We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa to your Saves list
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, relaxing place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Alan and Shirley were very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Arranged a table for a meal Christmas day including transport and sent menus to us prior to our arrival.
Also gave us very good recommendations for two places to eat at our next location (Napier) which we tried and were indeed excellent.
Accomodation is very clean and comfortable and the staff were all very friendly. Facilites are very good and location is very handy.
Had a very relaxing four day stay and will deffinately return.
I would highly recommend this Motel/spa as a place to stay in Rotorua from our experience.

Keith & Denise (Ireland)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    161
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
144
342
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a deluxe one bedroom spa apartment and had a fabulous stay. The room, kitchen and bathroom were modern, spotless clean and very spacious.

Reception has a good selection of DVDs you can borrow to watch. They offer a free laundry service (you pay a minimal fee for some washing powder if you don't have your own). There is a guest BBQ.

The staff are very friendly, knowledgeable and approachable.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend Silver Fern Accommodation and Spa to anyone travelling to Rotorua.

Thank you!

Room Tip: The spa apartment is fantastic for adding that extra bit of luxury to your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I had booked a Standard Studio for 2 nights as part of my 2-week NZ honeymoon trip. It was one of the best decisions I made in terms of accommodation for the entire trip! This was our first ever stay in a motel for both my husband and I, and it had done a really fantastic job in setting a very high standard for us in terms of motels!

For starters, check-in was easy and quick and Allan and Shirley were so warm and friendly. Allan showed us personally to our room and also directed us to where was most convenient for us to park our car. We were happy to have a semi-private parking spot which was right behind our room on the first floor. This meant we had an almost private access to the motel and rarely had to go through the front reception area and main parking area unlike the other motel guests.

The room was spacious and comfortable and the kitchenette was easily the most well-equipped out of all the motel kitchenettes that we experienced throughout our entire NZ trip. There was nothing we needed that they didn't have in our room.

Self-service laundry was available as well at a laundry room which was open 24 hours for our usage. This was great, as many other motels only allowed laundry to be done during the daytime which was rather inconvenient as we were usually out and about during the day and only had time to do the laundry at night, which we did at the Silver Fern with no problems. The washer and separate dryer were quick to do the job and we had freshly washed and dried clothes in no time. You can buy liquid detergent from reception during their office hours at $2 for a small one-time use pack. The dryer is paid using 3 $1 coins.

The spa tub was fantastic. I had the opportunity to use it once after a long and tiring day of sight-seeing and it was a really wonderful way to wind down and relieve fatigue at the end of the day.

Something we found however was that there were a couple of flies that managed to enter our room on our first day there and they could not seem to get out. We tried opening the doors and windows to let them out to no avail. Even after housekeeping cleaned the room, the flies were still there. In the end, we had to share the room with two flies that were continuously flying and buzzing around throughout our entire stay. We managed to ignore them after a while but this could be a nuisance to some others. It was a good thing that the room was large.

The motel is also situated along a whole long street of motels with no eateries within walking distance so we had to drive out all the time to get to food outlets. The town centre and food outlets were quite nearby, including the delicious Oppie's Fish & Chips, but we still had to drive to get there. The Te Puia cultural centre was only a 3-minute drive away, though, and it made a great first stop in the morning for us for a day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Studio 1 for semi-private access to the motel room and parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, as it is with this feedback that we can make continual improvements at the Silver Fern. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Silver Fern and you enjoyed the space of the rooms, the laundry, the spa pools and the customer service - labeling us 'the best motel you stayed at in New Zealand'. We are sorry to hear about the flies bothering you in your room. There is a can of fly spray available in every room, alternatively we could have assisted should you have let us know during your stay. Once again thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you back at the Silver Fern in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were a group of ten ranging in age from 1 to 66, and stayed Dec 20-22, 2012. The rooms/suites are large, well-furnished, and clean, and breakfast is delivered to the rooms. The hotel is central so a really good starting point for all our Rotorua adventures. To top this off, Allan and his staff are friendly and extremely helpful. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A nice small motel with good rooms, private spa jacuzzis in all rooms and really helpful people running the hotel. There were also some really nice touches. Breakfast in the room was excellent both morning, they changes our TV without any problem when it made a bit of a noise, and when we lft something at the hotel they arranged a courier to get out stuff back to us. Also a range of DVDs to borrow for free. Close to the thermal geysers so you can walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I recently had to drive north just to pick up some Lord of The Rings Weta statues, so my wife and I decided to stay in Rotorua the night, before driving home.

We stayed in the same Honeymoon Suite at the 'Silver Fern', that we stayed in 10 years ago on our actual honeymoon.

The whole place still looks very nice, warm and inviting from the outside.

The honeymoon suite was just as we remembered it, though it had been modernized with a new kitchenette etc. It still had the huge spa bath and big comfortable bed we remembered.

The owners were absolutely lovely, and really seemed happy to have us back.

We tried the new Silver Fern Spa out, which was amazing, and very well priced (see my other review of the spa).

The 'Silver Fern' is located close to EVERYTHING, including the supermarket, central shopping area, Polynesian Spa, etc.

We have now stayed here multiples times over a ten year span, so are very impressed that the 'Silver Fern' has only improved over time, when it was already worth 5 out of 5 stars.

Thank you so much to the wonderful owners who made us feel so welcome :)

We will be back again, and again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Good location, clean rooms, and a lovely Jacuzzi spa, and above all a very accomodating, helpful and kind host like Allan is the differentiators for this hotel. Allan's suggestions help me plan my day for myself and kids- thank you.
Kitchen was a tad small though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.