We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Rotorua Lakeside to your Saves list
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #42 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We did not know exactly what to expect, but we were very pleasantly surprised! As was our experience throughout NZ, the people were extremely friendly; however, the concierge, Lawrence, was amazing. He helped to coordinate our travel and our reservations for Hell's Gate (also amazing, by the way) and was repeatedly exceptional with service throughout our stay. The hotel itself was clean and very close to every amenity - we'd certainly stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    696
    260
    60
    16
See reviews for
419
683
79
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Semarang, Indonesia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This time, I would like share my experience staying at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside two weeks ago. We reached the hotel in the afternoon after driving from Auckland airport and spending our time in two different attractions nearby earlier. It was quite easy to find as the hotel was located in one of the prime area in town.

Check-in was prompt, the female receptionist was very friendly (a rare find these days) and within 6 minutes, both of me and my wife entered our room which was located in the highest floor. Our room was quite standard in size but both of us were quite amazed with its condition. The hotel's management had done an excellent job in maintaining the room as if they were still in their new condition and combined with lake view, I would rate this particular Novotel property as one of the best ones I had ever stayed in the past.

Breakfast was good as well as they had reasonable food selection and food quality was in the better level. Outdoor parking was ample and there were plenty of good restaurants steps away from the hotel. We really regretted our decision to stay one night in this hotel property as we both really enjoyed our stay : We truly believe we would love to extend our stay but we realize we couldn't do it this time so this time, we both had a good reason to visit New Zealand again one day in the near future and definitely, this hotel would be listed in top of our priority to visit.

Honestly, I would love to give a five stars' rating for this particular property but I realize that no Novotel hotels worldwide bears this rating. Therefore, in order to keep my review as objectively as possible, I would maintain a four stars' rating with a good note that this hotel really deserves to be rated in a higher level of "genuine" four stars' hotel. Therefore, I personally recommend this hotel to everyone who is looking for quality hotel to stay in their next trip to Rotorua.

With its reasonable nightly rate, this hotel is one of the best options someone should consider to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room in higher floor facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Lobby was impressive and service was good. Had a good room, clean and was quiet. TV reception was not clear though. Breakfast was nice but some free range options would make it a lot better. Hot pools

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Had been on a tour of New Zealand with friends and we selected the Novotel Rotorua Lakeside for a 3 night stay in Rotorua. The hotel has a elegantly designed lobby with brilliant chandeliers and round sofas. The rooms are pretty well appointed too. The best part is the view from the lake facing rooms. Rotorua is a gem in New Zealand's mesmerizing landscape. Like the entire country, barring a couple of metros, Rotorua is divinely quiet. It was a welcome break from the hustle bustle that we all face in our daily life.

The restaurant serves some amazing food.

While in Rotorua, when you want to experience some thrill you can opt for a speed boat ride on the lake or take a sea-plane or helicopter ride over the lake and enjoy the beauty of the town.

If you want to relax and get away from chaos, Rotorua is the place you should visit and Novotel is a perfect hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is the leading 4 star hotel located on the shores of Lake Rotorua. The resort features an indoor spa and fitness centre, offering geothermally heated pools, A Cafe, restaurant and bar, Complimentry carparking and a convention centre for up to 500 people. Guests can enjoy nightly performances at our Maori cultural centre, or make the most of nearby attractions, including water activities on the lake and the famous thermal reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.