We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, comfortable, friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Save Saved
You added Rydges Rotorua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfortable, friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Yes, it's your standard big 'ol hotel in a tourist town, but the Rydges manages to add a little character to the experience. The rooms are HUGE - my 2nd floor room contained two (yes, 2 ) king sized beds with plenty of space to spare. Aforementioned beds are extremely comfortable, and we had a nice view out over the racecourse (watching the horses train in the mist early one morning was pretty cool).
They're currently refreshing the decor and some areas feel a little tired. However, the room was very clean and housekeeping were efficient and unobtrusive.
Hats off to the staff here too - a friendly and welcoming bunch, exactly the sort of people we need to welcome international visitors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    191
    125
    64
    53
See reviews for
170
199
19
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed here with some friends and we were all very pleased with the hotel - it was centrally located, clean and the room was spacious and easily accommodated the three of us. There was a large screen t.v and plenty of storage room for our luggage and it was nicely heated. The carpark out the back is safe and monitored with guest entry. The beds had plenty of pillows and there were enough towels but while there were tea and coffee making facilities there were only two cups and two wine glasses in a room with two double beds. We ended up asking for an extra mug but this was taken away when the room was serviced the next morning which was a bit of a hassle. The plumbing is a little noisy but not excessively so. Overall though, a great place to stay and excellent value for money. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I booked this hotel online for our 3 day stay in Rotorua this month, based on location and price. I must say I was extremely pleased! The room was huge, the ceilings vaulted in our 4th floor room and the beds the most comfortable I've ever slept in in all my years travelling. The location was great - a 10 minute walk from downtown, and the Friday/Saturday night dinner buffet was crazy good! The only thing that was not a good experience is the lack of wifi in guest rooms. In this day and age, when literally everything is booked/checked/confirmed online, wifi for guests is not a luxury anymore. It is a travel requirement, and the cost on the part of a hotel is minimal. We had to go to Starbucks every morning to check our bookings for the time we spent in Rotorua. I would have left a very positive review on the day we left, had we been able to have wifi. Other than that, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Pick a fourth floor room - the ceilings are vaulted and makes the room feel huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

After reading a few mixed reviews really did not know what to expect. But wow what spacious rooms. Everything about this place surpassed our expectations.

The only downside is old property with little emphasis on mordernism. However,excellent value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Rydges for the past two nights and had a fantastic time there, the rooms are very spacious, we had interconnecting rooms which worked well for our family of seven. We stayed on the fourth floor overlooking the racecourse with the spa bath which we love. The pool is awesome, enjoyed this every day. The buffet breakfast is great value especially if you are a priority guest, a big variety of food to cater for everyone. We had dinner at the restaurant and the waiter was great fun and the food was outstanding. We are very happy with Rydges and have stayed there many times and never been disappointed. We will be back for sure and can't wait till we return. Great value hotel too. Lee-anne and Graeme

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The room we had was very big and had all the amenities required for a pleasent stay. We were there for 4 nights and found it quite comfortable. we were in room 203 on the 2nd floor with a nice balcony and view of the race track and lake in the distance. Breakfast was included in our package and was very good with lots to choose from. We ate in the restaurant on the 1st night and it was ok, but we had room service after that which was very good and at a great price too! We only used the spa once as it was in a seperate room that could be quite cold at night. Our second night there was an evacuation because of a fire alarm and this was done with a calm approach and all over with in half an hour, so the staff certainly are professional. Our only gripe is there is no wifi in the rooms but that was being installed while we were there, other than that internet in the lobby is expensive at $8 for 30 minutes and is slow, so avoid that. Check in and out was easy and we had no other issues. Also parking is free, so thats great. The location was ok, a short 2 minute drive to everything in town and the main roads. I could definitely recommend this hotel to others and if we return to Rotorua would wouls not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the racetrack side have the best view, other wise it's a car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 and were not impressed with the hotel service. The next morning our room was 'serviced' while we were out at breakfast. We returned to find that the old towels had been removed but no new ones had been provided. In addition our own baby towel that we'd brought with us had been taken. I immediately found the housekeeping trolley to try to locate our missing baby towel. They couldn't help and told me to ask at reception, although they did reluctantly provide me with some clean towels for our use. I queued there to speak to a receptionist who spoke to housekeeping and then took my room number but basically acted like it was our fault for bringing a baby towel that was predominantly white. Fair enough that it was an easy mistake for the towel to be lifted but I wasn't impressed that they didn't seem bothered to find it. I asked twice more (that night and the following morning) before our departure and have now called, three weeks later, and each time they give me a brusque response that it's not been found (they didn't even ask who I was/ check with housekeeping when I called).
In addition, the first night we arrived we ordered room service for dinner as there was no space at their restaurant. After housekeeping failed to remove the dishes when they took our towels and us asking twice at reception to have the dishes removed to no avail, we ended up putting the tray outside our room (over 24 hours from when we'd received the meal).
We enjoyed the pool and it would have been a nice place to stay if the staff had been more friendly and helpful and at least made some attempt to return our towel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Rotorua 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.