We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$30 a day for Internet. They must be joking!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Rotorua to your Saves list
Rydges Rotorua
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“$30 a day for Internet. They must be joking!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, they aren't. Which wouldn't be so bad if the hotel was great in other respects - it isn't, or if the local competitors charged for their internet - they don't.

Although our room was large, it was sparsely furnished, bare even and did not feel welcoming. In fact, that's the problem with the whole hotel. It has an institutional feel as though converted from a hospital. Over-large corridors and a characterless atrium with plastic palm trees all add to the effect.

We shall not be going back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    293
    162
    77
    65
See reviews for
264
261
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

After having stayed at all the Rydges properties in New Zealand and being very impressed overall this one was a big letdown.
It looks nice from the outside and the foyer/atrium is very roomy and inviting but after this it goes downhill.
The rooms are old and in need of a make over with our one having rips in the curtains and some rather worn patches on the carpets.
Also the air conditioning was either not working or it did not have any as the room was uncomfortably hot and sleeping was difficult.
It did have opening windows but due to a loud function downstairs this was not an option as sleep would have been totally impossible.
However on the posiitve side the beds were nice and comfortable and bathroom okay.
The gym onsite was rubbish with only a small selection of old broken gear which was totally unacceptable for a hotel of this standard.
Location is okay with it being about 10 minutes walk to the downtown area.
However I would not return to this hotel as it is far below the standard of the other Rydes properties in New Zealand and for the price there are much better choices in Rotorua.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

dont waste your money!!!!! . Rooms were very dated and Dirty!!! booked for our honeymoon and were stuck in the "basement" !!! staff were terrible would not refund stole our money WORST HOTEL EVER !!!!!!! they do not look after there visitors!!! dont be fooled entrance way very very nice Rooms are not at all like the website !!!! very misleading !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: DON'T waste your money !!!! not worth it stay somewhere else!!!! spa bath moldy and dirty same w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights last week. We booked a month earlier and got a great rate for a room with two queen size beds for my husband, our two children and me. The foyer is lovely, staff fantastic, our room on the 3rd floor (330 to be precise) was bigger than expected and very nice. We were quite disappointed that our room didn't have air conditioning as it was very hot and the ceiling fan was inadequate but in fairness we didn't enquire about air-con before booking or even check the website. One thing we really liked about this hotel is that children don't cos extra. Many places charge an extra $25 or more per extra child which significantly increases the per night rate. This hotel didn't charge extra. The buffet breakfast is amazing particularly if you are able to book ahead for the lower rate. We only paid $16 each and the food was just great, so much choice! And again, kids eat free. There is an indoor pool on the 4th floor which has two plunge pools (a hot one and a cooler one) plus a big pool- I would definitely recommend this hotel to families or couples and I would definitely stay again but perhaps see if I could get one of the few air conditioned rooms (I'm told there are only a small number).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed with our two young children on our trip around New Zealand. The first room we were shown was filthy with a separate spa bath in a balcony room covered with insects and layers of dirt, the windows were filthy and this room had been signed off by the supervisor! The toilet and tiles were also dirty. We were moved to another room in a higher floor but that had long black hair across the tiles and never really felt clean but we decided to stay. The breakfast was ok but the yoghurt and Bircher muesli was off. The swimming pool area was dirty with graffiti but it was warm. Generally the staff were helpful but no wifi in the room was frustrating. There appeared to be much better places to stay, this was tired and in need of an overhaul. We would go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife wanted to take me to the town where she was born so i said "no worries" as long as we stay somewhere nice.................. The reception and overall staff service was great. We arrived to our room to find an empty glass and rubbish from the previous guests at our door. The carpet and lounge chair were badly torn and stained. WE FOUND UNDERWEAR FROM THE PREVIOUS GUESTS IN THE TOP DRAWER. My wife felt that it was that unhygeinic she wore thongs (jandalls) in the shower. The breakfast was well over priced for what it was. All we ate was the hashbrowns and toast as the rest of the buffet was like eating tasteless rubber. We gave the management a list of the problems with our contact details and are still waiting for a reply. If this is a 4star hotel then the local YHA must be 6star. There are plenty of other hotels in the area that look more inviting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed our recent stay at Rydges Rotorua; there were just a couple of things that spoilt the experience. The main one was that the room we were given (which ironically was an upgrade) was on the 3rd floor and directly beneath the pool area, so on our first night we had to put up with a constant 'thump, thump, thumping...' from above. Turns out that there was about 20 kids up at the pool running, jumping, diving etc and with little supervision. Not to be a 'party pooper' because I do like to see young people enjoying themselves, but it was late and my wfe, who has a serious illness, needs to have her rest. Another thing to mention is that the shower area was a bit grubby (mouldy grout between tiles mostly); this is a fairly common problem but a quick spray with exit mould would deal to the problem.. The room overall, in terms of size and comfort, was great, although I found it a little frustrating that there was virtually no cutlery provided - esp. since there is a kitchenette area. Finally, whilst we enjoyed the resturant - esp. the buffet breakfast, there was one incident when I needed to ask a question of one of the staff and the response was somewhat abrupt and sarcastic; I felt this was unnecessary and it took a little of the shine off the dining experience. We love Rotorua and have generally found Rydges Hotels to be an enjoyable place to stay. The purpose of this stay was a birthday gift from my wife.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.