We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't have time & that was sad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rotorua Museum

Rotorua Museum
Government Gardens, Rotorua, New Zealand
64 7 349 4350
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Rotorua Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$1,174*
and up
5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and...
Ranked #13 of 66 things to do in Rotorua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“didn't have time & that was sad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The building is just beautiful, and it is set in terrific gardens. We didn't have time to go in, and we were sorry for that. The entrance fee is significant. But if the enthusiasm & helpfulness of the staff is any indicator, it would have been a treat. The cafe serves excellent coffee and cake.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    186
    40
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

When we were there, they had the recent WOW exhibit. I had never heard of the "world of wearable art". I am completely intrigued and will not miss another WOW even. Beautiful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“If you have limited time you could skip this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Video was good about the volcano. However, the rest of the museum was pretty basic. Worth a visit to see the history of previous tourists. Its pretty small and many of the artifacts are repetitive. Loved the WW2 section.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“good history of the thermal baths”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

good restored old building with some excellent history of the local area & thermal baths.
The short film should not be missed, neither the rooftop or the basement (which I found a bit spooky). In fact, the whole place reminded me of the asylum in american horror story.
we didn't eat at the cafe - but it did look pleasant.
Worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woy Woy , Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The art exhibitions were a bonus. Great views from the roof top. Must do the easy climb up?!! The cafe is really nice ,too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotorua Museum also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Rotorua Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotorua Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.