We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,comfortable,friendly, great location for Whakarewarewa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchwood Spa Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Birchwood Spa Motel to your Saves list
Birchwood Spa Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Sala Street | Po Box 6107, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Clean,comfortable,friendly, great location for Whakarewarewa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Three of us stayed here for several nights in June and found it to be clean, cozy, friendly and in a great location for Whakarewarewa. (It is an easy walk to The Redwoods.) We stayed in a one bedroom unit with a king (very comfy bed!!!) in the bedroom and a comfortable single in the living area. Parking is just outside the door. WiFi is free and the reception is good. Shower and bath were very nice, esp. the heated towel bars that kept everything dry. There is a spa on the porch which I made use of after hiking the Tokorangi Pa track. The owners couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We were given a very reasonable offseason rate as well. Several restaurants are within walking distance and I recommend Distinctions Pub for the humongous sandwiches which make two meals. The Whakarewarewa geothermal park is just around the corner and we did not smell anything and I have an acute sense of smell.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
18
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Motel is on the outskirts of Rotorua but this does not cause a problem with free parking in the town. Within walking distance of Te Puia a Maori visitors centre and training centre. Rooms are not large but this is well offset by the private spa bath in a private enclosed courtyard.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Last week we enjoyed a very pleasant 3 days at this motel. Jill & Stephen made us very welcome and were always on hand to answer any questions.

The unit was extremely clean and well furnished. The other staff were very pleasant and always smiling.

In short a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Stayed at Birchwood spa motel the weekend of raggamuffin and was a great weekend. The hosts were friendly and made us feel very comfortable.
i would highly recommend Birchwood motel to anyone. I am looking forward to my next stay there, infact im trying to make an excuse to go back.......... Thanks for a memorable weekend!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Two families stayed in 2 townhouses. Perfect. Clean and spacious, facilties great, our home away from home. Hosts Jill and Steve were the friendliest and most helpful throughout our travels in NZ. Would recommend to anyone.
From The Kong & Gu Familes, Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Spotlessly clean motel, ideally situated, just a comfortable distance from the centre of town, all units wonderfully equiped with all the essentials. Also Jill and her husband are the perfect hosts ready with all the local knowledge to make your stay even more enjoyable. Not one fault to find!! great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

I booked this motel for the easter weekend for my boyfriend and I, when we arrived we were greeted by the owners of the motel, who were absolutely wonderful and very helpful with things to do in Rotorua. The motel room was extremely clean and spacious equipped with everything we needed, the bathroom was very clean and tidy but basic, But excellent value for money. Overall the motel was fantastic and I would recommend for anyone wanting a warm, clean and nice room for a decent price alongside warm hospitality from the staff. Also the free dvd library is excellent, kept us well entertained when in the motel =)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchwood Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Spa Motel

Address: 6 Sala Street | Po Box 6107, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Spa Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Birchwood Spa Motel. Studio, one and two bedroom spa units, townhouses with own garaging, close to thermal attractions, 2.5kms from town centre. Studios offer tea/toast making facilities, other units have well equipped kitchens. Qualmark Four Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Birchwood Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchwood Spa Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.