We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Right Royal Welcome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Trout B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Rising Trout B&B to your Saves list
The Rising Trout B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Waana Street, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Bracknell
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Right Royal Welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights in November at the Rising Trout as part of our month long tour of New Zealand. We stayed in some fabulous places during our trip, but the Rising Trout stands out not only for the quality of the accommodation, but also for the welcome and hospitality shown by its owners David and Liz. It seemed that they could not do enough for us – from offering advice on how to make the most of our limited time, making reservations and even drying our things after we had been swimming.
The house is situated in a lovely location – right on the lake shore. The rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. David and Liz understand their clientele and the rooms are fitted with every amenity – from iron and ironing board to weigh scales for luggage. Breakfast was delicious and one of the best that we had on our trip – we loved the lemon butter!
When planning our trip we gave ourselves 2 days in which to explore Rotorua, but we seriously under-estimated how much there is to do there – we regretted not have more time to explore this fascinating area.
Despite Rotorua’s attractions one of the highlights for us was ‘Happy Hour’. Very often it is not the places you visit, but the people you meet along the way that leave the most lasting impression and this was definitely the case with David and Liz. It was a pleasure to chat and share a glass of wine with two such kind and interesting people. We loved Rotorua and the Rising Trout is an incentive to return all on its own – we just wish it was a bit closer!

Room Tip: Both rooms were lovely and overlook the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at The Rising Trout B&B, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We so enjoyed your company too in particular hearing of your 'royal goings on'. We wish you every happiness in your new 'chapel home'. Your new address is carefully noted and when we next visit UK woudl love to see you agfain. Thank you for such a generous review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
103
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and myself are totally in love with NZ - we simply cant get enough of this gorgeous land and keep returning back for a holiday at every possible opportunity for obvious reasons. We now have another reason to return to NZ and that is to stay with David and Liz!

The Rising Trout B&B deserves every review it has earned on Tripadvisor - in fact, no words can sum up the amazing experience we had at this lovely home away from home. We arrived to a warm welcome and Liz's yummy home baked treats. A heavy downpour that evening meant we stayed in ( so glad we did!) and had dinner with David and Liz. We enjoyed the beautiful sunset and the shimmering lake views as we sat in the living area , discussing our plans for the next day.

David is a wealth of information and is so caring. And Liz was every bit a doting mother. This is what makes a stay The Rising Trout truly exceptional ! Together, they help us sort our itinary; made every booking ; gave us the best suggestions for places to eat out - not that we were hungry after the scrumptuos and elaborate hot breakfasts that Liz fed us every morning ! Fresh homemade bread; fruit ; juice ; muesli; yoghurt; hot cooked delicacies ... mmmmYum ! We were spoiled ! The bed was so comfy and the room itself was spotless! We slept like babies and woke up refreshed every morning to the aroma from Liz's kitchen! When we returned from our outings, each time, it felt like coming home!

We had the great pleasure of doing the Hamurana Springs walk with David and Elsie ( their little dog ) . The walk was a delight. We used the kayaks ( my first time) and had a cracker of a time on the lake ( Liz will know what I mean ;) ! ) .

For three days, we were pampered , loved and cared for by David and Liz . We struck a great rapport and when it was time to leave, we wished we had stayed much longer ( surely will , next time!) . Elsie was sulking and so was I ! This stay was like no other - the beauty of the place together with the charming and generous nature of the hosts . It is David and Liz who made our stay in Rotorua so memorable and this was truly the highlight of our NZ holiday! Can't wait for our next visit !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at The Rising Trout B&B, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Lavanya - you were fantastic guests. Thank you for not only being so but also for such a generous reviw review. It would be marvellous to see you both again - hopefully not too far into the future. We are thinking of you both as this fearsome fire risk appears to be gathering momentum. Please do be careful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very comfortable accommodation with many home from home comforts thrown in. Owners were extremely helpful in advising us on what to see and do around Rotorua. Lakeside location out of Rotorua is a quiet haven with fantastic sunset views across the lake.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms, both excellent with lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at The Rising Trout B&B, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
To have 'fellow' scots stay with us was delightful and fun. Thank you so much for staying with us. And to think you may even settle over this way - all one can say is the very,very best of good luck and fortune for whatever lies ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Because it's a wonderful place. Because Liz and David deserve it. And because it was such a great way to end our North Island trip.

I can't add much substance to the many other detailed reviews. Liz and David are charming hosts, utterly devoted to helping travelers make the most of their time in Rotorua. We arrived to a glass of wine and an unbelievably gorgeous sunset, which I scrambled to capture in pixels. The bedroom is spotlessly clean and totally comfortable (plenty of storage space, excellent shower, clear lake view). I was especially impressed that I scarcely even realized they had a cat, since my allergies are usually on a hair trigger.

They were terrific resources for places to go and things to see. Because their home is a little north of Rotorua proper, it's actually more convenient for two of the nicer sites to visit (Okere Falls and Hamurana Springs), yet it's also only about 10 minutes' drive from town. And they were very generous in making reservations for us, even though we were trying to get into the Canopy Tours at the last minute.

And breakfast. Breakfast! Liz is a fantastic cook, emphasizing "real", home-made foods such as her own bread, yogurt, and muesli. It's simple but excellent and ample, and meant we only needed one meal and a snack to last the rest of the day. I'm afraid their dog was always a bit disappointed that we left so few scraps.

My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer, or have dinner with David and Liz. It's really that good.

Room Tip: If you have food allergies or sensitivities, be sure to let Liz know in advance. She's a great c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at The Rising Trout B&B, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you Christian for such a thoughtfu, generous and kind review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you both. Please return some day - soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We both have travelled extensively in our lives throughout the world, but have never felt such warm, generous hospitality before. This Bed and Breakfast is exceptional in all respects. With warm and welcoming host Liz and David run a first class B & B! From the moment I phoned to ask if we could come a day earlier the greeting we received made us feel instantly at home. All areas from the beautifully decorated home offers breathtaking views of the lake, with the house being situated in a very quiet location, with Rotorua just down the road. The local knowledge passed on by Liz and David proved invaluable for our 3 night stay. With Liz's home cooking and cakes awaiting for us at the end of the day, and David on hand for lessons in catching the great Rainbow & Brown Trout!

This bed and breakfast is very highly recommended and we would hope to stay there again upon our next trip.

You cannot go past this great B&B and recommend you stay to experience the best of the North Island.

Thanks once again Liz and Dave!!

Steve and Marelle

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at The Rising Trout B&B, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for a such a wonderful review Steve and Marelle. We did so enjoy your company too. It would be fantastic if our paths cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Before our stay at TRT we had visions of mill-pond smooth blues, creased only by the frequent feather of foam left by a flicking fin of a floppy rainbow or brown. We dreamed of lazy lounging and pensive peering through sunlight shadows on the lawn - Wordsworth and The lakes District, it was. We got Longfellow and Hiawatha in canoes crashing through a cyclone whipped up West of Taranaki and flung across the great plateau by a wild taniwha. Liz and David chorused 'You shoulda been here last week!' 'Yeah right!' we said and cracked another Tui. For the chill of the storm outside was instantly dismissed by the comforting warmth of friendship born forty years ago and rekindled upon reunion as if time between was a mere second. TRT IS warmth itself, comfort, cheer, chatter and laughter. If you want family friendship, go TRT!

Room Tip: Choose one of the upstairs rooms, David won't let you sleep in his giant workshop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at The Rising Trout B&B, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
You shoulda been here THIS week Bill as the taniwha surely moves in mysterious ways. The lake these days is truly William Worsworth. As to the reunion. There is something very special about rekindling friendships born when we were all young soldiers and very young at heart. I think we still are
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed one brief night in mid September while traveling from the USA, but wished it could have been more. David and Liz were wonderful hosts, terrific people who made our stay very enjoyable. Our room was very comfortable, and the food was absolutely terrific. The home is in a beautiful setting on the lake and while very close to the attractions in Rotorua has none of the smell!. Highly recommend this wonderful place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at The Rising Trout B&B, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We loved Evelyn and Bob's stay with us. Thank you for this great review and we have carefully recorded your Longmeadow address when, in the happy event, we get to visit. It would be wonderful to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rising Trout B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Trout B&B

Address: 15 Waana Street, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rising Trout B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rising Trout is our lakeside home where a warm kiwi welcome awaits our many guests. We are located on the edge of beautiful Lake Rotorua adjacent to world famous fishing spot, the Ohau Channel. Accommodation consists two well appointed en-suite guest rooms with luxury bedding and glorious views. Close by attractions include trout fishing, our equally beautiful neighbour Lake Rotoiti, kayaking from across the front lawn (kayaks are provided at no cost), white water rafting and golf whilst other famous Rotorua attractions are only a short drive away. We can easily arrange for our guests bookings including fishing charters, cultural tours and even for a floatplane to uplift you from the beach by our letter box. The latter is a surprisingly inexpensive option and can take you to such marvelous vistas as volcanic White Island and Mount Tarawera. We love it here. You will too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Rising Trout B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Trout B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.