We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in Rotorua” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rotorua

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Rotorua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Tryon Street, P.O. Box 6220, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #41 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
Canberra
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A lovely stay in Rotorua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had a great stay at the Holiday Inn Rotorua. First the highlights. Our room had a fantastic view of the smokey sulfur pits. Was definitely a unique view.

Bed was very comfortable and I slept really well. Staff always attempted to help whenever possible and the gift shop staff member was particularly friendly. Also there was always someone available to answer questions.

It was in a great location and all the great activities was very easy to get to from there.

The buffet breakfast was delicious and there were lots of choices. I liked the look of the swimming pool as well which is heated from the sulfur pits but I didn't have time to try. There is just so much to do in Rotorua.

There were only a few minor things that could have made the stay even better. I would have loved a power point by the bedside. These days I would think most people would like to plug in their phones/computers and be able to use them while on the bed. Not have to plug them in at the desk. Also I know most hotels don't have it but free wifi in the rooms even if it was only the 30mins of free wifi that you get in the lobby would have been excellent.

However these are only minor issues and if I get a chance to come back to Rotorua I will be sure to look at staying at the Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view of the Sulfur park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear bethybobs,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It is very good to know you had a great stay here with us, and enjoyed the fantastic view from your room. I am not surprised that you didn’t have time to try our thermally heated pools; like you say, there is so much to do in Rotorua. Hopefully you will get to relax in them the next time you come to stay. Thank you for your suggestions on how we could improve our guest room amenities, and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    141
    50
    6
    4
See reviews for
92
94
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We got a Stay & Luge Family Deal from Tourism Rotorua i-SITE in March 2012. The deal came with 2-nights saty in Holiday Inn Rotorua and a Skyline Family Pass for 2 adults and 2 children.
We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. The Superior Room came with 2 queen size beds, which is perfect for our family of 4. Our room overlooked the neighbouring Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve, where there were a lot of steam from the geyser.
We had a wonderful time relaxing at the heated outdoor swimming pool and the spa pool during our stay. The deal also included breakfast, which has a good variety of food. Our children really enjoyed the breakfast.
There was a Pohutu Cultural Theatre in this hotel, which offered Maori Cultural Show with feast. Again, we took up a hot deal from Tourism Rotorua, which gave us the tickets to the cultural show at the same price of the hotel's list price, plus a free visit to Paradise Valley Spring for family of four.
We found it was value for money where we enjoyed both cultural show and the visit to Paradise Valley Spring under the Tourism Rotorua's hot deal. However, for that price we felt it would be a bit on the high side if it was for the cultural show alone.
The location of this hotel is a bit out of town, so it is better to have own transport.
We would recommand this hotel to those travel with family. The hotel room is very clean and spacious, and the breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear tkokeng,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It sounds like you and your family had a real fun filled time during your stay with us. I am pleased you were able to enjoy all of our facilities, and also experience some of our popular local attractions. Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Average Hotel all round. Busy buffet restaurant at night and popular with the locals. Check if there is a birthday celebration on before booking or you may get run over in the rush for food. Breakfast has good choice of food but not cheap. Staff can be a bit intimidating at front desks but restaurant wait staff great. Located by Whakarewarewa and Te Puia at south end of town so need transport to CBD There is a shuttle available. Nice pool area but can be busy in the evening with tour groups.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Chris H,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here recently and were most pleasantly impressed.
Customer service is clearly a high priority in this hotel; staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful; was absolutely delighted to find the rooms were a very reasonable size and the bed/bedding were top quality - luxuriously comfortable. Room service was efficient and unobtrusive.
For our visit we found the bar meals more suited to our requirements; food presentation could not be faltered - perfectly pleasing.
Free halfhour daily wifi in the reception area (which is very spacious) - a bonus.
Will be back - and will try the pool this time - looks so inviting.
Distance from the city could be an issue for some travellers but personally we found being out of the city much quieter and relaxing.

Room Tip: Our room was southside on the second floor overlooking the swimming pool - very quiet in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear DoodlesLowerHutt,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed the comfy bed and sizable room, and it is good to know you enjoyed a quiet and relaxing stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel up this way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed for two nights in inter-connecting rooms with our family of five. It was a very enjoyable stay, reception staff were friendly and efficient. Rooms were good with comfortable beds. We had a ground floor room at the rear of the hotel that overlooks some geysers. The kids enjoyed swimming in the very warm hotel pool.
Breakfast was very good if a little pricey. There is free Wi-fi for the first half hour in the lobby which works reasonably well. It is a little further from the centre of town than most motels/hotels in Rotorua.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Barry L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It is good to know you and your family had a very enjoyable stay with us, and that your kids had fun in our heated swimming pool, (always popular, especially with the youngsters). We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you all back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at Holiday Inn Rotorua for two nights. The hotel is situated right next to the thermal park on the south of the city, a few minutes drive from the center of town. It is literally over the fence in the backyard and my room overlooked the thermal village, one of the closest hotels to the thermal action. When I got out of my car and checked in, there was certainly an odor in the air, but nothing overpowering - when going to the lift I hit a strong pocket of gas and I got the joke. It was fine in the bar area and only very faint in the room (I kept the balcony door closed!), it's just where gas from the park gets trapped and lingers in the corridors at certain times and weather conditions. For sure a memorable stay - this is a "feature" of the hotel, part of the experience and I would stay here again for 1-2 nights on a future trip down the Thermal Explorer Highway.

Sulphur aside - the hotel room was very CLEAN AND QUIET; good bar/restaurant with a fire and buzzing due to the buffet and cultural show, friendly staff; interesting hotel/room location facing out to the park; and they have security patrol, so I felt my car was safe even though parked on street next to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear ringspa,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am really pleased you had a memorable stay with us, jokes and all; and we look forward to welcoming you again the next time you travel our way and trip along the Thermal Explorer Highway.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I would pick just one plus. Location. You can see the geyser from your hotel window. The hotel is modern. Parking and WiFi is free. Breakfast is extra and it si quite pricey. You can walk to one of the geotermal area, but if you want visit downtown of Rotorua, you should take a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Horalka7,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s good to know you enjoyed our location next to the thermal reserve, especially being able to see the geyser from your hotel window! Travel safely and we will look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, P.O. Box 6220, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is set amongst Rotorua’s stunning natural environment, only steps away from the Whakarewarewa Thermal reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.