We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated it - won't be back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Hotel Rotorua to your Saves list
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, P.O. Box 1044, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Cambridge NZ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hated it - won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed 1 night in July - the room was absolutely miniscule, with 2 double beds squeezed in for some reason making it worse. No table, small TV on small dresser taking up needed space , only 2 of each wine glasses, cutlery - teaspoons only. Tiny bathroom. The room was so hot we had to open the windows even though the weather was terrible outside and we had the heating turned off. They should take one of the beds out, put the TV on the wall. Continental breakfast too pricey at $21. Parking pretty bad too - if you can get one.
We had stayed the night before at the Rydges which was 100% better

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    290
    181
    56
    27
See reviews for
135
304
33
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

My family of four stayed just one night. The rooms were fine, but we were disappointed in the dinner. Our total bill was pushing $200 and each one of us ordered something different. All four meals were just so-so. The highlight was the garlic toast appetizer...

Our waitress was friendly, but she disappeared before we finished so I had to find someone at the register so we could pay for our meal! The cashier said our waitress was "on a break." Very odd...

The breakfast buffet was just okay as well. The pancakes were cold, but the rest of the food was fine. The chef came out twice to refill the buffet items and she had a terrible cough -- not too appealing for a food preparer and server!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

After reading the reviews for the hotel on TripAdvisor, I was a little apprehensive about my upcoming work conference which would see me stay at the hotel. I was relieved to find the hotel to be a wonderful base for the conference and Rotorua in general.

My room was clean, comfortable and what you would expect from most 4* properties (I think the extra half star may be a little generous given the 'finish' of the hotel. I had a Club room (level 5) and an amazing view of the lake from my balcony. I doubt I would have enjoyed the stay nearly as much if I was in a room with a poor view / no balcony.

Things that were good:
-Warm and efficient check in
-Club continental breakfast and evening canapes lovely
-Good location
-Clean well presented rooms
-Affordable minibar
-Lovely bathroom
-Well presented hotel
-Most staff very helpful and professional when needed
-Excellent conference venue
-Effective climate control

Things that could improve
-Lack of wi-fi throughout the hotel
-Only one entry/exit from a rather large complex
-Thread count of linen was quite low
-Beds could be a lot firmer. The matress felt well used.
-One particular staff member who wasn't particularly helpful at reception

Room Tip: Ask for lake views and book a Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is my first review and provides an opportunity to thank the wonderful staff at the Millennium Hotel Rotorua. I stayed for five nights and enjoyed each one. My room was comfortable and had all the necessities, any queries and/or requests were promptly addressed and the staff were friendly, patient and polite. I'll be sure to stay at the Millennium on my next visit to Rotorua and would recommend the hotel to friends, family and colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Really good hotel. Friendly and clean. The spa pools and swimming pool were awesome and the shower in the room just the best. I'm definately coming back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate receiving your feeback as this is the best way to ascertain our standards of comfort and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The hotel was nice - room was clean and quiet. I liked the location, and the ample parking available. The hotel does appear to have aged a little, but overall I thought it was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed 1 night over Queens Birthday and had an enjoyable stay. Room was what I expected, slightly dated but I believe I was staying in the older part of the hotel. Location was great, just a 2 minute walk to the Polynesian spa! Staff were very welcoming and friendly and the price was very good! Would stay there again next time I visit Rotorua.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, P.O. Box 1044, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, The Spa for Beauty & Massage, 2 free Spa pools and 2 private for-hire Spa pools, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Cha Bar & Cafe Poolside, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Executive Club Floor with Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Hotel Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.