We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, you can see the geyser from your room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rotorua to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rotorua
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Tryon Street, P.O. Box 6220, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #46 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Location, you can see the geyser from your room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I would pick just one plus. Location. You can see the geyser from your hotel window. The hotel is modern. Parking and WiFi is free. Breakfast is extra and it si quite pricey. You can walk to one of the geotermal area, but if you want visit downtown of Rotorua, you should take a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Horalka7,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s good to know you enjoyed our location next to the thermal reserve, especially being able to see the geyser from your hotel window! Travel safely and we will look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    161
    59
    11
    4
See reviews for
106
109
12
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 3 nights and the rooms were very roomy and clean as was the ensuite with only the basic tea making facilities in the room. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Found the bar menu preferable to the restaurant but this is because it suited our needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear RockyWellington,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed our clean and spacious rooms, and friendly and helpful staff. It is good to know the bar menu suited your dining needs over your long stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you come to town.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were a group of 4 families who requested adjacent rooms months in advance. The staff at the front desk told us quite curtly that she had no knowledge of the request since the hotel was full for the long weekend. When we showed her the confirmation from wotif she asked us to take it up with them. In all we were quite disappointed by her behaviour.
A few hours later, we approached the same staff member who’s name we had by then noted – ‘Malissa [--]’ to ask her to warm up some food that one of our guests had brought with her due to her dietary restrictions. She flatly refused saying she would only warm food for babies, not for adults. We were shocked by Malissa’s tone of voice and overall demeanour with us - a customer. She made no effort to even listen, leave alone help resolve our problem. I don’t think she knows the first thing about customer service. I recommend re-training her in basics of customer communication or redeployment to a back-office function such as housekeeping, one that does not involve meeting a customer.
We paid good money to stay at the Holiday Inn Rotorua, certainly did not deserve this treatment from their staff.
One evening we witnessed her arguing with another guest in the lobby, in full view of other people about a damaged chair. Simply shocking!!

Manish

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Manish R,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your feedback on TripAdvisor. Following our recent discussions addressing your concerns, I trust that you are happy with the outcome and I look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you come to town.

Kindest Regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

This is your standard chain hotel with big comfy rooms and what you'd expect at a holiday inn. Rotorua is stinky but why complain about it? It's a geothermal area and that's what you get. Personally I liked staying closer to the geysers than to the centre of town, there is nothing exciting in central rotorua, it's a little bit bogan and apart from the lake there is no reason to stay where the action is. I would stay again at the holiday inn.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Sosuma,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed our big comfy rooms, and close proximity to the geothermal reserve. It is great to know you would stay again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua when you return.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with our 2 children. Found the front desk staff very frendly and eager to help.We had 2 rooms next to each other that were very clean and comfortable. We ate both nights at the buffet which we found to be reasonable value for money with a wide choice of dishes to choose from. Breakfast the same. As for the smell it was only present in the corriders,even then not that bad, but hey what do you expect, it is Rotorua. Kids loved the pool which was again clean. Only issue was the charge for the wi-fi which we didn't think we had used that much, there pricing is not clear.Would stay here again as it is a good family hotel with frendly staff.
Rod, Auckland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Rod 127,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It is good to know you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and that you made good use of the facilities on offer. The free lobby Wi Fi is for 30MB or 30 minutes, whichever is used first; after that, please visit the staff at Reception who can advise you on the best plan for your usage. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased the kids loved the pool, and we appreciate being acknowledged as a good family hotel with friendly staff. We will certainly look forward to welcoming you all back next time you come to stay.

Kindest regards,
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My sister and i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently.

Reception staff upon check in were nice. Our hotel room was in the left wing of the hotel, past the pool and spa. The reception area, lobby and our hotel room appeared to smell reasonably nice, however the common areas leading to our hotel room literally stunk! We understood that Rotorua is a geo thermal area and close to the thermal village but this was just too much. I couldn't understand why some areas smelt okay whilst others were intolerable. We woke up both days with our room smelling awful and with blocked noses as the result.

The rooms and overall decor of the hotel could do with an update although everything was clean. Our beds very comfortable also. You can also do your own washing and drying at this hotel which is great also. Buffet breakfast was nice also and reasonably priced.

Something that really annoyed me was the apparent free wi fi for every guest. You receive 50 mb or 30 minutes, which ever is used first. Obviously, if you are accessing email, which i was, as soon as you open it, it automatically starts to download, therefore you have utilised your 50 mb in an instant. I complained about this and was provided with free wi fi for 30 minutes. Come on Holiday Inn, it's 2012. McDonalds has free wi fi, i suggest you consider this also being such a large international hotel chain as you are.

Would i stay here again? No. I am sure that there are other hotels similar in price, closer to town without the stench.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear djk085,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. The scent of sulphur is a renowned aspect of a visit to Rotorua, and one of the features that make our area unique and memorable. One would not normally experience this scent within our fully air conditioned guest rooms, though depending on the atmospheric conditions prevalent at the time it can occasionally be detectable in the corridors, and noticeable in varying degrees in the surrounding environment. I am sorry that this was not a good experience for you, and I am pleased you enjoyed the buffet and comfortable beds.

I understand your Wi Fi frustrations and we are continually investigating ways of improving our Wi Fi service. The free Wi Fi is for 30 MB or 30 minutes, whichever is used first. When using this service to check emails, we have found you can minimise the usage by turning off your updates, so that the background processing is minimal. The rates we charge for usage outside of the free Wi Fi, is in line with other hotels in this destination who are charged by the local internet providers. We would not really be comparing apples with apples if we were to try to compete with McDonalds; it is great that they are able to offer their service free, however they have a relatively small space to occupy, compared to a hotel like ours with some 200 rooms, sprawling over much bigger property with numerous wings. From our experience, it is common practice in Hotels across Australasia for Wi Fi to be charged for – this has certainly been the case when we have stayed in other hotels across the Tasman. Going forward our charges may well change; for the moment though, our Wi Fi service will remain as is, in line with IHG policy. Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Facing road is better. 2 double beds give bigger room than king bed. Queried cost of Wi-Fi, told $15 per 12 hrs (actually $10). Got told I didn't have to buy it, take it or leave it and it had come down in price! Guy said it was no problem to write bad report on Trip Advisor. Disgusting attitude to paying guests.

Room Tip: For this hotel facing road is best. Go for two doubles rather than king as might get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Torrejao4,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It is most disappointing to read your description of the way you were told of your options to buy or not. The behaviour you have described is definitely not the behaviour we would expect or accept from our Team, and I apologise for the exchange being a negative one. I am also sorry you were given the wrong rate for the cost of Wi-Fi, but pleased that the actual rate charged was much less than the one you were quoted! Thank you again, we really appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you visit our part of the world.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, P.O. Box 6220, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is set amongst Rotorua’s stunning natural environment, only steps away from the Whakarewarewa Thermal reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.