We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but BAD room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua to your Saves list
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 884, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Millbrae, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice staff but BAD room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After my experience with Sudima Auckland Airport, I lost all my expectation for "four stars hotel". I did have high hope since this hotel locates near the city center and the beautiful lake was an added bonus. Again, bed was uncomfortable. The bathroom was even smaller. Pictures only showed the front lake view but there weren't anything else in the back. If you got one of those rooms, you're stuck with the lot and sulfuric smell. Wifi was slow and weak. Price wise, it was alright. Glad it was only a one-night stay. I couldn't sleep at all on those beds. Lastly, avoid the elevator .. really creepy and dangerous .. desperate need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the room was not to your liking on this occasion but pleased that you enjoyed our team. You need not worry about the elevator, it may not be the most modern unit but it is thoroughly maintained in accordance to the legal requirements for buildings in this country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    290
    223
    90
    39
See reviews for
187
288
42
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed overnight here last week and found the staff to be agreeable and efficient. Very nice room with a lovely comfy bed. Access to complimentary spa pool available - would certainly stay here again. Had a lovely buffet breakfast which set me up for the day

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulls, null, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed in September as part of a conference group. The room was comfortable and very clean, the young guys that are ALWAYS around to help with your bags were very enthusiastic and friendly. The Sudima is in a handy, picturesque location and I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and the comments it contained, in particular about our team here. We are pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Quite surprising not expensive clean and nice and central to town. Overall a nice hotel and we will stay here again. Next time we will try the cultural show as well. Never got to the spa again maybe next time. Staff seemed very friendly and smiled and always said hello. What more do you need.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do appreciate your wonderful comments about our team and have shared it with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Valley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We looked at some of the other hotels offering spas but found them very downmarket and rough. Decided on the Sudima as it is right on the bay and next to the Polynesian Spa which is a must visit place. The price difference was minimal so why not stay somewhere nice eh?
We had a two bedroom room so the kids were not in our room for a change. They had their own TV and bathroom, great. The restaurant was first rate, the service perfect. everyone was very friendly and we would stay there again tomorrow. Didn't get a chance to swim in the pool as we were at the hot baths across the road, they are fantastic too. Very happy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest
We are pleased that you liked the family room and that the kids also enjoyed the stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

One night here recently and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel used to be separate motels so the buildings are all in blocks but some do have a view of Lake Rotorua. The rooms very nice and the beds comfortable. There is a swimming pool and they have private spas that are free to use. The breakfast buffet was very nice and filling in the morning. The staff were helpful and friendly. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Some rooms do have a lake view so enquire when you book :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel has seen better days but looks like owner has saved money on maintenance. It is a bit tired. Toilet didn't work. Wifi didn't work. We were charged more than the price listed on Trip Advisor. We were offered a $62 deal for dinner/ maori cultural group. Didn't go but later heard from the corridor the group singing a Village People song!? You've got to be kidding if this is presented as "cultural". Overall, quite poor.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We apologise for the fact that you did not find our building to your liking and regret that you failed to notice the modern look of the restaurant, lobby, guest room passages and many other areas. It is a pity that you decided not to attend our cultural show, as it may have explained the context and meaning of a "mainstream" song in the evening's proceedings. It is an excellent night and we are sorry that you missed it! Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 884, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TravelClick, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.