We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel Rotorua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Rotorua Lakeside to your Saves list
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #40 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
A TripAdvisor Member
“Novotel Rotorua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Staff were all very helpful and polite. Location was great. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant. Did not do the breakfast as felt $28 per person was too much. Room was good although the pillows were not very good. Thought the price was very good concidering it was Easter weekend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    693
    258
    59
    15
See reviews for
415
680
79
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I was disappointed that the menu did not reflect the food delivered either in size, quality or presentation (180g steak would have struggled to weigh in at 90g with completely the wrong sauce) I complained, my meal was removed and returned quite some time later unchanged except for another small piece of steak added to the original plate but still in the same wrong sauce and accompanied by now very tired looking vegetables. My dinner partner had his meal of fish left in front of him with no offer of returning it so we could both dine together. I also was disgusted to find my chair in the restaurant stained with what looked to me as menstrual blood. Perhaps as there were no other people in the restaurant at 8.45 pm others may have experienced similar poor food and service and the word was out. Needless to say we chose to not dine at the hotel for the rest of our stay - even the advantage card benefits could not compensate.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Thank you for your review. My apologies that we provided the wrong sauce for your meal, and the service was found lacking on the night. I have addressed this with the Restaurant Manager directly. All steak - including the eye fillet selected, are cut to weight to ensure consistency. At times size can seem to vary - especially if requested well done which tends to remove a lot of the moisture from the meat. Fortunately I was unable to locate the chair in question, but I am sure this would have been attended to immediately you mentioned it - thank you. Due to the white material on the chairs, we have a cleaning schedule in place - again my apologies as we obviously missed this during our service mis en place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Novotel in Rotorua. The location was central to the lake, restaurants and any sightseeing you wanted to do in town. Parking our rental car was a breeze with the free parking lot and there was also a free business center with computers to access the internet. We visited in the fall (mid-April) so it was a bit less crowded than usual, but we found the hotel to be pleasant and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Bit expensive for the room, thought it may have been better, wasn't happy with the little bath in the room doubling as a spa, only room for 1 person, should be stated on the web page or have a photo of how poor this really is.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Thank you for your comments. While I note that the front page of the website stipulates single spa bath for the King Suites, the second does just say spa bath without stipulating exact size. I'll have this amended, as usually we get positive feedback about them. We also offer Novotel guests a free spa pool & geothermal pool, or pay private geothermal pools on-site, along with a sauna and a Day Spa (Massage & Beauty Therapy) on the ground floor.

Thank you
Fraser McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Not exactly at the lakeside although some rooms may be able to see the lake from their windows. Rooms comfortable and staff friendly. More expensive that Novotel in Queenstown and Wellington.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Thank you for your great facility ratings - rooms, location, cleanliness, service & sleep quality. We accept we are not on the beach, but are only 200 meters away from the Lake across the village green. Seasonal rates apply in all Hotels, so sometimes one location will be more expensive than another, dependant on the time of year. The best rates will be available on the 'accorhotels' site, and often have special sales on for different locations around NZ and the world.

Thank you
Fraser McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights while on a fly fishing trip,room was great plenty big enough,hot tubs very relaxing and the free internet a bonus.The place lacked a bit of atmosphere but apart from that it was all good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is the leading 4 star hotel located on the shores of Lake Rotorua. The resort features an indoor spa and fitness centre, offering geothermally heated pools, A Cafe, restaurant and bar, Complimentry carparking and a convention centre for up to 500 people. Guests can enjoy nightly performances at our Maori cultural centre, or make the most of nearby attractions, including water activities on the lake and the famous thermal reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.