We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“despite name change, still good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rotorua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rotorua to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rotorua
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Tryon Street, P.O. Box 6220, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #46 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
auckland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“despite name change, still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I've stayed for various reasons when this hotel was the Centra, then the Heritage and was a little dubious when I saw it had changed hands to the Holiday Inn. However, as a creature of habit, I did it anyway, so with hubby and 13yr old in tow, we were off. We like the distance from town feeling away from the hustle and bustle. We were in room 822 great views of Whakarewarewa. The sheeting and pillows were just lovely and soft and big bath. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and probably should have booked due to the tour numbers being there so had to wait for a table. This would ordinarily not be an issue on holiday but we had to be somewhere else to be that Sun morn. The room was smallish but fine for us. Mini bar is well stocked and milk provided is ample with small cartons and lots of tea provided. Good sized wardrobe. The pool, spa and gym are good. I would prob recommend for older children more in the teens than young kids. All the staff are definitely very friendly and courteous, nothing is too much trouble. They have ample tourist info available in foyer. The lovely handsigned welcome note from the GM is nice touch. Also, the offer that if you forget toothpaste and other personal things in the bathroom they will provide compliment of them is certainly a reason to keep going back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear jen101Auckland,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your recent stay, despite your misgivings regarding the brand change. As you have noted, we have made many improvements to the rooms, including new linen and pillows, and continue to receive positive comments about these. Hopefully you will have also seen that the best part of the hotel, our staff, are the same professional and friendly staff who take pride in providing exceptional customer service that you would have dealt with in the past.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor and hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    189
    80
    15
    6
See reviews for
122
156
13
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a new or newly renovated hotel with a good location. The rooms are small but very confortable, specially the bed and the pilows.
The food is really good!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear vivinaviagem,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

As you have mentioned, we have recently rebranded to Holiday Inn Rotorua, during which time we made considerable improvements to our rooms. It is very pleasing that you appreciated these changes during your recent stay.

Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We normally stay at the ventura inn and suites, but could not get a room there as booked last minute, so we decided to stay at the holiday inn. We booked a king room on a high floor for $160 through wotif. The hotel is located approx 3km from the restaurant strip in town, but there is a minibus which leaves once an hour, it runs to 9pm so if you want to stay out later a taxi back will cost approx $12. The room was quite small and the bathroom was very small, we don't bring a lot of toiletries for a two night stay, but there was not room for it all. I would politely suggest that if you are an above average size or have any special needs you would find the bathroom in this room too cramped. I did notice when booking there were rooms on lower floors with two queen beds so imagine these may have bigger bathrooms.

Overall, the room was very clean with a modern flatscreen tv on the wall. The usual coffee, tea and minibar facilities were there. There was a good view of the geyser and the thermal park as well as the redwood forest and the room had a small balcony which would be nice in the summer. The bed was comfortable and the advantage of this hotel over the motels on fenton street is that it is not on the road, so you do not get the road noise in the morning.

The main downside of the room in the winter was that it one wall which was floor to ceiling single glazed windows. The aircon was too loud to have on all night and the room was therefore a bit cold in the mornings. The aircon worked well and did not take too long to heat back up.

Cannot comment on meals, as not included in the rate.

I would stay at this hotel again if I was offered a better rate, I do think that there is better value in the town if you book far enough in advance. I would check what the difference is between the king and the double queen (as these rooms were cheaper) I would hazard a guess that the one we stayed in had been refurbed, hence the higher price.

Room Tip: Discuss with management the differences in the prices between the double queen and king, also if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear princess3016,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

You mentioned that you normally stay at Ventura Inn and Suites, which is a lovely property. A difference between this property and Holiday Inn Rotorua is that we are a full service property.

As you mentioned, we do have quite a lot of different room configurations; encompassing views of the geothermal valley, different bed types and balconies. Our Reservations department is happy to discuss your requirements with you to give you the best room to suit your needs. Reservations can be made directly with the hotel by calling freecall 0800 108 114.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

When we booked this hotel through our travel agent, it was called 'The Heritage'. We were of the impression that this hotel was just that little bit special.
Upon arriving in Rotorua, we called into the information centre for directions. They did not have a clue about our hotel,until we gave them the address. It was then that we found out that it was no longer 'The Heritage', but another Holiday Inn.
Although the reception area looks smart, the outside, and indeed, the rooms look dated.Our first room was with two double beds, so we requested a room with one queen or king bed. The next room they gave us was exactly the same, but on a different floor. The next room they gave us was one with a king bed.
This room had a great view overlooking the heritage village, so we cannot complain about that. Each night when it was dark, we could make out the ghostly views of the steam rising from the thermal springs.
On the down side, the bathroom was rather pokey. Certainly, it was impossible to swing the proverbial cat. Apart from the view, our room itself was nothing out of the ordinary.
Certainly, we have stayed in much worse hotels, but we have also stayed in better.
I must reiterate!! The staff were by far the best feature about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear ianb111,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

As a rule we do not encourage our guests to swing their cats in our bathrooms, but I accept that some of our bathrooms are not the largest. I am very pleased that we were able to find you a room to suit your requirements, as you say the view over the Whakarewarewa Village and the geothermal valley is a unique and special part of Holiday Inn Rotorua.

It is particularly pleasing to read that the service you received from our staff was a highlight of your stay. We are very proud of the quality of service provided at the hotel and it is great to read the service you received was up to our high standards.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua in the future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
te awanga
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We used to come here when it was the Heritage and we were upset that it had changed hands but came anyway. Pleasantly surprised to find that things were even better! The same deals such as kids eat free with an adult etc. And they had a wonderful new coffee machine to help yourself to, the breakfast had a far greater selection and extremely good service. The meals a la carte were a far better standard and even though there were a few familiar faces in general the staff gave a far better service all round.
The rooms had been upgraded with new bed linens and everything in general seemed fresher and better.
If you go with your kids during school holidays make sure the parents of other kids stay to supervise them! The pool here is great- lots of fun for hours but not good if you have to supervise others while the parents escape to their room!

Room Tip: We were in room 810 which we have been in before. We like this wing as the view of the surrounding c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear kiwibear,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased that you came back to Holiday Inn Rotorua despite your misgivings over the brand change. Although we have changed brand, the ownership of the hotel has not changed and there was almost no change in staff. As you mentioned, we have made significant improvements as part of the brand change and I am glad that you appreciated these improvements.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua in the future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Rotorua - a lovely little place in NZ!

Stayed 2 nights in Auguist, 2011.

Staff were very friendly, including the portugese barman and the Manager, who certainly knew his rugby Union!

Rooms - very nice and great value for money.

Ate at the hotel as well and the restaurant was good value.

A free car park - 10 mins from Rotorua CBD, so out of town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear jonnogreig,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.
I’m pleased to read that you found the hotel to be nice and comfortable and the team friendly. We are just 3km from the central City and we do offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from town, to remove any concerns over our location.
And yes, we are ready for the Rugby World Cup, with knowledgeable and passionate staff!
Our service is our benchmark; feedback, such as you have provided, enables us to monitor ourselves, ensuring that we remain on track to provide a consistent level of guest service.
Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback.

Kindest regards,


Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very quiet location. Really clean and the food although a little expensive was very tasty. Our room was an interconnecting one as we had two kids. Plenty of space but the interconnecting rooms don't get views but we didn't care. The outdoor heated pool wasn't very heated. I think they should check this more often. As it's thermal it shouldn't be hard!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear taylor12auckland,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.
It’s always pleasing to read positive comments from our guests. I’m glad that you found the hotel clean and comfortable. I am sorry that you experienced a cooler than usual pool. We heat the pool using geothermal water which comes in at a constant temperature, however atmospheric conditions such as rain and very low outdoor temperatures can impact on the pool temperature. We do our best to minimize these fluctuations and I am sorry that this impacted on your enjoyment of the pool.
Our service is our benchmark; it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor ourselves to ensure that we are providing a consistent level of guest service.
Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback.


Kindest regards,


Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, P.O. Box 6220, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is set amongst Rotorua’s stunning natural environment, only steps away from the Whakarewarewa Thermal reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.