We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful hosts and welcome touches.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchwood Spa Motel

Save Saved
You added Birchwood Spa Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birchwood Spa Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Sala Street | Po Box 6107, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
Pukekohe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful hosts and welcome touches.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just spent two nights at the Birchwood Spa. Very clean, comfortable studio apartment with private spa pool in courtyard. Romantic package with sparkling wine and chocolates, even though I was traveling alone! Nice touches like a thank you card and jug of fresh milk. Kevin and Connie very helpful in suggesting places to eat. It is a short drive into town, but very close to the geyser which can be seen from the room.

Room Tip: I had a studio but a colleague had a one-bedroom apartment which was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
18
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Papeete, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Charming and helpfull couple at front desk,
FREE wireless internet, private spa on private terrace, parking in front of unit, well kept surroundings with lovely flowers, close to Fenton Street and shopping
Very good rate for the quality offered (115 NZ/2 pers)
Large one bedroom unit for 4 persons: new and extremely clean, well lit, well heated, well equipped kitchen, no sulphur odor inside!
We warmly recommend this motel !

Room Tip: Not number one which is on a busy street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We spent a night at the Birchwood Spa Motel after a dusty and hectic three days competing at a sporting event in Rotorua. This place was a haven for us, and the spa bath was a very welcome sight!

The units are an excellent size, and the spa bath outside in the little courtyard was wonderful. I would recommend getting a ground floor unit with the spa bath outside ... so lovely and relaxing!

The hosts are very friendly and chatty, and nothing is too much trouble. The units are clean and secure.

I will definitely stay here again. Free broadband, too!

Room Tip: Ground floor until with spa bath outside - blissful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I just left the Chateau at Ruapehu & the Bichwood Spa room was much more welcoming with fresh milk & tea! The Hosts Kevin & Connie were very sweet & lovely to chat to. The room was very clean, warm and roomy. I didnt hear one truck but I sleep with air plugs. I would say anywhere in Rotorua where Hotels & Motels are located there will be some traffic as mentioned in other reviews. For the value I found it a great central place to stay. Kevin & Connies warmth and knowledge of Rotorua also helped alot. I would definitely stay again if the opportunity arose. Thanks Alot !! Mike & Jordan , Perth , Australia

Room Tip: I am not sure about kids activities but having the internet was definitely a bonus for my son! Besid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Birchwood Spa Motel is a little dated and, like the many other hotels on this road, it's on a busy route and it wobbles a bit when a logging truck goes by. However, the units are warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean, the exterior very well maintained (planted up with spring flowers and with deliciously-scented daphne in bloom when I was there) and the management are incredibly welcoming. A friend drove up from Tauranga to meet me for the day on the morning I arrived. She got there early and was waiting in her car in the car park and the owners came out and invited her indoors because it was a cold day. You really are made to feel like a guest in an extended home. I enjoyed the capacious spa bath, the fresh fruit and the cookies, replenished daily in the rooms, the NZ Herald outside the door every morning and the little touches, like milk in china jugs in the fridge, rather than cartons. This time I visited for business but I'm planning to go back to Rotorua with the family and I will definitely be making a return visit to the Birchwood Spa.

Room Tip: Opt for ground floor if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Alberta
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We spent three nights at this motel. It is very well kept, clean and the owner is very friendly and accommodating. The only downside are the truck noises that start in the early morning hours. Otherwise, the motel is conveniently located to explore the region and it is within walking distance to the thermal reserve. You can walk over for dinner at the fabulous dinner buffet at the Chapman's (Holiday Inn).

Room Tip: get a room at ground level to reduce noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Have stayed here twice now and both times its been enjoyable,rooms excellent,beds comfy and the spa's heavenly,and the staff have been super helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Birchwood Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Spa Motel

Address: 6 Sala Street | Po Box 6107, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Spa Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Birchwood Spa Motel. Studio, one and two bedroom spa units, townhouses with own garaging, close to thermal attractions, 2.5kms from town centre. Studios offer tea/toast making facilities, other units have well equipped kitchens. Qualmark Four Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Birchwood Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchwood Spa Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.