We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ample food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Rotorua

Skyline Rotorua
185 Fairy Springs Road, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
64 7 347 0027
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$21*
and up
Ranked #5 of 33 Attractions in Rotorua
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Skyline Rotorua provides the ideal venue and all weather attraction for a day of fun! Take the Skyline Gondola up the side of Mount Ngongotaha and try the world famous Luge; Skyline's Cableway Restaurant for either Best of New Zealand Buffet lunch or dinner, Skywing or Skyvue 4D simulator. Open 365 days.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Rainbow, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ample food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Came here as a family group having booked into the restaurant for the Bistro lunch. The food selection was excellent and there was plenty to cater to the different tastes within our group. We felt that the meal was good value for money.
The only negative we had was feeling accosted by the photographer as we loaded into the gondola. It is hard enough to get small children in a moving carriage and get them settled for the trip up the mountain without having someone pointing a camera at you and saying 'smile'.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    906
    509
    100
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Luging is LITERALLY the most fun I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I love to luge. And everyone should luge in their lifetime.

Rotorua is one of my favourite places in NZ, thanks to the Luge! It is like Mario Kart for adults and the sheer exhilaration of whizzing down the side of the mountain is so much fun.

I have seen all ages enjoy the luge and I would highly recommend any visitors to give it a shot. You will not regret it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Luging, a very fun experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Aside from taking advantage of the beautiful view of Lake Rotorua on the gondola up and down, luges are a great family activity. If your children are teens or older, be prepared for seriously exhilarating racing, don't forget your gopros!
For lunch you have the choice between a formal cuisine buffet or the more relaxed help yourself food area with multi choices, from pizzas, salads, sandwiches, curries, cakes, etc etc
This was our second time, and yes, there will be many other visits!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“LUGE is the word!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is my second time visiting Skyline Rotorua and the luge is still the highlight of the experience.

For those that like great views and photos, the gondola ride up there is slow enough for you to frame a good shot but not too slow that it seems to waste time.

Once up there, you can get lunch at the cafe, do some wine tasting or look through the sort of standard NZ souvenir shop that most attractions have tacked on and of course the luge.

Depending on the time of year, you can really luck out with specials, my wife and I got the Gondola ride + 7 luge rides for around $60 bucks (each) which equates to around 2 - 3 hours for activities (not including browsing the stores or getting lunch). There are 3 Luge tracks scenic, intermediate and advanced. As their names suggest they all have different benefits: Scenic is longer and has places to stop. Where as the intermediate and advanced ones are faster and shorter. There are quite a few fast bits in the advanced course, so that is the best course for those that love to go fast (although you go as fast or slow as you want to).

A couple of points to remember:

1. At the bottom of the gondola someone will take your picture, at the end of the day, it is available for around 30 bucks, if you don't want to buy it just ask them to not take the picture.
2. Have some fun on the luge!
3. You can hire a go pro camera to put on your helmet (beware however as the Luge chairlift takes around 7 minutes from start to finish so you really can only get a few tracks on there.
4. There are cameras on the chairlift and some of the tracks so you can pick them up afterwards both printed and online (for a cost depending on specials its usually around 10 bucks a shot).


All in all a great day of fun for all!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a must do tourist attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I may be a NZer but that doesnt mean I wasnt still excited about going up the skyline, it doesnt seem quite as high as the CHCH and Queenstown one but still a great view to see. and there's a jellybelly shop up there(lol who woulda thought!) did the luge with my partner and we both thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. might not return as it is a TOURIST attraction but would definitely recommend

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Rotorua also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Skyline Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.