We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SilverOaks Resort Heritage to your Saves list
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed booked for two nights in #29 one bedroom unit. When we arrived we thought it looked shabby, we moved in to the dark small room and I looked around and knew this was going to be bad. The window was open and wasn't shut so I went to reception and told them that the window wouldn't shut. They said that they would fix it. We get back 3-4 hours later nothing has been done. So we call reception and they move us into #31 but the bed had legs missing so they have to replace it. We also asked them to turn the heaters on, so they came in and said they were already turned on. We went out again and came back at 8:30 wanting to watch TV. We switch it on. Nothing. So we call reception. They come and look at it, they said they will replace it. 10 minutes later we are told that the sulphur rotted the cable so the area has no TV. We then realized the room was freezing. The heaters weren't on, not even touched. We then had went to bed. I was on the fold out bed. The mattress was way to thin and the springs were uncomfortable. Not to mention the fan buzzing and the heater rattling, we had a awful sleep. We then woke up and went to the dining hall for the "continetal breakfast" of weetbix, cornflakes or musesli. By then we had enough and booked out. We went across the road to the "Regal Palms" which was lovely. It had sky TV comfy beds and lovely staff. I highly recommend the Reagal Palms, the price is a bit dearer but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We do regret that a few things went wrong during your stay.

During your stay the aerial feeders in the roof did fail to work, the feeders have worked perfectly for the last 15 years, but with regret the sulphur had managed to damage the feeders and had to be replaced, and with regret it happened at 7pm, whilst we did manage to repair this and replace the feeder in the roof, it did take us until 9.30pm to achieve this, it is just one of those things you can not control, but at least it is only once every 15 years.

I do appreciate you were with your 8 and 10 year old grand children and obviously choose to let the young grand children sleep in the queen and single bed, whilst you slept on the fold out couch, I do appreciate that the fold out couch would not have been suitable to you, however most young children enjoy sleeping on them.

We do have one bedroom apartments with a queen and two single beds, which would have been more suitable to you, this configuration can be booked online, as can the one bedroom configuration with a queen, single and fold out couch, if you do book the wrong configuration just let us know and we will change rooms, subject to availability.

Thank you

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    34
    30
    62
See reviews for
89
42
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I thought this place was really good. My partner and I went on a spur of the moment trip out of Auckland and this place was perfect price wise. I see a lot of negative comments on the decor and really, you do get what you pay for. You can not expect to pay such low prices and still have 5 star rooms. For two nights this place was fantastic! The pool was lovely at 30degrees. We had an electric blanket and a HUGE radiator to keep us warm at night when the temperature dropped to 5degrees one night! The only thing I would have liked was if the kitchen-ette thing had a sink. I wasn't quite sure where to wash up our plates, so I didn't. The location is brilliant and close to everything. Can't comment on the spa because we didn't pay the extra for it and no comment on the breakfast because we never got up early enough for it. Haha. I would stay here again with no argument

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We thank you for your comments, they are very much appreciated, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We do have a great housekeeping team that do keep the rooms very clean

Whilst the rooms are in a good condition, we will be starting a refurbishment plan which we are aiming to get underway in two months time.

We look forward to you staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giborne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Good value for money if you are over 55. Found unit to be clean tidy and warm. A bit dated but comfortable and a good size. Manager had a good sence of humour. Central position would stay again at this value.

Room Tip: just say you are over 55
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and your recommendation of our Senior rate, I am pleased you found the wording of our promotion amusing

Look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Cheap for one night if you don't mind old run down,drafty wind noise coming through windows & door.
Good location for Wakarewarewa Maori Park - but units need help badly. Mineral spa bath had big ring of grime around it. Did have big radiator heater so wasn't cold.

Room Tip: Look at it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at this place. I didn't use the pool so can't comment on that but it was disappointing that the spa pools were closed. The room was clean and functional and I thought it was good value for the price. I would have left this place happy but for two things.
1) At check out there was nothing more than a transaction to pay for the room. No asking "how was your stay?", "Did you enjoy your time in Rotorua, etc?" Just simple customer service that was missing.
2) I realised 4 days later that I had left an two expensive jackets in the wardrobe (one down jacket, one heavy wool, a total over $600). I called and found that they had been placed in their lost property, but I was frustrated that they hadn't called when they had all my contact details (I could have picked them up that day). When I went to pick it up several weeks later I asked what the policy was and they said they are required by law to hold items for three months. Now I don't expect that every little item left behind deserves a follow up phone call, but when items are clearly expensive I expect a customer focussed business to give me a call. If they had, I'd be using them again as they didn't they've lost my business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I am most disappointed to receive these comments.

We had felt we had provided great customer service, we certainly did our best to accommodate you, we re call you had your mountain bike with you and we stored that for you everyday and we chatted about your ride each day.

We were certainly aware of the two coats, on the day you checked out, you rang the hotel to see if you had left the jackets and advised us they were in the twin bedroom, as you were staying in a two bedroom. The Manager went to the room and found the jackets and called you back to let you know they were here, the Manager asked if you would like to arrange to have them returned to you by courier, but you advised you would be back in Rotorua in a few days time and would pick them up, which is what happened.

We are not sure what else you would like us to have carried out.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Booked 3 nights at this hotel with an online broker. Exceptionally disappointed. Room did not match description. No TV in bedroom. Spa pool broken. Tired interior, chipped furniture and holes in walls. Over a month after our stay the hotel charged us again as the online company we had booked with had gone into administration. The hotel made no attempt to contact us before taking money from our bank account. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. WORST HOTEL WE HAVE EVER STAYED IN.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We do understand that you were very happy with your stay, which was three months ago, but are now not happy because we have charged you directly for your room.

As you are aware you made a reservation through check-in.com.au and you fully paid them for your reservation, when you checked into the Hotel you signed our registration form that simply states you are required to pay for your accommodation, and that if the party you paid does not pay us then we can charge you direct.

In this situation check-in.com did not pay, and we charged your credit card direct. We did contact you direct and we did provide the instructions as how to make a claim against check-in.com.

We also explained this to you over the phone, we did make every effort to ensure you did know what was happenning.

We regret this situation, but it was out of our control, you may also beable to claim on your travel insurance.

We are well aware that you did not have any issue with the accommodation and did enjoy your stay, what has tranished your stay if that the booking agent you used, with regret, was not able to pay for your accommodation, and I appreciate you now have to make a claim against check-in.com, which I do appreciate is not something you want to do.

Once again I am very sorry this occurred, and I am sorry if you feel we did not explain this to you fully, I do hope you appreciate it the matter was out of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

room #24 was very outdated and felt grotty, had to shut the window from the outside didnt even have a latch to lock it! toilet leaked, spa was out of order, pool tepid and mini golf was pretty much unusable as the turf was lifting these were one of the features that made our booking decision, glad it was only one night and the continental breakfast was complimentary

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We do appreciate your feedback, we were not aware there was a slight leak at the back of the toilet and this has now been repaired.

The pool is heated from a thermal bore, and the temperature does vary from morning to night, but the pool is kept at a very warm temperature such that guests are still swimming at 10 at night.

The mini golf is swept everyday, as at this time of year the leaves are still falling, but do do endeavour to keep the mini golf clear of leaves at all times.

We are continually upgrading the rooms, and we do hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SilverOaks Resort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Address: 349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SilverOaks Resort Heritage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need to revive and rejuvenate? Then select the SilverOaks Resort Heritage as your accommodation choice in Rotorua. The Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua with just a short walk to Te Puia, home of the World Famous Pohutu Geyser, and just 1km to the city centre.The Resort is perfect for both business or pleasure. The Resort has 41 rooms, including studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, with a number offering a private spa pool or spa bath. The apartments offer a full kitchen lounge and dining area. Resort facilities include mini golf, tennis courts, heated swimming pool, spa complex, BBQ gazebo, breakfast room, guest lounge, conference rooms, internet cafe, wireless internet. The Resort in under new management and we are currently refurbishing the resort and adding additional services. We look forward to hosting our guests and welcome all feedback to assist us in providing a high quality product and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SilverOaks Resort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Resort Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Quality Hotel Heritage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SilverOaks Resort Heritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.