We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REGULAR EVENT CHASER” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Rotorua Lakeside to your Saves list
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“REGULAR EVENT CHASER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great location and mineral pools to soak aching bones and muscles after and event
which are held regularly in Rotorua.
Love the new African buffet theme dinner on Friday and Saturday nights.
Staff very helpful and willing to please your every need.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Your review is truly appreciated.

Thank you for mentioning our themed buffet dinner and how you enjoyed it.

We are now offering a Mid Winter Christmas Buffet which has also proven to be a popular choice for our guests and local diners.

Kind regards to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    754
    303
    77
    18
See reviews for
456
755
85
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Good hotel in good location right by lake and restaurants with plenty of parking. Enjoyed the spa and swimming pool. The reason I scored the hotel average was that the breakfast was poor. We paid $30 each for a cooked breakfast. The chef did cook a poached egg for me which was good, but the bacon was tough and dry; we both chose the only muffin available which was dry and neither of us could eat; no fresh fruit available. I think if we hadn't paid $30 we would have found the rest of what was available acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Sharon W,

I do apologise for your breakfast experience. I am concerned that you did not get fresh fruit on the buffet for your breakfast, as our expectation is a minimum of 3 cut fruit platters on the buffet at any one time, and a full selection of stewed and preserved fruits - as well as two yoghurt and the gluten/dairy free selection. Coupled with the Danish, breads and eggs to order from our egg cook, we have seen a huge improvement in the quality and breakfast experience. Obviously on this morning we did not follow-through on our service promise and I apologise for this. I will personally follow up with the Chef and the Restaurant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The staff at the front desk were all very welcoming and professional as were the staff in the restaurant. Great breakfast wasnt hundry all day and enjoyed the happy hour each evening. The view isnt half bad either, lots to see and do around Rotorua.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

It is fantastic to read that you all started your day with a 'great breakfast'.
You are right - Rotorua has a lot to enjoy, see and do!

We look forward to welcoming your family back to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

As we have family in Rotorua we fly in from Australia two or three times each year, We always stay at the Novotel for several nights each visit. We have been so many times that the management, desk staff, restaurant supevisors, waiters and chefs welcome us and take care of us. The hotel folk never disappoint us. the location is handy to the lake, the Gardens, shops and eateries. The rooms have varied from good to wonderful, meals likewise. Its a happy place, from management down. We'll be back later this year. That says it all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your support and taking the time to share your comments.

We are very pleased to hear that you again enjoyed your stay at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside.
Glad to hear your stay with us never disappoints.

Looking forward having you back later this year!

Warm regards from your Kiwi friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I went with my husband and young primary age kids for a weekend in Rotorua before the end of school holidays. When in Rotorua I always stay at Novotel after trying five other major hotels in Rotorua, Novotel provides more consistent service and the decor has been nicely modernised and my children love the kids corner in the restaurant. As an Accor member, its definitely value for money in terms of accommodation and meals, nothing beats it! Front desk staff should be commended, especially when they recognise you as a returning guest. The amusement park across the road was a great bonus for my children and location is excellent for eateries and the playground and lake. I've stayed at Novotel for a range of reasons including business, friends, family and as a couple and Novotel accommodates and suitable for all! highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We have been very fortunate to have a renovation of our Reception/Lobby area and upgrade of our catering and restaurant facilities. Coupled with the recent move to all King beds in our double rooms (along with a new sofa bed), that Hotel is looking really good!

Thank you!
Fraser McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in April 2013 & were very satisfied with the room. The pool was lovely. The staff were excellent. The location excellent. We had a car but if that was not the case the hotel was convient for walking to other locations.
We would stay there again when in Rotorua.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for wonderful review.

Your feedback is very important to us.
We look forward to seeing you again at Novotel Rotorua very soon.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My son and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel during our holiday trip to Rotorua. Good service, good location, and great staff. Certainly recommended and will stay there again in future visits to Rotorua.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
It is always a pleasure to receive feedback like this - thank you.

Your recommendation is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thank you very much and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is the leading 4 star hotel located on the shores of Lake Rotorua. The resort features an indoor spa and fitness centre, offering geothermally heated pools, A Cafe, restaurant and bar, Complimentry carparking and a convention centre for up to 500 people. Guests can enjoy nightly performances at our Maori cultural centre, or make the most of nearby attractions, including water activities on the lake and the famous thermal reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.