We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely slow service and moderate food, skip it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atrium Restaurant

Atrium Restaurant
Rydges Hotel | 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 147 restaurants in Rotorua
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Tustin, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Extremely slow service and moderate food, skip it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We sat down at 7:00 pm for dinner and it took 45 minutes to get a drink and almost an hour to get soup. 1 hour and 45 minutes later I got my entree. The soup was great, but the chicken entree was marginal. Dessert came fast (I think because they have realized they messed up). I would skip this restaurant and go into town instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Atrium Restaurant, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear theKa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to apologise for the delay in service you experienced as well as the quality of the items produced. We pride ourselves on our restaurant offering and if you would like to discuss this further I would be happy to hear from you my email address is james_billing@rydges.com.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    4
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great food but lousy "muzak"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Dined here with friends while staying at a nearby motel. The menu was fairly extensive and the things we tried were well presented and tasty.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, despite us totally confusing our lovely waitress by being indecisive about what we each wanted!

The only downside we could find was the appalling muzak - fortunately it wasn't too loud so it didn't really spoil our enjoyments of the meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Atrium Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear OJH,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. The team were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. I have followed up and amended the music selection to hopefully enhance the ambience within the restaurant. We do hope to welcome you back to the Atrium Restaurant in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Dining alone. Wanted a meal on overnight business trip to Rotorua. Stayed at a nearby motel. Very prompt and friendly service at Atrium Restaurant (as opposed to the experience a few minutes before, at the Mezz Bar upstairs, at the Rydges Rotorua. See review, appalling). I had a corn fed chicken breast. Extremely delicious and tender. A glass of nice good value Pinot Nior which the friendly waiter opened fresh in front of me. All in all, for less than $45 a very enjoyable dining experience (on my own). Had breakfast the following morning there too, and again, lovely service from the waitress. Great coffee. If I'm passing through here again, will definitely come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Food OK but big, noisy space.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We ate here on a Friday night choosing the buffet option. The service and food were good, they did not have our first choice of wine but the staff were pleasant and although a little slow with drinks that aspect was not a problem. The room is huge with an incredibly high roof and terrible acoustics and a lot of noise from the mezz bar above.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good choice of food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The restaurant is in a large, airy space and needs good heating if the weather is cold. The roof leaked while we were there, not a good sign. Food choice was very good, we choose their buffet although the hot food was not that warm. You will not go hungry.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atrium Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Washington DC, DC
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Atrium Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrium Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.