We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland to your Saves list
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unimpressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Got this hotel booked via a package with ANZcro
I can understand someone getting frustrated with it. I stayed for 3 nights including Xmas and there's really nothing to look forward, except the good location (just beside Te Pua) and the good views.
Restaurant was average and service too. No problem with my room although reception did wake me up at 9AM
Looks like they want to have people at breakfast to make an extra money from it.

It is not as bad as it seem and I would stay there again if it was the cheapest 3 star I could find in Rotorua

  • Liked — Reception is efficient and friendly
  • Disliked — Old and unimpressive premises
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    64
    51
    43
    73
See reviews for
61
103
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

This was the worst hotel we stayed at during our holiday to New Zealand. We booked the hotel using our credit card loyalty points and unfortunately didn't check Trip Advisor first. I should have known better! The rooms are old and shabby and the only thing going for this place is the view. It does have a fantastic view of the geyser, but that's it! The carpet in our room was torn, the exhuast fan in the bathroom was very noisy and the light outside the bathroom was out. The room just didn't seem clean. Also, it seemed we weren't to have a sleep in at this place. The first morning we were woken by a phone call from the restaurant at 9am asking if we were coming for breakfast as they would be closing in the next half hour. I could understand if the restaurant was the only place in town that you could get food, but there are plenty of places in Rotorua to eat and breakfast wasn't even included in our stay. We didn't appreciate being woken as we have a 9 month old baby and we take whatever sleep we can get. The next morning we were woken by the fire alarm at 7.15. The fire brigade did arrive but didn't seem too concerned.
There is a wide selection of accommodation in Rotorua, I think if we went back we'd stay at the Regal Palms.

  • Liked — The view!
  • Disliked — Everything else!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

We had a big function last weekend to attend and needed to do some shopping next day so decided to stay in Rotorua (we live quite close by). We went to a last minute deal website and got a great deal for this hotel including a hot cooked breakfast for two.
We read some mediocre reviews on here so weren't expecting much but it was great!
We had a large room with a clear view of the geyser. The room was very clean and quiet. It had the usual amenities, although the bathroom layout was rather strange.Lots of luggage rack storage. The breakfast in the morning was ok- not outstanding but certainly not the worst we've had.
Overall we'd stay here again but as we live close to Rotorua, it was probably a oncer.

  • Liked — Large clean room with nice view
  • Disliked — bathroom layout- strange design
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

Booked a room for three adults (husband, 17 year old son and I). Was initially given a room with a wonderful view, air con, one bed and a non-sleeper love seat. We don't mind togetherness (love camping) but there was not a single sleeping surface that would accommodate full size son.

Moved to a room with view of pool. The new room explains why some love the hotel and others hate it. Over looked pool in old area. No air con, very small room but did have two beds (yeah). Shower (no tub like last room, small hairs on wall) that started backing up as soon as I turned it on. Since I have waist length hair I exited the shower and called maintenance. Was finally able to wash hair but had to turn water off at times to avoid overflowing the shower pan.

The hotel itself has a general dirty, unkempt look.

Nice staff was about the only plus.

  • Liked — Staff nice
  • Disliked — the room itself
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

The hotel is a little bit out of town, so you'll need transport. Ask for a Geyser view room if you don't mind listening to bubbling mud pools while trying to fall asleep. You won't be able to avoid a little bit of traffic noise, as the hotel is right on the main road. We found the hotel an absolute bargain at NZD99 including continental breakfast. It might be in need of a brush-up, but the view from our room (the weather was perfect) made up for any shortcomings of which there weren't any worth mentioning. Our room was large and clean, and so was the bathroom which had an extra deep tub. Bring your own bubbles! There were tea and cofffee making facilities and a fridge with mini bar. The hotel offered internet access, but this was a bit pricey. I can recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn' t require luxury accommodation.

  • Liked — the views from our room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed in 21 different accommodations in NZ, and this was the dirtiest & shabbiest of the lot. Our reservation showed check-in at noon. We arrived 12;30 and were told to come back after 4:00 because the room wasn't clean. A little after 4, to get ready for a Hangi at 5. Getting off the abused elevator, everything about the exterior entrances was dirty & shabby. Inside the room, the carpet was filthy & completely worn; spider webs in the corner. All the furniture is decades old, badly nicked, scuffed and water spotted. But the worst was the bathroom. Long hairs all over the tub, walls & floor. It was obvious it had not been cleaned. I immediately called housekeeping & a woman came up shortly. She looked at the bathroom & mumbled this room wasn't her responsibility but went to get a spray gun & towel. When she was done, she also brought in a beach towel and instant coffee packets as there weren't any. Obviously someone had made the beds [ the sheets looked clean] & replaced the towels but nothing more. After she left, there was still hair on the floor. I scalded the glasses & cups before using, and laid a towel over the floor as it still had hair and water spots. I wouldn't eat in a place that is so poorly kept. I don't want to imagine what the kitchen might look like! No one asked if we had a good stay at checkout. I suspect this has happened many times before. The only positive point is the view. Our room had a spectacular view of the thermal park with geysers and mud pool spread out in front of us. We had to go outside to see it because the windows are coated in ...sulfur? The smell of sulfur inside the room is very strong even with the doors closed. It was rainy & cool when we were there but it would be terrible in the heat!! I don't recommend this hotel. Pay the entrance fee to the thermal park and stay at a one of the many decent hotels.

  • Liked — The view is the only thing I liked
  • Disliked — Shabby & dirty
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

Hotel overlooks the "Lving Thermal Village" a local tourist attraction and is a 20 minute walk out of the town centre. Rooms are adequate with small bathrooms. Clean, friendly helpful staff with a pleasant brakfast room offering both hot and cold food.
Ideal for short stop-over.
Good evening out to experience the Maori culture was the "Mitai Maori Village". picked up at hotel and had pre booked this on internet.

  • Liked — close to attractions for short stopover.
  • Disliked — for longer stays too far from town
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.