We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very interesting tourist destination.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buried Village of Te Wairoa

Buried Village of Te Wairoa
1180 Tarawera Road, Rotorua 3076, New Zealand
+64 7-362 8287
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$198*
and up
Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour
Ranked #19 of 33 Attractions in Rotorua
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Experience New Zealand's most visited archaeological site where stories of the 1886 Mt Tarawera Eruption come to life! Violent and unexpected, the volcanic eruption was one of New Zealand's greatest natural disasters burying the peaceful village of Te Wairoa and ending more than 150 lives. Today at the Buried Village encounter the world class Museum of Te Wairoa, explore the Archaeological Site which once housed the people of Te Wairoa, experience the unique insights of stories from our tour guides, and take the Waterfall Trail which showcases the stunning Wairere Falls.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not very interesting tourist destination.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The displays were all static and didn't hold our interest, although the guide did her very best to make it interesting. It was all very tired looking. Our afternoon was saved by a visit to a lovely waterfall which was quite spectacular, however a high level of fitness is required to undertake the walk to view this waterfall. We thought there were better activities we could have done instead.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    171
    65
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Buried Village - over rated and somewhere between poor & average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We made the decision to visit this place last minute; so we had no expectations other than the fact that we thought we may learn something about Maori culture. We were a party of 8 (youngest 17 & the eldest 63) our opinion of the Buried Village was pretty much the same, in that we thought it was over priced $29 for a group or $32 single adult and rather boring. We learnt very little about Maori culture as the tour tended to focus on the European aspect. Your guide takes you through the first 12 sites and then you are free to amble at your leisure. There is a water fall towards the end of the site that is lovely. There are 93 steps down to the waterfall which are not evenly spaced, so elderly people may find it slightly difficult but certainly not impossible. I wore thongs and was comfortable walking the site. However appropriate footwear would be recommended. The staff were really friendly and some of the landscape was serene, however I do live in Tasmania and in relation to the scenery I may be a little hard to impress:)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dull”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

If you are a geologist or very into archeological digs then this is for you. It is lacking information in and around the houses that they have uncovered. The cafe does some really nice lasagna and cake!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Buried Village - hidden treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A great break from the road, and surrounded by beautiful lakes with worth-a-stop lookouts. The history of the Buried Village is not well known by many and it's worth finding out. Lyn the guide is very knowledgeable on both the village and Maori culture. Stunning surrounds mixed with interesting stories and well stocked museum and gift shop/cafe .....highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you visit Rotorua you must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

visit the Buried Village. This was truly wonderful experience and I particularly enjoyed reading the 'letters' Margaret supposedly sent back to her family in England describing the changes to the landscape after the volcano eruption. Unfortunately we didn't get to the village earlier enough, (went to the lving village-save your moneyand dont bother) you could easily spend a good half day there enjoying the gardens etc, but for the time we were there it was fab. And the walk to the water falls was well worthwhile As we have found throughout NZ great care it taken to ensure your safety and protection of the bushland. This is a little bit out of Rota but if you're in your own vehicle is a 'must do' and even if you don't have your own vehicle, find some a tour that goes there. There is also the delightful Lake Tarawera nearby where you can swim and relax.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi Heather, thank you for you review it is appreciated. It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to have you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buried Village of Te Wairoa also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Buried Village of Te Wairoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buried Village of Te Wairoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.