to Burger King on Fenton St, great family friendly restaurant with the most delicious food & a decent kids menu that wasn't just full of rubbish.

Also if you're trying to choose between the two parks rainbow springs or paradise valley it can be hard to know the difference - paradise valley has trout + lions (very cool how close you can get way better than the zoo) + farm animals you can feed. Rainbow springs only real points of difference are the log flume, playground and birds (if you're into that) & slightly better trout feeding. We went to both but for our family ( 5 year old & 10 month old) could have definitely just gone to Paradise Valley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

.Our family of four stayed here for two nights in April. We booked one of the basic two bedroom units for our stay and found it to be spacious, clean and comfortable and perfect for a family. My only comment / complaint would be that the curtains in the main bedroom need to be darkened as the security lights made for a very light room which could be a problem for some. The other family we traveled with had booked a standard unit with spa and were also impressed. All staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful, the hot pool was fabulous and a hit with the kids, and whilst we didn't have a meal at the onsite restaurant, we did enjoy it's use for a quiet drink at night before exploring the city. Both families agreed that when we meet in Rotorua again we would most definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here on recommendation and found it even better than expected. Facilities included all the best attributes of a studio room, including a personal Jacuzzi and a shared swimming pool. Perfectly situated to visit the Rotorua Maori Cultural Evening. This experience completed a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here over a long weekend and had a wonderful time. We were in a standard unit with a queen bed downstairs and two singles on a mezzanine floor upstairs.

There was a hot plunge pool in a private outdoor area which was fantastic on a cool autumn night. It was always full, unlike some places where you have to fill it each time. It wasn't a spa, instead it was a large tiled round plunge pool - plenty of room for 3-4 people and prefect temperature.

The unit was a bit dated but was spotlessly clean and was serviced each day. There was plenty of room - our unit had a slightly larger living area because it had a separate balcony upstairs as well - not really usable but it gave more space underneath. The only other item to point out was that the units are quite dark (lots of natural wood) - and the lighting isn't the best at night. The upstairs area on the mezzanine was not fully enclosed and we thought it could be problematic with children, but they fell asleep with no problems - the walls were high enough to hide the light and sound.

The outdoor hot pool was perfect for the kids and we spent plenty of time in it as well. It was pretty cold that weekend, but the pool was heated to more than bath temperature - not just heated, it was hot. Bliss.

Location was pretty good - the main street which meant some of the units closer to the road may have been noisy. Ours wasn't because it was set back behind the pool complex. It's too far to walk to town, but we had a car so it was no problem to drive.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road and the restaurant. And one with an upstairs balcony gives more d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome here for a 2 night stay and had the choice of 2 units,both excellent quality,clean and comfortable. Our hosts had a number of places to recommend in the Rotorua area,and we also enjoyed a lovely meal in the on-site restaurant.Highly recommended and would have liked more time here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wylie Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wylie Court Motor Lodge

Address: 345 Fenton St., Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wylie Court Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wylie Court is Rotorua's best know and trusted Motor Lodge, with is's Licensed Restaurant & Conference Centre, Complimentary Wireless Internet Service. Our award winning Chef has a well-deserved reputation for fine cuisine,set amongst our park-like surroundings with private spa/plunge pools (subject to availability) Large thermally heated outdoor pool, 2 x playgrounds. Guests enjoy the superb service, and our friendly staff with helpful advice will make your stay enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wylie Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wylie Court Motor Hotel Rotorua
Wylie Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wylie Court Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.