We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Afternoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Polynesian Spa

Polynesian Spa
Hinemoa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
64 7 348-1328
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 72 Activities in Rotorua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Polynesian Spa is New Zealand’s leading international day spa. In a picturesque, tranquil setting overlooking Lake Rotorua, visitors can enjoy a wonderful fusion of relaxing hot spring pool bathing, sumptuous spa and massage therapies and picturesque lake views. Polynesian Spa has the use of two types of hot mineral water, one alkaline and one acidic, that are the unique point of difference of the operation. Many thousands of visitors to the spa have attested to the remedial effect the hot mineral waters have on such ailments as muscular complaints, arthritis and rheumatism. The Priest and Radium springs are most noted in this respect. We invite you to experience this World Top Ten Spa (natural/thermal/medical), as voted by readers of the prestigious Conde Nast Traveller magazine for several years and once again in 2011. We look forward to welcoming you to Polynesian Spa.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We spent a few hours here during our holiday and enjoyed separate treatments, the staff are very friendly and we really enjoyed the time here..

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Jim,

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience. It is great to read that you enjoyed your spa treatment and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    336
    130
    35
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridg, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Well below expectations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We went here expecting a nice spa but the water had body hair floating in it, and my husband got an itchy rash that lasted two weeks requiring a doctors visit and medication. While we were in the family spa there was an influx of extremely hot water. We frequent Te Aroha spa regularly and it is impeccably clean and we have never had a bad experience. Polynesian Spa was expensive and disappointing.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Louise,

We are very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience.

During the day there is a constant supply of fresh mineral water entering the pools, the pool water is renewed every 3 to 4 hours. All pools are emptied, cleaned and refilled with fresh mineral water over night.

It is possible that your husband may have had a slight reaction to sulphur or heat that can cause itchiness. In most cases this should subside in an hour, however if it stays for longer you are best to put some Aloe Vera cream on it.

We hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing Private Spa excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Private spa overlooking Lake Rotorua very relaxing and enjoyable. Although we almost missed out on the experience as the Young Lady on the counter when we called in the day before to make enquiries about bookings ectra was quiet rude and very unhelpful. It was only that our daughters had paid for a gift voucher that we went back the following day. On this occassion the staff on duty were extremely helpful particularly Manuel our Spa attendant who explained everything. Wonder how many other people have been turned away by Miss Ginger Negativity and missed this most remarkable experience.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Helen,

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your soak in our Private Pools. I will pass on your comments to Manuel, who is a fantastic asset to our team. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the service you received during your initial visit to Polynesian Spa. Please be assured this is not the standard of service we strive to deliver to our guests and that we are carrying out customer service training for all staff in the coming months to ensure consistency.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Go for the private pool but….”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The private pool is great and affordable - outdoors, overlooking the lake, warm and 30 minutes is the right duration, in our view. As others say, it is a shame you don't get more such as use of the public pools and extras such as soap and towels. But don't let that put you off. It is a good visit and memory. We have shown off the photos to all our friends!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Mike,

Thank you for your review.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to Polynesian Spa.

We do have a combo available for bathing in a Private Pool and access to the Adult Pools & Priest Spa.

For those bathing in our Lake Spa, shampoo & conditioner, body wash, body lotion, secure lockers, hair dryers and towels are included with no time limit. Perhaps this area would be more suitable for you.

We hope you return next time you are in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok... but expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

After 17 years we come back to the polynesian spa. Last time was without kids , so this time we were in the family pool. It was ok. The heat was good for the bones to have a good soak. I did find the numbers at times in the 3 pools was too many for such a small area. But the kids did enjoy themselves, so that is really all that matters. We tried for the private pool and then wanted to continue into the family pools. Sadly this was not offered. For The price this could be a good addition to allow visitors into the private pools access to the family pools afterwards for no extra cost. This would keep me coming back every visit to NZ.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Shane,

Thank you for your review, it was our pleasure to host you and your family!
We are pleased to read that everyone enjoyed their experience. Thank you also for your feedback regarding Private Pool and Family Pool access. We are at present looking at combo options as guests are wanting to bathe in multiple areas.

We look forward to hosting you on your return to Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polynesian Spa also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Polynesian Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polynesian Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.