We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel/ Review of John Chetty - Millennium Rotorua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Hotel Rotorua to your Saves list
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, P.O. Box 1044, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Outstanding hotel/ Review of John Chetty - Millennium Rotorua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

John Chetty checked us and greeted us with welcoming gesture plus friendliness, made us feel home and he was very eager to assist with guest requests, and with promt check in offerd us a top notch room and has been a tour/attractions planner for us during our stay which we absolutely enjoyed. The facilities are beautiful. The millennium dollar lake view the best. Sunset from the balcony was spectacular. The beds were nice, It was a great experience to enjoy our honey moon in the thermal city - Rotorua in NZ. The hotel staff were friendly and attentive.

My Wife is head of recruitement in Sydney and John was casually offered an opportunity which was turned down as John has plans with Millennium hotel group. He is a outstanding hospitality role model that is very difficult to find and surely he will be a good asset to the company John made our holiday and honeymoon a perfect one

We also thank the Manager of the hotel for having a great hotel with good team for support., We will be back definately.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about the hotel and of course in particular recognising John's great service. He is indeed a great hospitality role model and definitely depicts the service character we strive for in our team here. Congratulations on your recent marriage; I am happy we helped make your honeymoon a memorable one and we too look forward to welcoming you back when next over this way. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    288
    180
    56
    27
See reviews for
133
303
33
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great Service from the duty manager - My J Chetty - went out of his way to welcome us from the cold - asked us to sit at the waiting area whist he sorted out the paperwork. Good local knowledge of restaurants, and offered us discount cards to the local hot pool.
Will be back - great service

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I have passed on and also acknowledged John's helpful service during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and our wonderful city. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Millenium is in a central location just opposite the Polynesian Hot Pools. The room was okay although the balcony upgrade was not worth the price. The carpets were dirty in the halls and the elevators. This is an old, tired hotel and in need of painting. We had brought 2 Riedel wine glasses with us and the first day they disappeared. We kept complaining that we wanted our glasses back and they finally found them in the bar 2 days later. No apology, They certainly did not look like anything that the hotel would have furnished! The free wifi was a major problem. It could only be accessed in the lobby and if you logged in and then out, you were kicked out of the system until the next day. The last straw was the buffet breakfast. It was really terrible. There was mold on the bread, the pastries were hard and stale,There were cold cuts that were past their use by date, the choice of cereals was really bad. The Chinese food in the chaffing dishes looked like it was swimming in fat. All in all it was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your feed back on our hotel. I note your comments regarding the room and pleased to advise that we are in the midst of plans for a soft refurbishment. I was certainly surprised to read your comments regarding breakfast as we had over 900 guests over the same period of your stay. We have very strict processes in place to ensure food freshness and quality. The tasting glasses were removed from your room to be washed as part of the daily room service. As they were not our standard rooms glassware, the room attendant mistakenly placed the glasses in our store. When you introduced yourself to me the following morning I assured you I would personally look for your glasses, these were found shortly after and returned to you later that day. Regards Chris Bell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went to Rotorua for a weeks holiday in May 2013, to take a well earned break from work, and thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to stay in a "Club" room at the Millenium Hotel in Rotorua, New Zealand.

The service was great, the staff were all exceptional and most accommodating, even though the hotel was undergoing refurbishment in progressive area's. The Millennium Hotel is comfortable, functional, and delivered peace of mind relaxation.

If you want absolute ritzy accommodation, stay in Auckland or some other main "flash harry" cost the earth centre, but if you want a functional and relaxing not over the top holiday, then this hotel and Rotorua is a valid place to consider.

The restaurant food and other general services, were all very good and delivered with a personal touch, that made you part of the "Millennium Family".

We would absolutely go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We too hope you pick our hotel again when next travelling up this way and it was good to see you enjoyed a relaxing break while also enjoying our facilities and friendly staff. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we hope you return again to the Millennium family in the not too distant future. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our short trip to Rotorua on 31/05. Having lived in NZ, in the past and visited Rotorua on several occasions prior, Millennium has been the best hotel that we have stayed at.

First of all Kudos for the excellent customer service provided to us by John Chetta, the manager. He was extremely helpful, knowledgeable about rotorua - the attractions, restaurants etc., and made sure that we were looked after well throughout our stay. Even when we had checked out and sitting in the lobby, he came to check with us how our stay had been and if they could have done any better. Seldom you come across such a great service.

Apart from John, all staff were equally helpful and friendly.

The hotel itself is next to the Polynesian Spa at a 50m walk, it is close to the city centre with all restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are clean and well looked after.
We booked under Autumn special and paid only $109. We also got the $10/person special breakfast and that I could say was one of the best continental breakfast that you can get in Rotorua atleast.

Additionally, I would highly recommend you dine at NIKAU (inside of the hotel). It is surely the best fine dining restaurant in Rotorua. We ordered Mains, Desert and a drink each and paid $100, which is not at all pricey. The mains were between $28-$36.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Your recommendation regarding Nikau Restaurant is much appreciated and I'm happy you enjoyed the breakfast as well. It was great to see John Chetty was so helpful and he was also appreciative of your glowing comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and I hope the rest of travels went well. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

not to bad above average, had an issue with our vouchures? manager said we couldnt use it but then ended up giving it to us? had a little internet issue in the start but the manager John Cheety fixed it so thanks for that, ordered wedges about 10 minutes ago and i got it with no sour cream. they said they were out? who eats wedges with out sour cream?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and comments and I'm pleased we sorted the issue with your vouchers for you. Apologies for the omisssion of the sour cream, but hopefully you enjoyed the wedges once this was rectified. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here for a night as part of my stopover tour in NZ, check in was smooth and front desk staff was friendly. Was issued a key, my god is an old type key not the card key. Lobby look old and tiredbut well maintained. Room was moderate, furniture looks old, balcony was decent size facing the lake with few spa, eateries and open field just infront of hotel. Breakfast was average, service a bit slow but friendly. Overall experience was just okay.

Room Tip: Play the cart ride nearby which was fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we have noted your comments from your recent stopover here. We hope the rest of your business trip went well. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, P.O. Box 1044, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, The Spa for Beauty & Massage, 2 free Spa pools and 2 private for-hire Spa pools, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Cha Bar & Cafe Poolside, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Executive Club Floor with Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Hotel Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.