We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long enough but very interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whakarewarewa: The Living Maori Village

Whakarewarewa: The Living Maori Village
17 Tryon Street | Whakarewarewa Village, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Whakarewarewa: The Living Thermal Village)
+64 7-349 3463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 31 Attractions in Rotorua
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Living Maori Village is set among the geothermal landscape of the Te Whakarewarewa Valley, a ten minute walk from town. See the Bubbling Pools, Mud Pools, Steam Vents and Geysers and walk our back tracks with amazing photo opportunities. The Living Maori Village is an authentic and unique attraction where the villagers live, cook and bath in the geothermal waters on a daily basis. Our guides are direct descendants of the guides who guided at the Pink and White Terraces over 150 years ago, this legacy is as important today as it was then.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Long enough but very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our visit here started with a maroi performance having seen a few of these I was very disappointed with this. It was a very small group performance and half of the performers looked bored out of their minds, but as my family had not seen anything like this before they loved it. I was very put off by the performance and was not keen to go on the tour after the show but glad we did it was very interesting and out guide was lovely.Worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    193
    59
    16
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Living Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great insight into local Maori culture and the past & present use of the geothermal activity. Great views of the Geysers too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The tour guide made it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We didn't know what to expect...It certainly exceeded expectations. We had been in NZ for 7 days and had grown to LOVE the Maori culture. When we got here, it increased. It added a little extra from all the cultural shows we had gone to before. We got there early in the morning so that we had our tour guide all to ourselves. She showed us a great insight and was really lovely.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My first Rotorua experience for 25 years...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Visiting Rotorua for 4 days to show a NZ visitor the history and culture. Whakarewarewa village was somewhat what I remembered from my youth...the bridge entrance, but no maori divers as it's winter? Entering the admission building I felt less than welcome when asking about the tour options, and once we had purchased tickets we had no idea where to go. The guy we met at the counter needs training in some PR skills. However after that initial experience, we joined the guided tour and had a thoroughly informative and enjoyable tour. The group was small and we meandered around the sites, the tour guide being informative and humourous and answered questions well. She took us into a building to show us how the grass skirts were made from flax, then 6 people performed the haka, singing, poi dances and stick games. They obviously enjoyed what they did. Impressive. I liked Whakarewarewa Village because I am not a big tour type person...this experience was intimate and real. Maori people still live on this land. It's not perfect by any means but it's not mega commercialisation, either. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Engaging and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We opted to visit the Thermal Village rather than the more commercial Te Puia around the corner and are glad we did. Our guide was really informative and made the tour really engaging. We learnt about the history of the village and how the maori culture survived and flourished here while elsewhere in NZ it was challenged. We also saw a traditional Maori performance and Haka which was beautifully performed. We recommend visitors to Rotoura try Whakarewarewa for some more genuine culture!

Ps. Try the corn cooked in a hot spring - yummy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whakarewarewa: The Living Maori Village also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Whakarewarewa: The Living Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whakarewarewa: The Living Maori Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.