We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rotoruas best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16 Devon Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 48 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Rotoruas best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Colleen and Murray were great hosts and very helpful with local knowledge
Sleep quality very good as was the bedroom and bathroom
After a hard day doing nothing, sitting on the private patio with a pot of tea and cake in the late afternoon was just the ticket Colleen reads your mind and does everything to make your stay PERFECT
It does not get better than this

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper46, Owner at The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review Barry. It was a joy to have you here with us and we wish you were here now as the roses are just glorious. We hope to see you again when you come to visit from England to your family in Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
henham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was very near to perfection on every aspect accomadation hosts food all excellent their advice on what and where to go was good Colleen and her husband made us very welcome and suggested we visit the Agrodome and skyline cable car as well as the famous mud pools

Room Tip: All very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Springs really is THE place to stay in Rotorua. We have stayed with Colleen and Murray three times, and every time has been so very special. We are planning trip #4 now; visiting NZ without spending time with Colleen and Murray just doesn’t seem right! The rooms are spotlessly clean and luxurious, as is the whole b&b. The breakfasts are to die for, especially Colleen’s blueberry pancakes!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Springs was amazing. Not only was the b&b clean, luxurious, and spacious, but the hospitality that Colleen and Murray provided was unsurpassed. It was like we had fairy godparents looking out for us. They even provided a hot water bottle to warm the bed at the turn down service. The breakfasts were delicious and the conversations stimulating. We were sorry to say goodbye. Overall, the springs surpassed our expectations. If I could award more than five stars I would.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We were blessed that our travel agent booked us into The Springs for 2 nights during our Australia/New Zealand holiday. From the moment we arrived we were treated to the utmost in hospitality and Murray and Colleen went out of their way to cater to our needs. While Murray brought our bags to our room, Colleen made us tea and cakes that we enjoyed on our patio in the garden. Knowing we were tired from a long day of traveling they recommended a nearby restaurant so we would not have to go far to eat, and it turned out to be an excellent meal. While we were away they reconfirmed our next day's tours for us. The room has all the amenities of a fine hotel and more without the incidental charges. This included bottled water free Wi-Fi, an extra plug adapter, iron and supplies in the bathroom. As a major bonus use of the TV room includes not only a wide array of digital channels but also access to port and sherry. The made to order breakfasts are superb. To top it off, when we were departing to catch our onward bus, Murray drove us rather than making us catch a cab. When it Rotorua, it would be a mistake to stay anywhere else.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the moment of our arrival when they came right out to meet us, Colleen and Murray were welcoming and helpful, ideal innkeepers, who took care of our every need. The B&B is beautiful, beautifully appointed, neat and clean as a whistle, and decorated with such interesting things. They served us delicious breakfasts and recommended a restaurant we could walk to that we liked so much we went back a second night. You can't go wrong by making a reservation to stay at the Springs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan de Alicante, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was one of the friendliest places we have stayed at during our 2 month tour of Oz and NZ. Colleen and Murray treated us like family, even to the point of becoming a little worried when we had been out and about exploring for some 12 bhours one day! A real Home from Home. we were given excellent advice by Colleen on what to see, where to go, and even the best places to eat in town. Their local knowledge is boundless and helped us to see as much as possible in the short time we had, one needs at least 3-4 days here as there is so much to see and do. Breakfast was almost a banquet, pity we were both trying desperately to control our appetites after 6 weeks of hotel food!! Free WiFi is available and Colleen even offered to do our laundry for us. Do ask Colleen about the story behind the photographs of the Beatles!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16 Devon Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.