We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Trout B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Rising Trout B&B to your Saves list
The Rising Trout B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Waana Street, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

David and Liz were perfect hosts and made me feel part of the family - and so did their adorable dog Elsie. Their home is beautiful - tastefully furnished and decorated with fabulous lake views. I was greeted with tea and home-made biscuits. David took me out on the lake and I made my debut in a kayak - it was a great experience. Dinner was beautifully cooked by Liz - with their own smoked trout as an appetiser, leg of lamb with home grown veg and a wicked chocolate roulade dessert. My bedroom was perfect and the en-suite had every toiletry I could possibly need. After a good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at The Rising Trout B&B, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
It was a pleasure hosting you Janet and thank you for your lovely review. We would be delighted to see you again on, hopefully, your next trip to New Zealand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
102
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

David and Liz were warm, friendly hosts who provided me with lots of helpful advice and brochures of the Rotorua area. I loved the location of the house so close to the lake and the opportunity to watch the family of swans on the lake. The breakfast was great, the room was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. I can highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast and only wished I had been able to extend my stay for more than one night. Will certainly be staying at The Rising Trout B& B again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at The Rising Trout B&B, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you Lorraine - we certainly enjoyed hosting you and look forward to our paths crossing again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee on Solent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast is exceptional in all respects. With a first class location, the care and attention by our hosts Liz and David cannot be faulted. From the moment we stepped from the car the greeting we received made us feel instantly at home. The upstairs room has lovely views of the lake, with the house being situated in a very quiet location, with easy access to Rotorua and local attractions. The local knowledge passed on by Liz and David proved invaluable for our 3 night stay. With Liz's home cooking and cakes awaiting our return after daily excursions and a "this is your home" attitude, this bed and breakfast is very highly recommended. DONT MISS IT!!
Sylvia and Stephen H

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at The Rising Trout B&B, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Stephen and Sylvia. You were wonderful guests. It was both privilege and pleasure to host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Rising Trout B&B is one of the friendliest B&B's we've ever stayed in. From the first minute we arrived - with Liz waving at us from the kitchen window - we felt like we were staying with friends or relatives, rather than "holiday accommodation". Liz, David and Elsie (their very cute dog) were fantastic hosts - knowledgeable about the area, full of history and stories and willing to help with anything. If you are not a big eater, you may also want to let Liz know - as a huge breakfast is provided - poached fruit, muesli, juice, tea, coffee, toast, homemade jams - then followed by a hot breakfast of eggs, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes! We didn't need lunch that day. Our only regret was that we didn't plan to stay longer in Rotorua - there is a lot more to do there than we expected, the views are beautiful, and we would have loved to have time to go trout fishing with David. We hope we'll have an opportunity to go back some time. Thank you so much, Liz & David, for opening your home so generously.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at The Rising Trout B&B, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you Diana very much for such a generous review. You and Grace were an absolute delight to host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Rising Trout B&B is exceptional! We felt very welcome and enjoyed every minute of our stay at this amazing B&B. It was everything we could have asked for: comfortable bed, fantastic breakfast, stunning views, great service, delicious homemade cookies, and wonderful hosts! If you are looking for a relaxing and enjoyable stay near Rotorua, then this is just the place for you!
We'll be back!
Thank you very much Liz and David for an amazing stay!
Jael

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at The Rising Trout B&B, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
......and now you have spoilt us with your wonderful review Jael! Thank you so much. Good luck with the job. Enjoy Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Liz and David are very warm and caring people who welcomed us into their lives for a few short days. They spoiled us rotten. We felt like we were visiting close friends. Liz has the B&B caper totally sorted, everything is exceptional and mostly home made. A rare and enjoyable experience, especially after living in hotel rooms for several weeks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at The Rising Trout B&B, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you Mal and Lynn for your generous review. We certainly enjoyed your company too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Coming from the hotel industry I must say I was impressed! Liz & David were wonderful hosts and everything about our stay was amazing. If you're looking for an authentic place to stay, this is definitely an address I would recommend! Welcome drink, home-made cookies, the best breakfast in the country, and astonishing views over lake Rotorua! Liz & David are always around to take care of their guests, know everything there is to know about the area and will make sure you stay is memorable. Cheers for everything guys! Chris Reinhard

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at The Rising Trout B&B, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Chris - it was a pleasure hosting you and Jael. We really enjoyed your company. I found your shirt and will post to your mother's address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rising Trout B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Trout B&B

Address: 15 Waana Street, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rising Trout B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rising Trout is our lakeside home where a warm kiwi welcome awaits our many guests. We are located on the edge of beautiful Lake Rotorua adjacent to world famous fishing spot, the Ohau Channel. Accommodation consists two well appointed en-suite guest rooms with luxury bedding and glorious views. Close by attractions include trout fishing, our equally beautiful neighbour Lake Rotoiti, kayaking from across the front lawn (kayaks are provided at no cost), white water rafting and golf whilst other famous Rotorua attractions are only a short drive away. We can easily arrange for our guests bookings including fishing charters, cultural tours and even for a floatplane to uplift you from the beach by our letter box. The latter is a surprisingly inexpensive option and can take you to such marvelous vistas as volcanic White Island and Mount Tarawera. We love it here. You will too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Rising Trout B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Trout B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.