We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hostel, a good option in the centre of Rotorua” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Base Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Base Rotorua to your Saves list
Base Rotorua
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1286 Arawa St., Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Hot Rock Backpackers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A friendly hostel, a good option in the centre of Rotorua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

We stayed in Base Rotorua for 7 nights in April and had a good experience. On arrival there was a mix up with our booking of a double ensuite room. The receptionist was very apologetic and he offered us a four bed dorm to ourselves for the night before moving us to the double ensuite the next day. Both rooms were very clean and we were quite happy with the rate. The kitchen was the cleanest of any hostel we stayed in during our three month trip. The cleaning staff could be seen disinfecting all surfaces, delftware and glassware everyday and even cleaning behind the ovens everyday. It was a pleasure to cook here, and this saved us quite a bit of money! This hostel is much quieter than the Base Hot Rock hostel a short distance away. The reception will book excursions for you and have discounts on the nearby polynesian spa. However the i-site tourist office less than a five minute walk away has extensive information on sights and tours around the area.

  • Liked — Decent rooms, immaculate kitchen
  • Disliked — pub next door was loud, although we were warned by staff about this
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    21
    20
    13
See reviews for
3
37
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

I stayed a couple of nights in March 08 and had a reasonable stay. Great location in the centre of town

(I think Rotorua may have 2 base hostels. I stayed in the one where the Kiwi Explore, always a good choice to avoid the rowdy teens)

I had a 4 bed dorm which was very comfortable, although I was at the front of the hostel and there is a club just below which goes on late, so if you want a early night, try and get to the back.

The hostel has a large kitchen and also a large lounge on the top floor with pool table, table tennis, tv and video. There is also a climbing wall at the back if you want to give that a go.

the reception was good and helpful with trips etc, but I had a problem on checkout with the staff not turning up at the alleged opening time. I was checking out 1st thing to catch a bus, and needed to get my key deposit back. After calling the night caretaker, the reception staff finally arrived 45 mins late!! I just made my bus but missed having breakfast. Some people had to leave without returning the key and getting the deposit back.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

This stay was a bit of a gamble as we are much older than the average backpacker but we really enjoyed ourselves. We had a double room with shower room & well equipped kitchen & a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Our only complaint was an odd one--the pool was too hot to be refreshing being naturally heated as nearly all pools in Rotorua! The area is packed with fascinating things to do & we wished our stay had been for 4 rather than 3 nights.

  • Liked — The relaxed friendliness & proximity to places of interest, restaurants etc
  • Disliked — The dilapidated shower curtain!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

I travelled in NZ for a month and this hostel was by far the dirtiest. My boyfriend and I got a double that was freezing ( I don't think they turned the heat on), and had garbage under the bed. We had to share a single bathroom with several other dorm rooms so we were always waiting in line which is annoying when you have to go.

There are several other options for hostels in Rotorua - do yourself a favor and check those out first.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2006

This place was great for a backpackers hotel. They have 2 spa pools and a lovely warm outdoor pool. we visited as the busy season was just starting and found that the pools were not busy. It was reasonably priced and the room we booked had a kitchen and bathroom. The only slight disadvantage was the loud party in the next room which was loudly broken up in the early hours of the morning. But then If we hadnt had an early start we would have attended the party ourselves

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

Really enjoyed my stay here.
Located just a few minutes walk from everywhere in Rotorua.
Very friendly atmosphere in the hostel.

We booked a twin room and on arrival were pleasantly surprised to see that our acocmodation actually consisted of two bedrooms each whic two beds in them, AND a self contained kitchen! All for the price of an average dorm bed.

Lava bar in the hostel seems to be the main place for backpackers in Rotorua to socialise.

Will return here if Im back in Rotorua.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2005

We met so many cool people here and loved the mineral hot pools, the heated pool, the Lava Bar, and the location is great because you are across the road from Kuirau geothermal park which is the biggest free geothermal attraction in town.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Base Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Rotorua

Address: 1286 Arawa St., Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Hot Rock Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Base Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Base Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Rock Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.