We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable, great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4 Barnard Rd, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
San Diego
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable, great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We spent three days here, and we loved it. Very clean, small room, but everything was great. Had a play area for kids, a stream, a ping pong room, and the hosts (Kitty especially) were so generous and congenial. They gave us several excellent recommendations and all turned out to be spot on. They also have a very lovely pool and hot tub, plus a hot pool (which is really a jacuzzi without bubbles inside a room...very nice for after a cold day.)

Room Tip: Although it's on the main road into Rotorua, all the rooms seemed very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    61
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
95
91
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just stayed at the Best Western. We had booked the Executive room which I believe is the largest here. The upstairs bedroom was great for the kids with their own ensuite. The room downstairs was open plan with a bed in the wall. The bed was okay, not the most comfortable. The two floors only had one fan heater which was located downstairs next to the main bed. It was extremely loud and sleeping with it on was almost impossible, and turning it off meant that you would freeze. There really was no winning. I think they need to re-look at their pricing as it is not the cheapest and with these issues, they really need to discount it.

Also, we found that the dishes in the cupboard were not clean and had food on it. Not impressed with this, the kids would not use any glasses or plates after this and I ended up buying plastics from the supermarket.

The service and location was great. If the sorted out the heating in the room, then I would stay here again, otherwise not.

Room Tip: Do not choose the Executive family room, unless then have replaced the fan heater in the room. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbraeside, Owner at BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Tuspan,
many thanks for your review and my humblest apologies re your dishes, I have talked to my staff and reestablished that all dishes need to be checked for cleanliness.
Re the heating we are presently looking at a new heating system for this unit that will solve the noise problem and also heat the upstairs area.There should have been an additional fan heater in the wardrobe for the upstairs bedroom .
Thank you again for your comments, we like to get good and not so good comments so that we can continually improve our service to our customers and please let us know next time you stay while you are here so that we can try and fix any problems that may occur, so that it will make your stay more enjoyable. We also have 2 and a 3 bedroom apartments available. Thanks again kitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

After two weeks of touring both North and South Islands in May, we came to Rotorua. Little did we know what a wonderful three nights awaited us. We booked a room with a private outdoor hot tub with plenty of steaming hot water. We capped off each day with a soak. Not only was the room lovely, but the front desk staff were wonderful and helpful with "must see" suggestions, And did I mention, the rate was tremendous? It wasn't our least expensive night in New Zealand, but dollar for dollar it was the best deal by far. And our tired bodies thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbraeside, Owner at BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear happy Traveller,
I am so glad we met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you had a safe trip home. Kitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very nice & clean place to stay , we stayed 2 night in 2 bedrooms accommodation .. great location , opposite to Skyline Rotorua Luge .. very easy to drive to city , only 10 minutes away. The staffs here at front desk were friendly too, the laundry room was clean & easy to use (used 2-dollar coin to use with clothes washing machine & also with clothes dryer machine). Highly recommended !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbraeside, Owner at BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Gavin.many ythanks for staying with us and look forward to seeing you on your next visit,

Kitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Nothing was a problem with the staff. Very friendly service. Great facilities - private spa pool was a pleasure to soak in. Just across the road from the Skyline and many attractions close by. Will be abck again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbraeside, Owner at BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Vee 555,
many thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us, so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Kitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were greeted with friendliness and courtesy. Nothing was too much trouble. Facilities explained and information re nearby walks for us and our pooch Paddy were offered without even having to enquire. The facilities were clean and comfortable and the spa was a great place to unwind.

Room Tip: Rooms 19 and 20 have a stream running below the rooms so very relaxing and tranquil...if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbraeside, Owner at BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Peter,
thanks for your review and for staying with us. I hope Paddy enjoyed his stay as much as you did ? See you next time you are in Rotorua
Kitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My partner and two children stayed for a night in a family unit - it was absolutely stunning! We had our own private spa which was clean and tidy and modern. There was a bush walk with a fresh water stream running through, and mini golf - it was great to keep the kids occupied! The overall bonus were the friendly staff, especially Kitty at Reception! I phoned to enquire, made a booking straight away and when we arrived we didn't even have to get out of the car, she provided service at our car window :) Just awesome service! Definitely recommending and heading back there for another break away!

Room Tip: Room 19 - great family room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbraeside, Owner at BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Corshapia,
many thanks for staying with us and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you next time you are in Rotorua

Kitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort

Address: 4 Barnard Rd, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Braeside Hotel Rotorua
Best Western Rotorua
Rotorua Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.