We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont judge a book by its cover....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Rotorua to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dont judge a book by its cover....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

...because this cover is hiding the truth....

The reception and restaurant areas are immaculate and modern looking, but soon as you step through the doors to the main hotel, thats where it ends - youve entered a doorway into the 80's.

It is very dated, the standard room we booked had holes and stains in the carpet, mismatched lighting (some yellow bulbs, some white). The bathroom has been modernised a little with a new looking toilet and hand basin but the shower/bath were obviously from the original installation - the showerhead sprayed water every which way, and the tap for the bath had a large gap between it and the wall, crudely sealed with "no more gaps".

The balcony felt like it was an afterthought and the planks had no support under them, so I wouldnt want more than 2 people on it at a time. The sliding door to the balcony was extremely noisy to open (we could hear other people opening theirs all the time as well).

When we entered the room it felt like a sauna, the heating was turned all the way up and being an ancient system, we had no control over it and had to request it to be turned off. The ceiling fan only assisted a little in trying to cool the room during our stay.

But everything worked, and the beds comfortable.

Things to watch for in the standard rooms is that there is no internet (not that I could find) and the door is easily opened by children unless you remember to put the chain on.

Internet access is a joke, none in our room, and if you wanted to use the "free" wifi, it was only available in the reception area and only gave you 20mins or 20mb (whichever came first) in a single session each day - so you couldnt use 10mins, then come back later that day. If you wanted more, you paid by handing over your first born - in this day of free wifi at the local cafe, a large hotel should be able to offer something better.

The outdoor heated pool was pleasant, the spas however were dated as well and needed some tidying up.

In our booking costs, we had buffet breakfasts included - these were absolutely amazing, and were a huge saving grace for the hotel.

The staff were extremely friendly and prompt to action anything we requested (including rescuing my family from the lift that broke down), so cannot fault their customer service.

If Millenium spent some money on the standard rooms, and kept the pricing the same, I think theyd find themselves booked a lot more....

Will we be back ? 50/50....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you kindly for your review. Any form of feedback is a tool for our company to enhance on and to identify areas that do concern our guests. I was pleased to hear our customer service exceeded your needs it is always welcomed by our guests. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    54
    67
    33
    26
See reviews for
57
71
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This property desperately needs exterior and interior refurbishment. Housekeeping staff do a fabulous job with what they have to work with. Evening restaurant staff lacking confidence but very friendly and accommodating - meals and drinks adequate. Morning breakfast crew excellent. Best breakfast buffet in hotel restaurant for quite some time - thanked chef. Great office centre - used email facility and took advantage of printing service. Housekeeping supervisor extremely grateful for our feedback.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your constructive review. We do realise our property is aged and we are in the near future planning a mini refurbishment to freshen our standard rooms. I was pleased to hear our customer service exceeded your needs as this is a service we pride ourselves on. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Currently under renovations. What they claim is a 3.5 star accommodation is absurdly false. The room they reserved for us reminded us of a room out of the Friday the 13th movie. Had to pay extra to get that 3.5 star room we were expecting. Kingsgate/millenium and Pan Pacific tours should take this out of their rotation until renovations are completely done OR just rent out their renovated portion. Only saving grace for this hotel is their friendly staff - kudos to Angela and Jamie who went out of their way to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and comment on your stay. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve our service and facilities. I was pleased to hear our staff members offered the customer service we strive towards and that they made your stay more manageable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed one night and it was terrible. Beds have lost their spring, shower was horrible, tv reception was fuzzing, furniture and fittings are old, exterior of building is so run down that I thought I was staying at a run down pub. I paid $110 per night and the standard is below average. Motels across the road would have provided better hospitality. NOT RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are in the not so distant future planning a mini refurbishment of our standard rooms. Your comments are appreciated and a positive tool for us to improve on. I offer my apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Should you wish to stay again please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We did enjoy our stay but the staff didn't seem to have all the details right. We were suppose to get complimentry drinks and chocolates on arrival. We were given vouchers for the drinks and it looked like one of the staff shot down to the local shop and brought a pack of Whitkers Peanut Slabs and brought this to our room. If you wanted fresh milk as per the conpemdium you had to ask for it. When we did we were given a bit of a run around and it finally arrived. Over all it was a resonable stay but all that is needed is for the staff to bejust a fraction more frindly and pay attention to the little details and this would be a great place to stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The areas that did not quite meet your standards have been addressed with department heads. Your comments are a tool we can build on which are invaluable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We only stayed a few nights here on route from Auckland to Wellington. We made a slight detour as we wanted to experience the tourist part of our holiday in New Zealand as the rest of the time would be spent visiting relations. The staff in the hotel were very friendly, extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. The hotel is fairly central and is located on one of the main town roads although it is very quiet and peaceful. It is only a short walk away from the many restaurants and shops in Rotorua. A multitude of tourist attractions are nearby.and easily accessible. Tours to certain attractions can be booked and the transport will pick you up from the hotel - very convenient. Whilst speaking to relatives' friends later, this is definitely the hotel that the locals prefer to stay in whilst visiting Rotorua and you can't get a better recommendation that that.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your generous feedback. Always pleased to hear we have exceeded our service standards. Your comments have been passed onto departments as a service well delivered. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were just there for the one night, booked online easy peasy! Got a special of $95.00 for a superior room.
All the staff we encountered were just lovely and so helpful especially the little lady on reception who's name begins with A, she was so lovely and a great asset to the hotel! (sorry can't remember her name).
To be honest if I had paid full price for the room I would have been disappointed, it was clean and modern but just a few maintenance things let it down. The wooden doors into the room and the bathroom were very old and chipped and looked terrible, the shower nozzle couldn't be adjusted so it was like a hose was on not a spray like normal showers. You had to fill the jug from the bathroom basin which normally wouldn't be a problem for us but this one was quite hard to fit under the tap and fill. Other than those three things it was just fine. Also the restaurant was great... yum! and the service once again was fantastic!

The bed was so comfortable and we had the best nights sleep!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of a mini upfgrade and the areas you mentioned are some of the preventative maintenance that will be addressed. I am pleased to hear we offered and delivered great customer service, this is an area we pride ourselves on. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.