We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location, great customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua to your Saves list
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 884, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Handy location, great customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and is handy for the walk around the lake. My room was spacious and well fitted out and recently upgraded I think as the appliances/ fittings were new. Certainly everything needed for a comfy stay. There was quite a bit f noise early in the morning as the tour buses loaded luggage and got ready to depart. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Food was good and service very prompt. In fact, the customer service from every single member of staff at the hotel was exemplary.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    290
    222
    90
    39
See reviews for
187
287
42
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

All 37 guests who attended the birthday lunch had glowing comments to make about the excellent quality of the service provided by management, restaurant staff, lounge staff and others. The room that was provided for overnight stay provided a very good view of the lake and the provision of a bottle of bubbly on ice (free of charge) was a great finale to a wonderful occasion and we convey our utmost appreciations and commendations to the Sudima Hotel. Thank you and aroha nui

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The room was cheap, we booked a special of a coupon, the decor was good and modern but the room was very small, especially the bathroom, it just wasnt adequate......................................................................................................................

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was fine for a short stay while on our way south. The staff were friendly. The dining room was fine. The room was clean. It is not their fault that the smell of sulphur permeates everything. Saying that they have a "spa" might be stretching the meaning of the word a little too far.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had very good room just what we need it. Breakfast very nice and staff was very helpful.
Walking distance to city and restaurants.
I can honestly recommend this hotel with out any hesitation.
I will go there next year again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a lake view, but you have to book it before you go, its not always available.We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I spent most of my time by myself while my husband was at a conference. The room was great for what we wanted, though I would have liked a chair to sit on. However I realise that would make it crowded. I found the shower/ bath too high to get into and next time would ask if there was a room with just a shower available. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful, the meals were good. the breakfast was a great start to the day but the night buffet was a bit uninspiring. ( The meat and pasta dishes were good but please get some decent fish!!) It was certainly value for money and it was good to see all the families staying. In spite of my minor quibbles I would certainly like to come again,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel. We had family visiting from overseas and took a weekend trip to Rotorua.
The hotel was easy to find and conveniently located in the centre of town and right on the lake.
We went to the concert and hangi at the hotel. The performance was excellent, and the two men in our group were called onto the stage for the haka.
Breakfast was an excellent buffet, and our table had wonderful views of the lake.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 884, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.