We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great swimming pool;” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rotorua to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rotorua
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Tryon Street, P.O. Box 6220, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #49 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great swimming pool;”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Have stayed in many hotels in Rotorua but this is my favourite mainly because of the pool. The pool is very warm and a good size and not overlooked by people eating breakfast (like some other hotel pools in Rotorua!). There are also 2 spa pools. No need to pay for the family spa at the Polysesian Pools if you are staying here - the hotel pool is warmer and much less crowded. Also the hotel has great staff, nice bar & restaurant and spacious, clean rooms and comfy beds. What more could you want? We stayed here as a family with 2 adults and my sons ages 15 & 13.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Mona84,

Thank you for returning again to Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed another comfortable stay with us, and made the most of the outdoor heated pools and restaurant facilities.

We appreciate you mentioning our great staff, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    161
    60
    11
    4
See reviews for
106
110
12
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week, bed was very comfortable, restaurant was excellent, staff where super helpful and friendly.
Negatives, bath is small but spa and pool made up for it
Elevator had a sickly smell, but the stairs where good to help walk off dinner!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Billy M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us, and thank you for your ratings.

We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Rooms are fine what you would expect but don't order the room service, lamb burger was a frozen gluggy microwave patty while chicken burger was also awful . And it took 45 minutes to arrive. Rest of the food looked ridiculously over priced. Great pool tho and okay if tiny gym.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Dexdouble,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed our outdoor thermally heated pool, and made the most of our gym facility.

It is disappointing to read of the poor room service dinner you experienced and I apologise that we did not get that right for you. I hope you were able to bring that to the attention of our staff whilst you were here so that we could remedy that for you.

Thank you again for your feedback. We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night, I found the beds extremely comfortable, room was very clean and bathroom facilities were good. There wasn't enough tea, coffee and milk and a shame there was no hot chocolate as I had my grandson with me so no drinks for him. Difficulty getting the shower changed from the bath setting. I would discourage people from ordering the buttered chicken to their rooms as it was terrible. Obviously reheated in microwave but hadn't heated right through. Chicken was tough and sauce was awful, however plenty of it if you wanted to eat it!!!
Staff were excellent at reception. Would stay again but not have any food.

Room Tip: First floor, south, had a nice view over the mud pools and steam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear 947Trixie12,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed the comfortable bed, and thank you for mentioning our excellent reception staff.

It is disappointing to read of the poor room service dinner you experienced. That must have been disappointing and frustrating, and I apologise that we did not get that right for you.

When you next stay please let us know when you need hot chocolate in your room and we will be happy to send some up to you.

We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in Dec 2013 during our Christmas break for one night.
The room was small but very clean. We stayed the room with Geyser view and we could see the Geyser very closely from our balcony.
Yes its smelly but its worthy to stay in View room with amazing Geyser!

Hotel is little old and the elevator is old but everyone in reception were really friendly, helpful and warm.
We would stay again if we decide to go back to Rotorua!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear JihyunScheiber,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed the amazing view from you room, and thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate you mentioning our friendly and helpful staff, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I've not stayed here before, but it's a very pleasant stay. Building and rooms are well maintained and clean, with all the amenities I needed for an overnight stay. I was in upper level 5 with a balcony which would certainly be nice in summer. It's right next door to geysers and a Maori village so good for tourists. Not right in town, but I noted hotel runs a shuttle bus into town if you prefer not to drive. Ample parking. Hotel bar has happy hour 5-30 to 6-30 with $5 beers and wines which I though a great idea after a busy day. Buffet in restaurant was well above average. Popular with tour buses, but not an issue really.
Being near geysers there is a sulphur smell, but then this is Rotorua so get used to it!

Room Tip: Upper floors with balcony are quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear IvanNewZealand,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our Happy Hour and Restaurant Buffet

We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The motel backs onto geysers which in itself is a talking point. However the discussion once leaving the motel was all about the outside thermally heated pool. The only braving you need to need is getting in and getting out in the cold. The warmth of the pool is both relaxing and therapeutic after a long day of walking.
The service at check in and check out was efficient and friendly. The bedding in the room was also very welcoming. We ate in the restaurant the first night which had a seafood buffet. The price was hefty for the variety of seafood on offer. The dessert bar was exceptional. We would recommend this as a place to stay. Be sure to check around websites for the best price though.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the geysers and the pool area. The pool is a little noisy at night as many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Kazza880,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you made the most of our thermally heated pool, and thank you for mentioning the efficient and friendly service you received.

We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, P.O. Box 6220, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is set amongst Rotorua’s stunning natural environment, only steps away from the Whakarewarewa Thermal reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.