We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamaki Maori Village

Tamaki Maori Village
1220 Hinemaru St, Rotorua, New Zealand
64 7 349 2999
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$682*
and up
2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and...
Ranked #2 of 31 Attractions in Rotorua
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tamaki Maori Village – Evening Cultural Experience. New Zealand’s Most Awarded Cultural Experience! Experience an evening of ceremonial ritual, powerful cultural performance, storytelling & hangi feasting. Share in the Powhiri, our ancient ceremony of welcome before entering our pre-European Maori Village nestled within a native Tawa Forest. The village comes alive with sights, sounds & activity of days gone by including haka, poi, tattooing, weaving, carving and arts of warrior training. You will have the opportunity to participate in these activities. Witness the earth being scraped away from the hangi pit to reveal baskets of food cooked beneath the ground on hot stones. Enter the ancestral meeting house and enjoy a powerful cultural performance before dining the traditional hangi buffet feast!
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family and I loved this from start to finish. Dennis the bus driver was witty and informative and tried to get everyone involved. On arrival we were greeted by a dance then led into the village where we were shown and invited to try several Maori pastimes. The 'Hangi' meal was delicious and just as my grandfather used to cook it. A great insight into the Maori way of life and a hilarious singsong on the bus trip back into Rotorua.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    275
    82
    27
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Well, it is a cultural experience, made up for tourists - but as far as that goes, it is a really good one! I loved the introduction (including the pick-up bus ride!) and the food is AMAZING!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An interesting night and the food wasn't bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went with a group of 10 and had quite an interesting evening. We enjoyed learning about some of the traditional practices of Maori culture and the food was't too bad. It finished rather abruptly but we were ready for home by then anyway.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great cultural experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I loved the culture! They start with a traditional Maori welcoming ceremony, move on to the Maori village where they demonstrate village life, then a live performance of traditional dance and war chants, then last an all you can eat buffet. It was worth the money. They do it out in the forest where it feels more traditional. The activities and dancing were wonderful! The food was good, but not great. They do clean up pretty fast, so don't dally if you want seconds. The dessert is good as well. They have a small gift shop that sells similar items to what you can find in town for similar prices. But overall, I would definitely recommend this activity. It was really fun.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very well organised. I was never bored. Beautiful singing. They made an effort to get everyone involved. Very happy, friendly staff. The foods was soooooo good and there was heaps of it

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamaki Maori Village also viewed

 
Waimangu, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Tamaki Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamaki Maori Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.