We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpin Motel and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alpin Motel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   16 Sala Street, Rotorua 6043, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Reasonably good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The price of this motel was reasonable - a deal on a travel website. However the motel managers seemed unaware of the deal I had purchased. The deal included one free continental breakfast per day, however after having been contacted 3 times during my stay to sort out the details of my booking, the breakfast was prepared incorrectly and delivered by a seemingly disgruntled manager. Not a good impression. Having said that, the same managers were very helpful in providing local information and offered discount coupons to local attractions.

I did wake to find a cockroach crawling around the kitchen, which I had to quickly hide from my partner to avoid her time in the motel being ruined.

3 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sala6, Owner at Alpin Motel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hi Dear customer, first of all, thank you very much for stay with us. Sorry for the inconvenience of any misunderstanding. We do pest control every month regularly, due to we are a big property with thermal heated facilities(like the swimming pool and hot tubs) and all our 40 units one bed room apartments are in ground floor around the internal garden, during summer time, control the "small visitor" is a very hard work, but we always do our best to provide a clean and comfortable accommodation for our guest. Hope you can enjoy your next stay. Best regards. Motel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    65
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
52
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just stayed at Alpin for Labour weekend. Decided to book there for the heated pool so my 2 children (8 & 10) would be entertained and wasn't disappointed. All 40 units were booked but you wouldn't know it. We had the pool to ourselves most of the time and the units are very private. Also great having our own private hot pool to use. Boys were on divans in the lounge which they found very comfortable and there was a huge bed in the bedroom, kitchenette was well stocked and I found I could easily cook a meal with what was there . Great with the two TV's to cater for children and adults choices. Units were very clean and tidy and serviced daily. Owners were very helpful and offered discount vouchers to various attractions around Rotorua. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: We were in Room 31 which was on the road frontage. The road isn't busy though and we never hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at this place because a friend remembered loving it as a child 40yrs ago!!! Recently refurbed and clean and modern interior. Serviced daily, included excellent continental breaky. Owners lovely, kids loved the pool and spa. when on first day room wasn't serviced, owners arranged for it to be done within half an hour and left a complimentary bottle of wine for our inconvenience! Totally unexpected and such a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

we came here for my husbands 40th and really enjoyed our stay here, it was like being at home away from home, with a few luxuries :) great for couples or families. looking forward to going back. I especially loooved the private spa

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for two nights as part of a birthday weekend away for my partner. The room was very clean and the queen bed was confortable, and it was excellent value for money. We really liked having our own private hot pool, especially at the end of a hard day mountain biking. The famous redwood mountain bike park is only 5 mins ride away. The only minor gripe is that it is not walkable to the centre of Rotorua, but a cab can sort that out if you want to have a drink or two with your dinner. we'll definitely be staying again sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the road front to ensure quietness at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I used to visit this motel as a child and have recently come back as an adult - and we had such a good time we made a repeat journey a month later! My partner and I would recommend this to any visitor to Rotorua. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and inviting and you can't beat being able to watch Sky TV from your own private spa pool. There is also a heated pool available for swimming a few steps from your room. We really appreciated all the kitchenette features as well as the extra pillows and blankets - thoroughly happy with the service and all the thoughtful "mod cons" for a great price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Recently changed hands. Rooms are notably dirtier. Staff lack experience. Use to be the go to motel in Rotorua for our company, bit probably not anymore unfortunately. Lack of cooking equipment, dirty taps, hair somewhat threated into duvet. Not great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sala6, Owner at Alpin Motel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for your bad feeling. Would you please let us know which room you stayed in?. Housekeeper, cleaner girls, nothing has changed for Alpin. After taking over the business, the new owners and new managers do their best to improve the motel service. We changed to new light fittings to make the room brighter, changed new curtains, changed some new showers in bathrooms and we also have a long term plan to upgrade the motel facilities and service continuous. Hope we can have the opportunity to provide great service for you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpin Motel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpin Motel and Conference Centre

Address: 16 Sala Street, Rotorua 6043, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpin Motel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private hot tubs with all 40 one bedroom modern apartments. Sauna, bike hire, BBQs. Thermal heating, garden setting, sustainable environmental policies, guest laundry. Relax in the central garden setting, smell the flowers, whistle with the birds. Ask at reception for free and inexpensive things to do, rainy day activities, and best value for money attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alpin Motel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpin Motel And Conference Centre Hotel Rotorua
Alpin Motel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpin Motel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.