We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel With A View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Save Saved
You added SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
Sydney
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Hotel With A View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

The hotel is a little bit out of town, so you'll need transport. Ask for a Geyser view room if you don't mind listening to bubbling mud pools while trying to fall asleep. You won't be able to avoid a little bit of traffic noise, as the hotel is right on the main road. We found the hotel an absolute bargain at NZD99 including continental breakfast. It might be in need of a brush-up, but the view from our room (the weather was perfect) made up for any shortcomings of which there weren't any worth mentioning. Our room was large and clean, and so was the bathroom which had an extra deep tub. Bring your own bubbles! There were tea and cofffee making facilities and a fridge with mini bar. The hotel offered internet access, but this was a bit pricey. I can recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn' t require luxury accommodation.

  • Liked — the views from our room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    59
    50
    38
    66
See reviews for
51
94
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed in 21 different accommodations in NZ, and this was the dirtiest & shabbiest of the lot. Our reservation showed check-in at noon. We arrived 12;30 and were told to come back after 4:00 because the room wasn't clean. A little after 4, to get ready for a Hangi at 5. Getting off the abused elevator, everything about the exterior entrances was dirty & shabby. Inside the room, the carpet was filthy & completely worn; spider webs in the corner. All the furniture is decades old, badly nicked, scuffed and water spotted. But the worst was the bathroom. Long hairs all over the tub, walls & floor. It was obvious it had not been cleaned. I immediately called housekeeping & a woman came up shortly. She looked at the bathroom & mumbled this room wasn't her responsibility but went to get a spray gun & towel. When she was done, she also brought in a beach towel and instant coffee packets as there weren't any. Obviously someone had made the beds [ the sheets looked clean] & replaced the towels but nothing more. After she left, there was still hair on the floor. I scalded the glasses & cups before using, and laid a towel over the floor as it still had hair and water spots. I wouldn't eat in a place that is so poorly kept. I don't want to imagine what the kitchen might look like! No one asked if we had a good stay at checkout. I suspect this has happened many times before. The only positive point is the view. Our room had a spectacular view of the thermal park with geysers and mud pool spread out in front of us. We had to go outside to see it because the windows are coated in ...sulfur? The smell of sulfur inside the room is very strong even with the doors closed. It was rainy & cool when we were there but it would be terrible in the heat!! I don't recommend this hotel. Pay the entrance fee to the thermal park and stay at a one of the many decent hotels.

  • Liked — The view is the only thing I liked
  • Disliked — Shabby & dirty
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

Hotel overlooks the "Lving Thermal Village" a local tourist attraction and is a 20 minute walk out of the town centre. Rooms are adequate with small bathrooms. Clean, friendly helpful staff with a pleasant brakfast room offering both hot and cold food.
Ideal for short stop-over.
Good evening out to experience the Maori culture was the "Mitai Maori Village". picked up at hotel and had pre booked this on internet.

  • Liked — close to attractions for short stopover.
  • Disliked — for longer stays too far from town
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

After seeing all the horrible stories about this hotel, I was very close to cancelling the booking and making another booking elsewhere. I did not have the time to change the booking so we went ahead with it hoping for the best. We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. The views were amazing - our room looked directly at the geyser and mud pool. The hotel was very clean and not one bug or roach was seen for the entire weekend we were there. The manager or owner of the hotel was very friendly, hospitable and attentive (we had a minor malfunction with our lock, which was attended to immediately).
I agree that the hotel is looking tired and needs a facelift - but from what we saw, that is very common in most of rotorua! We found it to be great value for what we paid.
My only advice would be to adhere to the check in times. We arrived at 1.20pm to be told to come back at 2pm as they were fully booked.

  • Liked — Views of geyser
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

We were really disappointed with this hotel. I wouldn't even call it a hotel, it's more like a (pretty bad) backpackers. The room was big, but very very shabby and freezing cold. It looked like it was built in the 60's and never refurbished and still with the same worn out furniture. Thankfully there was a radiator in the bedroom, but the bathroom was FREEZING! It was also not cleaned, with old hair and stains everywhere. Disgusting!!

We booked through lastminute.com and got a "free upgrade" to a "geyser view suite" with a "complimentary fruit platter and bottle of bubbly" which sounded really nice. The room was quite big, but we never saw any fruitplatters or bottles of anything. Our room was on the ground floor far right, so we couldn't even see the geyser unless we walked outside.

The only good thing about this hotel was the view (from the garden and breakfast room) of the fantastic geyser and mudpools, but I'd MUCH rather stay somewhere else and pay the entrance fee to the geyser place.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

I stayed here as part of a large group. The convenience of this hotel to Pohotu was a definite plus. We were booked for the Hangi Feast on the night of our arrival. I wouldn't recommend spending your money on this. I was disappointed with it and you can spend your money at the Pohotu cultural center down the street for something better. The breakfast is good and hot (although I was sick of tomatoes, beans and scrambled eggs by this point in our trip). Our room was large and the beds were comfortable. The shower was large too. The hotel has spout pools which you can use in the winter. They are large enough to accomodate at least six people. The sauna is a steam sauna and it a nice touch on a cool winters night as well. I loved Rotorua and only wish we had had a few more days there. Be sure and try the Agrodome and the Adventure Center too. Zorbing was the highlight for my daughter.

  • Liked — Convenience to Geysers.
  • Disliked — No internet in rooms.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

The good - I liked the size of the room, nice shower and bath, outlook over the mud pools and Pohutu Geyser

The OK - a bit far from town unless you wanted to drive, breakfast OK, but not great, traffic noise, but there was an internal door which cut down noise

The bad - large cockroach that crawled in to my bag and came home with me (a colleague had a cockroach end up inside in clotthes she was wearing), dated and worn in areas, conference room seats absolutely disgusting (dirty and broken) - need to be thrown out

Hotel is in a thermal area so there is a sulphur smell almost al the time (this does not bother me however).

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.