We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dreadful place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Hotel Rotorua to your Saves list
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, P.O. Box 1044, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“dreadful place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

awful hotel whcih should be called a motel. dated old rooms, ripped furnishings, no atmosphere and general bad vibe. awful breakfast and coffee ( you need to pay extra for decent coffee and to finish it off the most expensive fro wine, mini bar ( inclusing water) and dry cleaning. new zealand hotels are bad in general but this is awful

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay and that we didn't meet your expectations.
Filtered chilled water is provided free of charge in all public areas, alternatively guests can purchase bottled water from the in room minibar.

Freshly brewed Coffee and Tea is provided free of charge at breakfast. We offer our guests the choice of purchasing espresso coffee.

We're looking foward to the second quarter of 2014 when the hotel will receive a refurbishment to our guest rooms and lobby area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    289
    181
    56
    27
See reviews for
134
304
33
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Two different rooms in two days, first was exceptional on 2nd floor, 2nd room on 4th floor dated with paint flakes falling in bathroom ( badly ventilated ) however staff and facillities more than made up for. Would reccommend to any body without hesitation

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for writing your review. Fantastic you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your recommendation.

The second quarter of 2014 will see upgrades to guest rooms and public areas.

We hope you will choose to return some time in the near future.
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had 2 rooms booked for our stay with family at the Millennium Hotel Rotorua. When I checked in I was given a free upgrade to a room with a spa in it....bonus! Unfortunately the other room we got was not an upgrade. The upgraded room was good with a modern bathroom, and an awesome outdoor private spa. The feedback from the standard room was that the bathroom was old with a shower head designed for midgets. The occupants were far from impressed.

After reading the guest information folder in the room I was impressed by the offer of "orthopaedic and feather pillows in addition to those supplied in your room"! Having had neck problems I phoned up to get a 80% feather pillow. I was told by reception that they did not have feather pillows. After some persuasion, I convinced them to at least bring me a softer pillow. After an hour of waiting, I again phoned reception and they said they would chase up the pillow. Finally a pillow arrived at my door and it was 100% polyester and did not even have a pillow case on it! This was hardly acceptable. I also noticed that the minbar fridge was extremely noisy so I had to turn it off during the night.

Breakfast was included in my package. The cooked breakfast was not very tasty, the congee was bland with no condiments on offer to provide any taste, the miso soup was not labelled so looked like brown water, and it took several requests to staff before the pancake machine was finally operational. The pancakes were nice though.

On a positive side, the swimming pool and spa area looked amazing!

For the money paid, this was a rather disappointing stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed the free upgrade to a Deluxe Spa room,as well as The Spa and Pool areas. Our apologies we were unable to offer an upgrade for both rooms due to occupancy. With regards breakfast congee dish our Executive Chef makes the congee according to a popular recipe, however following your comments we wil investigate further. Please accept my apologies that breakfast didn't meet your expectations.
I have checked with housekeeping and we still have available a supply of feather pillows to offer guests. Rest assured I will be following up with the Front Office team to discuss the reasons for not communicating and fulfilling your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our first visit here was over 20 years ago and this hotel has maintained its timeless elegance over the years. The foyer of this hotel is impressive with lots of space and areas for people to sit and relax. There is an inner courtyard which provides a quiet, safe place for guests to be at one amongst the ferns. The pool on the ground floor with its retractable roof is a wonderful place to chill out on a hot summers day. The room we had this visit faced towards the lake and had a small balcony which was great and got the full morning sun. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Although we "went Green" here the housekeeping service still knocked at our door and asked if we wanted a towel change and that they needed to empty our rubbish. We had previously put the rubbish bag outside the door and it had already been collected. Although we didn't eat in the restaurant this time it was only because there are lots of other places to eat in Rotorua that we wanted tor try out on this visit. The nightly rate we got was very reasonable (a shareholder rate) and made it far more competitive than other hotels in the city for the time of our stay.

Room Tip: A lake view room will give you a balcony as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, Acting Operations Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to send us your comments.
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially our new comfy beds, the pool area and lake views from your room.
Going Green is a fantastic and popular initiative. When putting out your 'Going Green' door sign our policy is that the maids will ask if you need tea/coffee, shampoo etc refreshed, but this shouldn't include replacing towels or sheets - hence saving power, water and use of laundry chemicals. Our Executive Housekeeper will be reminding the staff of this.
We hope to welcome you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed for 1 night. Nice enough room, good tv. Great location, walking distance to shops in town. Lots of parking available in and around the hotel for no charge. Wifi too expensive- computers available downstairs but at a cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, Acting Operations Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I always stay here when in town. The grand layout augments the superb facilities on site and allowed me to do exactly what I wanted to do - cocktails by the pool, breakfast by the pool, evening cocktails upstairs before dining in the restaurant. The central location was an excellent reference point for exploring wider surroundings. The only downside was the service yet again. Each morning at Breakfast I had to ask for tea several times and the cocktail bar often forgot about my order, leaving me waiting 30min on the first day. Those aside I enjoyed my time and look forward to the next.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, Acting Operations Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I'm pleased you enjoyed your time with us on your return visit. We're always strive to deliver excellent customer service and I will be speaking with the Restaurant Manager to ensure our expected standards are met. Its important to get breakfast right and that starts with a cup of tea or coffee!
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed in this Hotel for 2 nights. I liked over all feel. Close to all the shopping and a walkable distance to the lake. There was an unfortunate power outage during the stay, the Hotel did what it could do..during the power outage. I say over all good.

Room Tip: If you are elder couple, I would suggest you to stay in a different hotel that is much closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, Acting Operations Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the location of the hotel within walking distance to the lake and close to shopping.
The power outage was unfortunately, caused by a faulty transformer roadside. The powerlines company did a great job getting power restored very quickly - given the size of the fault.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, P.O. Box 1044, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, The Spa for Beauty & Massage, 2 free Spa pools and 2 private for-hire Spa pools, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Cha Bar & Cafe Poolside, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Executive Club Floor with Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Hotel Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.