We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay but avoid the seafood buffet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Rotorua Lakeside to your Saves list
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #42 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
hobart
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay but avoid the seafood buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

Myself and two teenage teenage daughters stayed at the Hotel for three nights. The room was very Novotel - clean, servicable and well presented.
The location is very handy to town and the check-in staff were approachable and efficient.
The pillows supplied were all dreadful - very lumpy and squashy -but were readily replaced by the lovely house-keeping lady!
We thought the buffet breakfast was great - good variety and served until 10-30am which is handy with teenagers!
However did not think the Saturday seafood buffet dinner was good value at all - $52 each and little variety. King prawns had been frozen and were watery.
The swimming pool area was good - but of course a little smelly from the naturally fed water.
Good idea to double check your account before paying as I had been charged twice for breakfast one day even though I had a bed and breakfast deal and the Hangi and Cultural night that I had booked though the Novotel (as theirs was not operating when we were there) was not charged at all.

  • Liked — location, breakfast inclusion,free parking
  • Disliked — terrible pillows, overpriced seafood buffet
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    694
    259
    60
    15
See reviews for
417
681
79
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

For our first night in New Zealand after flying from the U.S. we booked the Novotel as a "splurge." While it wasn't the top rated hotel on tripadvisor, it was certainly well reviewed. The reputation of the brand also helped in my decision.

While everything was clean and in working order, the room just seemed, not tired, but not well set out. The room and bathroom were quite utilitarian for paying over $150/night. The sheets were quite thin, and the pillows lacked the comfort one would expect at this price range. Also, we traveled during the off-peak start of winter, yet the prices did not reflect this.

The restaurant is sadly overpriced (with the dinner buffet going for over $50, and Friday and Saturday nights saw no main courses that weren't fish.) But, the location for dining is perfect as there are over 30 eating establishments within a 2 to 3 minute walk! For dining and souvenier shopping without using the car, it's perfect!

It's a good hotel, but for the budget traveler, probably not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

My wife and I were here on our honeymoon for 2 nights (no acknowledgment from reception). When we checked in, we did not feel welcome at all. We had lots of luggages but none of the staff at the front desk helped with our luggage. In fact, we struggled with the luggage cart past the front desk without even a look from any of the staff members.
After check in, we went back down to the lobby to try and book tours. However, concierge was no where to be found. Front Desk said they will be back, however, the entire 2 days we were there, we never saw them. We ended up booking all the tours ourselves.

When we checked out, once again, we did not receive any help with our luggages.

Finally, we asked for a king bed but received 2 double beds instead.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

This has probably the best position of any hotel in Rotorua - near the lake and town and facing a pleasant green area. It's well worth upgrading to a lake view room. The hotel has stunning, modern decor throughout and our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and very efficient and there is ample car parking available. The buffet dinner in their Atlas restaurant was great value for money. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing, really
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

I would like to start off by saying that the Novotel is probably one of the best hotels in Rotorua..
Check-in was fast and the person at the counter was friendly..
We were on the second floor up so we had a pretty good view of the city.
The rooms were excellent when we got in..Very clean..Nothing wrong, nothing out of place...EXCELLENT..Free shampoo and conditioners which we eventually just took home :)
The shower cap could have gotten replacing but didn't mind too much..
The TV was excellent! Sony Plasma LCD TV :)
Though the mini-bar was quite expensive..$6.50 for a beer and $3.00 for a can of coke...It was all worth it in the end~
The swimming pool and spas weren't huge but enough for having fun..There weren't alot of people there so it was good for us.
The breakfast buffet wasn't too bad but they could do better to cook a more variety of food for $26 per person...
Overall, this was an excellent selection and recommend to every tourist to Rotorua to book here...

  • Liked — The Rooms were Excellent!
  • Disliked — Could have put more effort into expensive breakfast buffet...
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

Novotels tend to be efficient and comfortable. They never let you down, but neither do they excite. They are a safe harbour. This is true of the one in Rotorua - well situated, nice rooms, decent restaurant. It tends to be busy with coach parties checking in or going out to visit the tedious "culture show". But you can stroll to the lake, or into town, there's plenty of parking, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — General efficiency of hotel and staff
  • Disliked — Lobby area carpet
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

Stayed 2 nights at Easter at the Novotel with our 2 young children. Upgraded ourselves to a Lake view room - well worth it with great views of the lake and activities in the park. The hotel is in a great location, in walking distance, close to the lake, shops and restaurants.
Check in was quick, friendly and efficient. The room was spacious with 2 double beds, clean and bright.
The 1st morning, when leaving our room, we saw the housekeeper in the corridor. We told her that we are out for most of the day, so you can clean our room next. She obviously saw that we had 2 young children. Upon returning we noticed that she had given us extra towels, soaps and shampoos - a nice touch.
Our rate included full buffet breakfasts, a wide selection available. I think most guests don't know that you can ask for fried eggs and other items not on the buffet. Staff happily oblige.
Did not eat dinner at the hotel, plenty of restaurants nearby. 1st night we ate at Nando's - great food and service. Also, unlike most Nando's we have eaten at, they service beer and wine. 2nd night at the nearby Thai restaurant - over priced and surly service from manageress.

Overall we enjoyed our stay in Rotorua at the Novotel. We normally stay in motels in Rotorua, but would happily stay at Novotel again.

  • Liked — Spacious clean rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#24 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is the leading 4 star hotel located on the shores of Lake Rotorua. The resort features an indoor spa and fitness centre, offering geothermally heated pools, A Cafe, restaurant and bar, Complimentry carparking and a convention centre for up to 500 people. Guests can enjoy nightly performances at our Maori cultural centre, or make the most of nearby attractions, including water activities on the lake and the famous thermal reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.