We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated decor but fine otherwise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Rotorua to your Saves list
Rydges Rotorua
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dated decor but fine otherwise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Everything about the Rydges in Rotorua was a bit tired. The towels were a bit frayed, the decor was ugly, the handle fell off the tap, the toilet was stained by the sulphuric water.

Other than that, it was fine. The service was friendly. The beds were comfortable and clean. If you get a cheap deal just go for it. We had a spa room.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear but_in_purple,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. I would like to assure you that we are working through a linen replacement programe and have a contracted cleaning company to address the sulphuric staining. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    293
    161
    77
    65
See reviews for
263
261
24
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Rydges Rotorua is a mess: no problem is too small to be treated with disdain. Room not cleaned? No one cares. Handle falling off in the shower? So what. Any sort of reasonable request? Forget it.

To be honest, the breakfast buffet is very good and the juice smoothies are varied and delicious.

Should you have to stay here, make sure to get a floor fan because the ceiling fans are iffy and you'll want to be able to close your window.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear CDinDC20009,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our service delivery and given your feedback I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly so I can investigate further your experience. My email address is james_billing@rydges.com. In addition thank you for your positive commentary around our breakfast and Free WIFI. I look forward to hearing from you,

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Drove past twice thinking we could not afford to stay there.
Thankfully we did stop to enquire.
Total value for money, huge room with separate spar spotlessly clean.
Vibrant and most helpful staff.
Tried to stay a second night but were fully booked. After inspecting other possible accommodation within our price range we decided to return to Auckland wishing we had booked with Rydges!
Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Samantha H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us. The team were thrilled to learn of your great experience with us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We booked a night here as a special treat to celebrate an anniversary, and overall we are really pleased we did not pay full price for our disappointing room having booked it via a Wotif offer.

The Good:
The service at reception was excellent even though we arrived two hours before our check in time.
The room was spacious with a super comfortable bed.
Free wireless that was reliable and fast.
The breakfast buffet was nice, despite the restaurant being relocated temporarily to a conference room while the Atrium restaurant was repainted.
The pool and spa area on the top floor is lovely and is very clean.

The Bad;
Our room on the ground floor was in need of a serious spruce up, with a leaking rusty radiator tap and stained and battered bathroom.
The "patio" area was also very untidy, with vari-coloured patches of paint on the walls, an open pail of paint perched on the air con unit, this was topped off by yellow electrical tape surrounding the windows.
The hallway was not at all welcoming, being gloomy, missing patches of wallpaper and looking very run down.
Having asked for a room with private balcony when we booked, finding ourselves on the ground floor with no access to the outside patio area was very disappointing.( we found out none of the ground floor rooms have outside arears)

At first we thought it was because we got the room at a reduced rate that we got such a shabby room, but on talking to another guest, she advised her room also on the ground floor was in a similar state of shabbiness as ours and she had paid full price.
Very disappointing for a 4 star hotel, I've stayed in 2 star hotels that were better.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear AnitaD23,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I appreciate the effort and time you have gone through to provide a balanced review. We are currently repainting the exterior with the view to have it completed within the next couple of weeks.

The hallway which your room has been situated on is also an area where we are repainting given prior comments received via tripadvisor. I do hope that when you consider your next weekend away in Rotorua you return to view the changes and improvements we will have made in the coming months. To that effect please contact me personally if I can be of any further assistance, my email address is james_billing@rydges.com.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I have never been in a hotel where they didn't clean their spa and bathroom after their last guest left! This is disgusting and unbelievable! I don't mind the fact that the stuff in the room are old as long as they are clean! This is horrible!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Ehsanya,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have reviewed our records and can't find any reference either to your stay or this issue being raised with us. Given that there is little information to go on I would appreciate if you could contact me on james_billing@rydges.com so I can follow up this incident further.

Kind Regards,


James Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stated here in December and had some issues with the phone booking and Mr James (GM) has resolved that issue very appropriately . The room was good ,facing the race course and we had a delicious cheese platter in our room . Overall out stay was good

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear RaviMorya4,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, and I am glad we were able to improve your perception of us. Please do contact me if you are looking to return to Rotorua in the near future as the team would be happy to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We book online and when we arrived we found out that there was no aircon in our room. We call reception to ask for room with 1 but there wasnt any rooms in the hotel with aircon, so we call our online mob to cancel and re book us into another place. They called the rydges and they said they could move us to a room with aircon, after we had already asked. Also we had painters on our balcony, which we were not informed off. We check out.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Narsink,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We have a limited number of rooms with aircon within the hotel with the aim to increase this in the future. My understanding is at the time when you contacted us initially an alternative room was not available, through various changes one did become available that the team were able to move you to.
I would like to appologise for the disruption caused by the painters we are a week away from completing the painting of the exterior of the building. If you are looking to return to Rotorua I would welcome the opportunity to personally assist with your booking. My email address is james_billing@rydges.com,

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.