We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but could do better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Rotorua to your Saves list
Rydges Rotorua
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok, but could do better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in Nov 2012.
Location was fine for us as we hired a car. There was a Countdown (Safeway) just down the road and location seemed pretty central for most of what we wanted to do.
Lobby and restaurant were nice but we were a bit disappointed with the room. We had a deluxe king spa suite overlooking the racecourse. This is an aging hotel and in my opinion, in need of a make-over (though this is not immediately apparent when you first enter the lobby). The rooms were definitely very spacious (we had 1 king bed with a spa and balcony) and another pro was the mini-fridge which came in handy.
Though the weather was not hot during our stay, the rooms were significantly warmer than outside and without air-conditioning, we struggled to get a comfortable night’s sleep. The pillows in the hotel were terrible. I suggest if you have a back/neck problem you bring your own! The hotel was also quite noisy – it felt like a window had been left open and we were frequently woken in the mornings (or kept up at night) by the sound of the plumbing system struggling when people turned taps on, flushed toilets or had showers!
Bathrooms definitely need a refresh. I'm very, very particular with bathrooms and it took me a good 2 days to be 'ok' with using it - though I never enjoyed the shower! It may have been clean, but with a dark orange patterned colour, you couldn’t tell. Forget using the spa – I would have preferred a room without one to be honest (the spa was in a room separate to the bathroom, but the room didn’t make me feel comfortable at all due to the half-length see-through windows, the number of bugs squashed against the roll up blinds, and the generally ‘cold’ ambiance).
Good couple’s hotel – not too many children and the included buffet breakfast was excellent. Quite the spread complete with fresh juice and smoothie shots as well as the usual continental and cooked breakfast foods.
Staff were polite (restaurant staff were friendlier than the two front desk reception ladies we saw for most of our stay) and we didn’t have any issues that the hotel needed to deal with during our stay.
Overall, this is a hotel for space and the excellent buffet breakfast. The rooms are huge, but if you’re a bit picky like me, you’d probably be best choosing another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments and ratings TSS3

I have spoken to the General Manager and EAM in regards to your comments and they are aware that the hotel is in need of a 'freshen up'. Currently the GM and Maintenance Department are working on a plan to bring the 'spark' back to the property, unfortunately it is not an overnight fix but work has started and the improvements so far have been very positive.

Thanks agan for your feedback and hopefully we with be able to host you in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    293
    161
    77
    65
See reviews for
263
261
24
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in october. We found our room to be very spacious and the hotel in a nice location just down the road from supermarkets etc. We arrived at the hotel well before check in and were pleasantly surprised to be checked straight into our room.
we had alot of trouble getting the tempreture right in our room with the wall furnace as we had trouble turning it off, the rooms had no wireless which i found a bit inconveinient.
We had dinner in the main restaurant the first night and found this to be the biggest let down of the hotel, first of all the waiter that greeted us made us feel like we had done the wrong thing by just "turning up" for dinner, he asked if we had a booking, to which i replied no, and asked if they were heavily booked to which he sighed and said nooo under his breath, he ended up just dumping us on a separate side of the room, which was good as we ended up with a different waiter who was ok. The menu sounded very very nice, and they had an adequate menu for the kids (who ate free from memory) i ordered a stuffed capsicum and the grilled salmon and i found both of these a huge disappointment, we ended up just eating half of our mains and leaving extremely disappointed with a substantial bill. no value for money at the restaurant. Overall i do think i would stay here again, but steer clear of the restaurant

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and ratings apolloone

I have brought your comments up with the General Manager and EAM and they were very suprised to learn of your experience in the restaurant. We apologise for the situation and they are looking into the issues raised and are working on solutions to ensure what you experienced does not become the norm.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I hope we are able to host you in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not brand new but in very good nick. The primary feature is the spaciousness, not only evident in the lobby and public areas but going right down to the corridors and rooms, which were excellently serviced. The plumbing systems will need replacement in a few years.

Room Tip: Ground floor are close to a door leading directly to the car parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and ratings Gordon E

Space is something we have in 'truckloads' and it is one of our points of difference when comparing to our competition.

We are aware of pluming issues within the property and solutions are being worked on by both the General Manager and Maintenance teams.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, NZ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights over school holidays. Had a great deal that included breakfasts and gondola and luge package. Seemed to be a popular hotel choice with families. Room we had was looking tired. We had inadvertently (?) booked the disabled room so bathroom was covered in water after each shower. Good swimming pool facility. Good breakfast buffet in the restaurant. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Gym was small and hot (hotel room converted into a gym) Would stay again but would be more careful with room selection. Good location, although can't go wrong staying down the "golden mile". Enjoyed family dinner at the Kurious Kiwi ( or something like that - next to McD's) meals were good value and good quality with good service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments and ratings GizzyBoy

The Gondola and Luge package that we have available is very popular with families and Rotorua does have a huge influx of families over the School holiday periods, Skyline must just go off!!

We are aware of the issues regarding the rooms and the General Manager and Maintenance team are working on giving the hotel a 'brighter, fresher' feel to it.

Thanks again again for your feedback and we hope we are able to host you in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowood, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Okay it is an aging hotel, some parts a little frayed around the edges, but is is spacious, clean and very comfortable and well located...
We had a Deluxe King Spa Suite overlooking the race course and lake, lovely outlook, super comfy bed and the room was huge, with comfortable furnishings, all areas were clean and well presented...
The Buffet Breakfast was excellent, lovely open Atrium area, good variety of food, all good except the Mez Bar was crowded...too small.
Ample parking at the rear of the hotel, all staff were friendly and smiled, we highly recommend this hotel and would stay again

Room Tip: Race Course and lake views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and ratings allan_don

You're right in pointing out our 'frayed edges' and we are curretly working on those for your next stay with us, we are also working on change for the bar set-up which we may have in the not too distant future, so watch this space!

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

great room , we got a suite with a spa bath / pool , huge room very nice , only down side was they need to address cleaners as not up to scratch , 2 heat pumps , huge bed , great size table and a great view over the race course

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and ratings sheika05

Couldn't agree with you more in regards to the size of our suites, plenty of space and excellent views over the race-course.

I have spoken with the Executive Housekeeper in regards to the cleaning issues and she is currently working on solutions to ensure that these issues are sorted for the future.

Thanks again for your feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to host you in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was the second time we've stayed at Rydges Rotorua.

All staff were very friendly and welcoming from reception through to the restaurant. The restaurant was very nice (dinner and breakfast). Parking and access was also great. We were a small family 2 adults 2 children (under 6) staying in a deluxe spa room and they are on the top / 4th floor

Huge 3? 4? metre ceilings? great big space as well as the two queens, a balcony, views out to the lake and over the race course, literally metres away from a great indoor pool

We had a ball, the kids loved the pool, looking through the window at the pool edge down to the restaurant floor. Great sleep, loved the beds and pillows.

There was one thing I thought was a bit odd was cutlery being left outside of rooms to be collected but other than that it was a flawless stay. The decor was a bit dated as per other reviewers but it was fine, as a family the focus tends to be more on activities, service and food rather than aesthetics.

Can't wait to stay again.

Room Tip: Deluxe Spa Room's are just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and ratings ozborni

The hotel certainly seems to be able to cater for the 'family group' with many families taking advantage of the size of the rooms as well as the pool, and then with the Kids Stay Free, Eat Free offer, why wouldn't you?!

As mentioned the decor is in need of an update and the General Manager is aware of this and is currently working on solutions to this little 'bug bear'.

Once again, thanks for your feedback, and we hope to be able to host you and your family in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.