We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but functional” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Save Saved
You added SilverOaks Resort Heritage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dated but functional”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We actually booked another hotel, but the agency overbooked it, so we were relocated to Silver oaks. First impressions...its in need of maintenance. Light fittings not working and hanging by wires at the room entrance. Hair dryer didn't work, toaster in the restaurant had to be switched off at the wall to get toast to pop. Beds old and saggy (not very comfortable).
Th staff were very helpful and positive, so for that I have given 3 out of 5.
no cooked buffet breakfast (odd, everywhere else offered this).
For the nightly rate I would have expected more.
My bill was wrong when I went to check out. Double dipped on the breakfast costs. This was corrected.
In order to stay again the place needs a lot of work.
Sorry team. Under impressed.
Recommendations:
Weekend cooked Buffet breakfast (The cereal selection was a let down).
Fix the many broken light fittings.
Maintain the mini golf. That is a good attractor for families.
Clean the pool. Heaps of stones and flotsam in it.
Offer sky TV. Why is there a current Sky-watch mag in the room, but only free-view available (simply bizarre)?
Ensure all appliances work. The hairdryer didn't.
Update the decor. The place is very tired.

This is my opinion based on what I saw and reported to the front desk during my stay.

Room Tip: Im told some top floor rooms have a spa bath. But seriously, the The Hot Rocks hostel will be bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hello Mike

Thank you for the feedback, and the positive comments about our staff.

Our staff are very positive, as we are in the middle of the refurbishment, with the North wing due to be completed late November.

There is SKY TV, to view all channels you need to move between ATV and DTV, on your TV remote.

The pool and mini golf are very popular with families and are well used and enjoyed

We will check the hair dryer in your room and get that replaced

We do hope to see you again, Kind Regards Heritage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    30
    31
    56
See reviews for
73
32
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

First the good stuff. The bed was comfy and the water pressure in the shower was great. Chainui tea and pleasant receptionist staff. Unfortunately this wasn't enough to balance out the not-so-good stuff. Everything was clean but the rooms are desperately in need of refurbishment. The wifi didn't work and it wasn't free.
I would hate visitors to NZ to stay here and think that this is what we think is acceptable accommodation. It isn't and even though the price was cheap (we got a grabone voucher) I'd have happily paid more for a better room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked through hotel.com. It looked great on the net, 10 years ago we were there with kids, it was great family motel. Sad to say the maintenance has been non existence. I was shocked at the state of rooms, pools, general environment. Only John the new manager saved the day and begged us to stay. The phone, spa, failed, kitchen utilises, dirty, bathroom dirty, linen was the pits.
Would not pay 150 or 100, 10 is all it's worth.

Room Tip: Inspect room, work the phone, tv,and. Inspect inspect inspect internet pictures are not reliable at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We do thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback, but we do feel your comments do not fairly reflect the property.

We are currently have 10 rooms closed down for refurbishment, and these will re opened just in time for Labour weekend. These rooms have been completely refurbished. The new interior is modern and is high lighted with splashes of orange.

We will be continuing with the refurbishment after labour weekend.

There is continual work going on at the property, the improvements already include new pool fence, upgrading of the pool to provide controlled heat to the pool, new BBQ. We have ordered feature lighting to go around the pool, BBQ area and mini golf, this is due to be installed this week, so look out for the new green feature lights.

We are also currently upgrading all the spa pools, we have completed half of the 18 pools, so we do still have 9 to go, but this work is under way. The new spa pools look fantastic and are very relaxing to soak in.

We are working very hard to upgrade the Resort, and we feel we are making great progress.

Again we do appreciate your feedback, but we do also hope that you appreciate the Hotel is under an upgrade program at the present.

We do have a room set up for guests to view the new look, and we encourage all guests to ask the Manager to have a look at the new interior of the refurbished rooms, you will be impressed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

stayed here for one night,room 7, wording said resort and heritage so we thought must be good, do not be fooled folks, i wouldn't pay $20 for the night, a backpackers would have been better, tape on floor holding carpet in place so we don't trip over as we entered, saw in distance a spa thought wow, just what i was hoping for, sadly it was filthy, and no water in it so i tried to fill it but no water came out of the tap, now power either, i would have rung thru to reception but hey guess what, no PHONE, tv reception bad bad bad, more tape on floor holding carpet . so checked out the bathroom a walk thru, heated towel rail a safety issue held on with packaging tape.on each side, so check the shower peach in colour i definately remember that being the in colour of the 80's outside of shower filthy, inside the shower, water pressure very good i am surprised next thing the waste lifts up from the floor, i wonder what i causing this so i lift it off and check OMG!!!! IT WAS JUST SO FILTHY THE WATER COULDN'T GET AWAY PROPERLY...Any good things, well the towels and sheets were clean.tho sheets felt old and tired. also had blankets , went to office was just a couple of mins past 10pm therefore door locked so i rang the after hours night bell, but sadly that also didn't work, gentleman at reception said it was his first day and he was lovely, and on first look it seemed tired, but you didn't really notice too much as we'd had a long drive, the beds looked clean and tidy, oh did i mention to watch the tv you had to move the chairs to beside the bed, then to use the service area for tea/coffee, you had to return chair to position in front of wardrobe. mmm spent more time moving this damn chair .. than sitting in it grrrr
ALSO no air conditioning and it was a hot day, only to find out they had a the oil heater on and on high.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay.

The Resort is currently under refurbishment, and we are certain you would have noted the contractors on site. We are currently reburhishing 50% of the North wing, and once this is complete we will refurbish the other half of the North wing.

Unfortunately you were accommodated in the non refurbished part of the North wing.

In response to a couple of the matters you raised.

The thermal heating can be turned on and off within the room, had you not wanted the heater on, you could have just switched this off.

The spa pool is a self filling spa pool, to get the water flowing you just need to pull the tap back, turning the tap does not allow for water flow, it is similar to a kitchen tap.

Whilst you stayed with us, we installed a new phone and message system, and switched to digital TV, so we did incur a few problems with the change over, but these problems have all been resolved, these changes were made as part of the upgrade, and the installation of new flat screen TV's to all the rooms

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Arrived here with my 3 kids. Was given apt 37. Filthy and disgusting kitchen and bathroom areas. Wires hanging from the sockets most of which did not actually work. Light bulbs did not work. TV did not work. The crockery was filthy and two cups had leftover tea in them. The steps leading to the property were dangerous with sharp metal plates hanging off them - very dangerous. The manager Greg Wilson is a complete moron who is very condescending and patronising and extremely unhelpful. After having to wait ages to check in I decided the place was too much of a health hazard to put kids into and left to stay somewhere else. They refused any kind of refund or compensation, in fact Greg said if I even tried to get any money from the on line booking company he would refuse it. I have pictures that will be submitted to the appropriate authorities though as they are shortly due to be taken over by another motel group I don't expect to hear much back. All I can advise is Do Not book whilst this man is at Reception. I was in a queue of people before and after me with complaints. They are falsely advertising their accommodation DO NOT believe these pictures are truly representative of what you will get. Only plus point was the other Receptionist a Fijian chap who did try to help as best he could but my impression is that he was working in the constraints of the Manager

Room Tip: Don't book any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Teresa

Both you and I know these comments made by you are far from the truth.

After you checked in to your room you returned to the reception and asked to be chaned to a room with a stove, as you advised you had prepared food and needed a stove to bake and cook your food. We advised that we did not have any rooms with a stove.

You then claimed that we were advertising stoves on the internet in the rooms, and referred to wording on the website which stated, "fully equipped kitchens", we advised that this does not mean the rooms have a stove, we advised that the rooms have a microwave, hotplates, frying pan pots etc, but no stove.

Even after we explained this you advised we needed to arrange a stove to your room, this was not possible.

Shortly you rang down to the reception and made to further complaints, there was non power to the bedroom, and there was a mark on the shelf.

After going to the room we found that 15 gadgets had been plugged into various sockets, and the power had tripped, we requested that you did not plug so many gadgets in the wall, and we switched the fuse back on, with the power going to the bedroom again.

As we pointed out the mark in the cupboard, was a burn mark, where a previous guest had put a hot pan on the cupboard bench.

Shortly you went to the reception to cancell your reservation, I advised that she had made a non refundable booking, that had been prepaid, and hence was not refundable.

As you are well aware the only real complaint you had was the fact we did not have a stove in the room, and you made it very clear to us that you had come prepared to cook and bake in the room.

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay, and that we could not assist you

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitaia, Northland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Rooms in sore need of renovating. We stayed here as part of a package deal we bought through Gitaway promotions. I would not stay here again. Rooms aren't cleaned properly, problem with ants all over kitchen and very uncomfortable furniture. We stayed two days so long enough for the ants to become annoying etc. The place looks so great from the outside and if it was renovated it could become a lovely place! As an overnighter it would probably be ok but you do get what you pay for. Some family members did enjoy the heated pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I need to share that this motel is definitely below standard on all levels.
The rooms and grounds were very unclean and needing lots of maintenance.
Disappointingly, in addition to this the advertised features like the spa were unavailable and the swimming pool was so grotty I would not enter it.
The tennis court was unusable too. The childs playground should been taken down it is a MAJOR safety hazard with rusty wires, broken boards and mold. Sheets on the bed had holes and towels were ripped. There was no advertised DVD, player or comfy chairs and sky tv was limited to one channel. I really just wanted to drive home when I saw the whole complex.
I shared this with the duty manger and he did change our room, however this room was just as bad - with broken furniture and again very unclean.
It was cheap and staff were friendly however I asked for a refund on arrival and was told I had to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hello

We are disappointed to receive this complaint.

As you are aware your reservation was for a studio room, which had a queen bed, which was in agreement with your reservation.

I checked you into the room, and was surprised to see there were actually three children as well.

When you returned to reception, I questioned how many people the room was for, and did provide you with a free upgrade to a one bedroom room.

Initially I was going to charge for the extra children, but as it was outside your budget, I provided the upgrade free of charge.

The pool is maintained perfectly blue, and I did advise you on check in that the new pool fence was about to be installed and work was going on around the pool area.

I have to disagree with you in relation to the grounds, we do sweep the grounds every day, and they are kept free from leaves and rubbish, there are a lot of trees around the property and they do continually drop their leaves.

It does always pay to let the Hotel exactly how many guests are staying, as we do allocate rooms accordingly, and if we are not advised that you are travelling with children we may not, as in this case allocate an appropriate room to accommodate everyone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SilverOaks Resort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Address: 349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SilverOaks Resort Heritage 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need to revive and rejuvenate? Then select the SilverOaks Resort Heritage as your accommodation choice in Rotorua. The Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua with just a short walk to Te Puia, home of the World Famous Pohutu Geyser, and just 1km to the city centre.The Resort is perfect for both business or pleasure. The Resort has 41 rooms, including studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, with a number offering a private spa pool or spa bath. The apartments offer a full kitchen lounge and dining area. Resort facilities include mini golf, tennis courts, heated swimming pool, spa complex, BBQ gazebo, breakfast room, guest lounge, conference rooms, internet cafe, wireless internet. The Resort in under new management and we are currently refurbishing the resort and adding additional services. We look forward to hosting our guests and welcome all feedback to assist us in providing a high quality product and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your SilverOaks Resort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Resort Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Quality Hotel Heritage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SilverOaks Resort Heritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.