We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs plenty of TLC and more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SilverOaks Resort Heritage to your Saves list
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
Barry
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Needs plenty of TLC and more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The location is ideal for Rotorua. The facilities could be ideal with a lot of renovation. Some work has been undertaken and our unit was in reasonable condition and spacious. However, some of the facilities in the unit needed to be replaces because the wear and tear was obvious. The swimming pool was fine, but it needed some repairs around the outside rim of the pool and there was no railing to help people with a walk problem to enter the pool. The children's play area needed a complete renewal. Although, the hotel info book told us that there was a restaurant and bar plus a spar on site, no there is not they were closed. I AM SURPRISED IT IS PART OF THE GOLDEN CHAIN hotels. No wonder the prices were deeply discounted as their rack rate is laughable considering the condition of the resort. Do the place up Silver Oaks and you will be able to compete with your neighbours

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer your valuable feedback.

We are pleased that you recognised that we are in the process of making improvements to the property.

We appreciate your comments.

We do hope you look out for our announcements of completed refurbishment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    34
    30
    62
See reviews for
89
42
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed there numerous times but not in the last 3 yrs! Outside looked ok! Then went entering the room smelt old. Wot was nice! Nothing, the pool was dirty and cold and in major need of a paint! Pool area looked unloved broken trellis broken pool tiles and pool furiture broken and not even placed nicely! Our rooms cobwebs everywhere, cigarette butts still in ashtray, weeds and mould and broken framing in spa pool area. Pull out beds that looked like hadn't been changed in yrs and smelt even the blanket had a square cutout hole, curtains fell off track, wine glasses really dirty, holes in wall that had just been tapped and repainted, tiles broken, vanity dirty and the put out couch had two major stains my kids wouldn't sit on them, the carpet looked even dirtier and had heaps of stains! I could keep on going! Didn't say anything as just wanted too get out if there! Conference centre and bar didn't even looked like it was opened again and had missing letters! Tennis court looked like no one had used in yrs!!! Totally disappointed for what we paid!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
The Hotel is very much loved.

I am surprised you felt the pool was not clean as we have maintained it to a sparkling blue, it has been extremely well used recently and we currently have the pool cleaned twice a week.

I do appreciate the pool furniture seems to unevenly placed, I do personally move the furniture back every morning, but guests do move it to suit their own needs.

The tennis courts are also well used, I do appreciate there are leaves on the court, but these are regularly swept up.

We do appreciate the pool fence needs to be updated and we are currently getting quotes to have this carried out, we will be making an announcement in the next few weeks to let guests know when it is completed.

We are currently moving to replace the pull out couches with divan beds.

As the walls are painted, we do of course touch up any repairs or damage to walls. We can not prevent damage to walls and as you can see we have repaired damage to a wall and repainted the wall.

We appreciate the housekeeping issues you ahve raised and we will be addressing those issues with our housekeeping department.

Once again thank you for your comments and feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was the firs motel we stayed in at the start of our road trip and so far the worst! Upon first inspection it looked OK and we thought it would be comfortable enough for a night. However we later discovered that the floor, including the carpet was sticky, the glasses etc had a funny smell to them and worst of all the bed, pillows and linen smelt as though they had not been aired in years. The young lady on reception was rather aloof. When we asked if we could only stay one night she asked if it was because she had opened the door to our room by mistake as she thought the unit was vacant - we pitied the people that she disturbed! The phone in the room did not work, when we checked out we had to pay cash as the machine did not work. All in all not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
We do appreciate your feedback

We do apologise for our eftpos machine not working, whilst we were processing manual forms, some customers did prefer to settle the account in cash.

The machine is now operating perfectly.

We do use a lemon air freshner in the rooms, and the hired linen also has a lemon smell, so we are not quite certain as to what you are referring to.

We will certainly raise your comments with our housekeeping department to see what improvements we can make.

We do wish you a pleasant stay for the remainder of your trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I arranged this hotel for my daughters when they were visiting Rotorua for 3 nights. The room is of fair size, beds and amenities were fine. Pool is great with hot water spa. The decor is a bit old, might come through during the refurbishment. Free breakfast is alright @NZ standards. Very convenient with good car parking space. All staff at Front desk and Room service/maintenance were very courteous and helpful.

Unfortunately they had to return early due to an accident involving a member of our family and the Reception staff advised them to call Hotel Club and a refund was arranged immediately, which is much appreciated.

Room Tip: Request for rooms with views; they are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated

We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeppoon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Totally unacceptable standards. We sourced the hotel on the internet and decided to book because of all the facilities it offered. Upon arrival, I enquired as to when the 2 rooms booked would be ready and heard a rude mumble in the background that wont be ready until after 12.00 which was fine for me to come back, I just wanted a time frame! Went back to check in with the pleasant woman on reception and then we proceeded to our room. Found both of the rooms to be very shabby. Miss match furniture, light bulbs not working, doors and windows that did not shut properly, broken light fitting on the shelf in the bedroom in place of the missing tv, stained carpets, general smell of mould, curtains that fell off the end of the rails when using them, shower that either ran scalding hot or freezing cold.
I opened a kitchen cupboard that had already been broken off its hinges and had just been put back which fell out and landed straight on my toe causing severe pain and bruising. Upon checking out I explained this to the receptionist who went and got the manager. Everything that I brought up was just dismissed with a feeble explanation and when I mentioned the cupboard door and showed him my bruised and blackened toe I received no apology. I felt that he was too busy trying to defend his run down hotel.
We were charged a premium rate for this experience. The general public areas were also poorly kept, the swimming pool looked dirty with the trellising around it in need of repair, the tennis court looked like it had long since been abandoned with the surface in dire need of repair, huge piece of it ripped up and massive holes in the net and fence. The so called gym was just an old treadmill and outdated excercise machine. The spa facility was closed until further notice, just a sign on reception advised of this.
Would not go back to this hotel, ever!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I do wish to express my appreciation for your feedback.

As you explained to me at the Reception desk this is a very difficult time for you due to a family crisis that occurred on your holiday, and I appreciate it is a very stressful time for you, and I appreciate the impact this has had on your holiday.

We are always ready to listen to guest feedback, I appreciate you felt I did not respond to you at the time about your concerns on check out, but I was aware that you were very upset over your family crisis and did not feel it was appropriate to discuss other than listen.

We wish you all the best, and thank you for your feedback, and we are addressing the concerns that you have raised
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked this motel because it was the only one offering a room for 4 adults (an extended family group) on short notice in a holiday period. We were delighted to be able to book what appeared to be a 4 star motel (generally ranked 3.5) and decided to pay the price of $230/night they were charging.
On almost every level we found this place poor or worse. We were double booked and were not told. Instead we were sent to a suite with one bedroom and a fold out bed in the living area, After we insisted on what we had booked they decided to move another booking to give us the room we ordered. Luckily for us that booking arrived 10 minutes after us, not 10 minutes before.
The rooms were old and tired. Neither well built or maintained. Cracked paint, mirrors with silvering fading, corroding fittings, dirty plugs, overpainted wallpaper, hooks with missing prints, patched carpet, chipped cupboard fronts. And on top of that the fridge failed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Whilst we do appreciate your feedback, we do feel your comments to not reflect the actual events.

The agent the guest booked through made a reservation for a one bedroom apartment, but had provided the guest with documentation for a two bedroom apartment, eventhough we had not provided the agent a two bedroom apartment at the time the booking was made.

To accommodate the guest we checked our arrivals, and we were able to change our arrivals, and we changed our arrivals to accommodate the guest.

In relation to the fridge, the guest did come to reception to advise the fridge did not work, we did send our maintenance immediately to the room, where it was found the guest had switched the fridge off, we simply turned the fridge back on for the guest


We do hope the guest does enjoy their stay in Rotorua, and we do thank them for their feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed three nights on holiday and this hotel did its job. It's in need of some updates but I guess that's what makes the price lower. It's very close to the Maori thermal village and a quick drive into Rotorua CBD. Lots of nearby restaurants and groceries for self-cater. We did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel as the menu didn't seem great.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SilverOaks Resort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Address: 349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SilverOaks Resort Heritage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need to revive and rejuvenate? Then select the SilverOaks Resort Heritage as your accommodation choice in Rotorua. The Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua with just a short walk to Te Puia, home of the World Famous Pohutu Geyser, and just 1km to the city centre.The Resort is perfect for both business or pleasure. The Resort has 41 rooms, including studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, with a number offering a private spa pool or spa bath. The apartments offer a full kitchen lounge and dining area. Resort facilities include mini golf, tennis courts, heated swimming pool, spa complex, BBQ gazebo, breakfast room, guest lounge, conference rooms, internet cafe, wireless internet. The Resort in under new management and we are currently refurbishing the resort and adding additional services. We look forward to hosting our guests and welcome all feedback to assist us in providing a high quality product and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SilverOaks Resort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Resort Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Quality Hotel Heritage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SilverOaks Resort Heritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.