We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John Chetty is the one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SilverOaks Resort Heritage to your Saves list
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland
1 review
“John Chetty is the one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

we arrived at 245pm and given options of upstairs or downstairs room. a value for money lodge and don't expect too much. tv was replaced immediately and extra heaters and blankets given to keep warm. will surely revisit. keep up the good work John

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback

Fantastic to hear our Manager looked after you, we do have central heating to all the rooms, but that recent cold snap was particularly cold and great to hear that John got some extra blankets and a heater to your room

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    47
    39
    35
    75
See reviews for
100
49
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ideal location on Fenton street in Rotorua, close to famous Maori village, Te Puia, city, shops and restaurants. The room was warm, spacious and a view of heated pool.

Upon arrival after long drive from Wellinton we were greeted warmly by John Chetty - General Manager with a smile, who made us feel to be at home and special. The hotel was busy and other guests were enjoying the lovely hot pool.However, we found John to be very friendly and helpful, asking if he or his team could help on dining and tours/sighseeing recommendation we were really amazed with the customer service offered and led by example under the management of John Chetty and the other staff were very attentive and helpful.

We had a great stay here and enjoyed the food and tours as well , we will be reccommending this hotel to our friends and families as it has good facilities - heated pool, golf, tennis court, bbq area for enjoyment as well.

THANK YOU - John and your team - for making it happen. We have taken an unforgetable experience back with us on our wedding anniversary and we will be back on our next one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Happy Wedding Anniversary

Thank you for your feedback on our Manager, John and his Team. He truly does go out of his way to look after all our guests, and we just love getting this feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Thank you John Chetty for your great hospitality and service. The complimentry breakfast added a great touch for the disaster of a stay we had at the Gwendoline last time. Your warm welcome, professional and enthusiastic attitude made our stay something to remember. Even my 7 year old asked if we could come back to stay at the SilverOaks Resort Heritage again and of course we will. This has been the best and most affordable stay that we have had in Rotorua. Apart from a few minor hicccups with house keeping I would recommend this place to anyone especially families that are looking for an affordable stay. Will be staying longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we highly appreciate your comments.

Great to hear that our Manager, John Chetty, looked after you and that you enjoyed the facilities, it is a great place for families and we look forward to you staying with us again

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Mr John Chetty - GM - was extremely obliging. Delivered what he promised. Good service alround. The hotel is well situated close to the city centre and all major attractions. Good level of amenities. Quiet and peaceful when we were there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We highly appreciate your feedback on our Manager, John Chetty, he certainly does provide great service and is very passionate about the Hotel and meeting guest expectations

Thank you

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We took 6 teenage boys to Rotorua to go Mountain biking. This motel was perfect as it had the heated pool, Spa in our room and BBQ for cooking dinner and breakfast on. We were able to afford two large rooms for the similar price of one small room at a 'flash hotel'. Having kitchen facilities was awesome as it enabled us to prepare our own lunches. Whilst the motel is not new, it is great value for money. This is our third stay here and we will be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We agree the Motel does offer great facilities with the heated pool, spa and outdoor facilities, and Rotorua is a fantastic place to go Mountain bike riding

We look forward to seeing you on your next stay,

Kind Regards
Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had a family trip to Rotorua over the weekend, SilverOaks Heritage offered very good service, and GM - John Chetty is very helpful and nice person. High recommand. Will come back this Place again next time.

Cheers

Zhimin(George) XUAN

Room Tip: Some of room with SPA will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you had great service

We look forward to seeing you again on your next stay

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlswood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My friends and I had left booking our accomodation a little late in the day, worried we would be stranded, we suddenly came across Silver Oaks Heritage Resort. Mr John Chetty who greated us on arrival was extremely helpful and very welcoming. John took great care of us, he allowed us to inspect the room prior to booking, ensuring our room was to our satisfaction! The room was perfect for 3 backpackers like ourselves, enough space, comfortable and suitable bathroom with a large hot tub! It was also lovely and warm which was great for the winter weather outside!
We would just like to share our experience as John was so helpful and offered information on tourist activities when needed. Thanks John - The three girls from the UK.

Room Tip: Prepare for the prominent sulphur smell due to location, not John's fault!! If your after some r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Thank you for the great comments about our Manager, he is very passionate about the Hotel and the attractions in Rotorua

Have a great holiday

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SilverOaks Resort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Address: 349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SilverOaks Resort Heritage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need to revive and rejuvenate? Then select the SilverOaks Resort Heritage as your accommodation choice in Rotorua. The Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua with just a short walk to Te Puia, home of the World Famous Pohutu Geyser, and just 1km to the city centre.The Resort is perfect for both business or pleasure. The Resort has 41 rooms, including studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, with a number offering a private spa pool or spa bath. The apartments offer a full kitchen lounge and dining area. Resort facilities include mini golf, tennis courts, heated swimming pool, spa complex, BBQ gazebo, breakfast room, guest lounge, conference rooms, internet cafe, wireless internet. The Resort in under new management and we are currently refurbishing the resort and adding additional services. We look forward to hosting our guests and welcome all feedback to assist us in providing a high quality product and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your SilverOaks Resort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Resort Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Quality Hotel Heritage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SilverOaks Resort Heritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.