We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent price and quiet nights sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua to your Saves list
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 884, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Decent price and quiet nights sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I enjoyed three nights of very restful sleep in the 600 block. This hotel has a lot of buses going through it and one block seemed full of people of the same bus talking very loudly in the corridors to each other, which was rude.

The food at breakfast was great, very fluffy scrambled eggs. The evening meal was tasty, but the sole staff member one seemed indifferent to serving and spent most of his time interacting with staff who were off the clock. The reception staff are very friendly.

You can book private spa pools for free, in thirty minute blocks. They are fun, and relaxing. However you can hear people in the other spa pools ( in my case it was squealing children).

Recommended stay, convenient to state highway, supermarket, and lake walks.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms in the 600 block are away from the state highway and so quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest
We are pleased that your enjoyed our rooms, breakfast as well as the value for money on offer. I do apologise if our team member in the restaurant at dinner time did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    290
    222
    90
    39
See reviews for
187
287
42
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Staff were lovely and welcoming, room was tiny for four people, toilet was broked, bathroom handle was broken and trying to sleep was a nightmare as the walls are paper thin. The pool was also very dirty and when I looked at the maintence sheet for it on the wall it hadn't even been filled in for two of its time slots which means it probably wasn't even done.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was our second stay at Sudima. Showers have good pressure, the location is great for the Poly spa, a wander around the lake or a walk to town. We enjoy access to the spas/pool. Breakfast was great (best buffet scrambled eggs I've had) with a wide selection of tasty options (hashbrowns also awesome!), though there is only white/grain sliced breads if that's a thing for you (i.e. no sour doughs or fancy stuff). Beds are soft. Our room wasn't quite as nice as last time and had a slightly damp smell from the bathroom (not sure if the extractor fan was working) but it wasn't bad and we only noticed when we entered. Hotel has Sky which is good too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us again and for your observations in regards to breakfast. We are always looking into ways of improving what we offer in this area and will most certainly consider your comments. Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
te anau
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed one night here and it may have been they because we had a voucher we got a cheaper room that looked like it needed updating. I must admit the bed was comfortable and the views from the window were great. Paint peeling in the bathroom wasn't good look but maybe this will be getting updated as we could see other room had been. The swimming pool and spa pools were fabulous to use and a great part of the complex. Staff were very accommodating and even the staff in the hallways spoke well to us.

Room Tip: They must have different room for different prices and ours was lower priced I would guess. We stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest
I do apologise that you were allocated in one of our older rooms on this occasion. You will be pleased to know that we are in the process of refurbishing more of our guest rooms in order to provide comfort and value to all of our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Friendly and accommodating. Great value and a must for our children due to the warm pool and amazing choice at breakfast. It is handy to supermarkets and food outlets. Shopping mall also a few minutes walk.



  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest
I am pleased that we were able to provide an enjoyable stay for you and your family. Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here two nights in june 2014.
Hotel is in a good location, close to the highway, at walking distance to city center and, obviously, the lake.
Room 406, in a building apart from the main one with the reception and restaurant.
Parking space very close to the building entrance.
Room was spacious, two queen beds, nicely furnished, with plenty of space to lodge our luggage (two large suitcases and two cabin size trolleys), clean.
We had dinner here the first night. Good quality food, we had Curry of the day and Chicken breast wrapped in Manuka smoked bacon. Both tasty and well cooked.
Breakfast (we chose to have continental buffet) is fine with good variety. Food quality is on the average.
A good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our location as well as the services on offer. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

A very big THANK YOU to the Sudima Hotel. To Samantha and her team for exceptional service for Joshuas 21st birthday. For making his day a memorable one. Simple, tasteful and professional quality service. We has a wonderful time. Well Done!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for entrusting us to host such a special event and for the review which you have shared. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 884, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TravelClick, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.