We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Rotorua Lakeside to your Saves list
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #41 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times and in various rooms. We recently stayed in a lake view junior suite, which was very comfortable. The room was a corner room with good views over the lake. The room has a large king bed and an alcove with a sofa coffee table and television. There is also a couple of ‘chub’ type chairs in the room. The room has a separate area to store luggage, and parking at this hotel is easy and free. Although the bathroom has a spa bath – which we did not use – it does not look like it would be a comfortable fit if you wanted to accommodate two people. The bathroom amenities while good could do with a little spruce up – however everything works the way it should. The rooms are quiet and the hotel is well located. There was one small, issue for us and that was that the room service was not that quick. Overall this is a good four star hotel with a great view, only if you book the lake view options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your support of our hotel, we really appreciate it.
It is always a pleasure to read reviews from our returning guests.
Thanks for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    694
    259
    60
    15
See reviews for
417
681
79
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Everything at this property was very nice. Extremely well located, nice pool and mineral spa, great buffet breakfast We had a room with a view of the lake which was very nice. Staff exceptionally nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest

I really appreciate the time you have taken to write this very positive review.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your room and our facilities.
Thank you so much for sharing this with all your fellow travellers.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I attended a conference at the Novotel. It was a pleasant stay and I think the facilities enabled the conference to run smoothly. I found the staff at the Lakeside very attentive and friendly. We will keep the Novotel as a location for future conferences.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed our service and facilities throughout your conference.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed with our family and enjoyed having adjoining rooms. The kids enjoyed the pool and buffet breakfast in the morning. The location was close to the lake and resturants. Overall it was good for a short stay with the family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially our swimming pool and the breakfast buffet.

We hope to see you and your family again on your next travels to Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawerau
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed here many times but on the last visit we decided that would be it for us until they renovate the tired rooms! The sheets on the beds were ripped covers had holes in them and pillows are tired! The room was clean and we ordered room service which was tops.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comments.
I was very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we regret any inconvenience caused. We are constantly upgrading and improving our facilities and services.
I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#24 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is the leading 4 star hotel located on the shores of Lake Rotorua. The resort features an indoor spa and fitness centre, offering geothermally heated pools, A Cafe, restaurant and bar, Complimentry carparking and a convention centre for up to 500 people. Guests can enjoy nightly performances at our Maori cultural centre, or make the most of nearby attractions, including water activities on the lake and the famous thermal reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.