We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of Money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Rotorua

Skyline Rotorua
185 Fairy Springs Road, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
64 7 347 0027
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$21*
and up
Ranked #5 of 33 Attractions in Rotorua
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Skyline Rotorua provides the ideal venue and all weather attraction for a day of fun! Take the Skyline Gondola up the side of Mount Ngongotaha and try the world famous Luge; Skyline's Cableway Restaurant for either Best of New Zealand Buffet lunch or dinner, Skywing or Skyvue 4D simulator. Open 365 days.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Waste of Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I was really disappointed with our Luge experience. We went for the package that included 7 luge rides and only when we reached the entry point were we made aware that the advanced lane was closed. This meant that there was basically just one trail for our use (7 times). When we asked a girl at the Luge if a refund would be possible, we received an extremely rude response. Poor customer service, lack of information at the ticket desk, overpriced and a bit boring.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    906
    510
    100
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Best day ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We went on a week day, so there were not many queues. Staff friendly and helpful. Quite expensive, but well worth it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Had a amazing Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

We went here intending to just have 6 turns on the Luge but ended up having 8 & going on the Zip Wire, as well as visiting the jelly bean shop! First off the staff here are extremely friendly and we got into a conversation with the photographer straight away. We went on the Luge and the member of staff who taught us how to ride was very friendly. Later we had a go on the Zip Wire to see what it was like. The Zip Wire itself went rather fast despite being told it was the longest in New Zealand but was a thrilling ride. When we got to the end I thought it was all over but we got to bungee down off the tree-top platform! I would definitely recommend this to families who are looking for a exiting & thrilling day out.
By Miles Davies age 10

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excitement from start to finish !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

A `must do` on the tourist trail and excellent for kids (accompanied by adults). A great few hours spent at a wonderful attraction and not at all bad for price !

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Gondola riding, luging, giant swings and zip wires - this attraction has it all. If you go, get the whole park ticket which offers amazing value, 5 luge rides, the chance to do the zip wire and the jump (which was a bit of a surprise) and ride the giant swing (safer than a bungy with all the thrills). Jellybean World is at the top alongside a great cafe and spectacular views.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Rotorua also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Skyline Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.