We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food and tasty beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hennessy's Irish Bar

Hennessy's Irish Bar
1206 Tutanekai Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
07 - 343 7901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 152 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Irish, Pub, Gastropub, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Decent food and tasty beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I ate lunch here on a whim while vacationing in New Zealand. The inside of the pub is a bit dark and dank, but I suppose that is to be expected. The Guiness was reasonably priced and service was ok. What blew us away was the seafood chowder. It was served in an enormous bowl - good thing we decided ahead of time to share! Huge portion and it was quite tasty. Overall this place offers good value for your money.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    45
    11
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best meal in years !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife Kristin, son Aidan & myself had the best meal ever. The venue was also excellent as well as management and staff. Highly recommend that everyone gives this place a go. You won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Geoff from the Naki NZ was at Hennessys Irish bar Rotorua NZ for lunch today, had a corona the lemon was stuck in the neck of the bottle so Geoff put a knife in the bottle to push it down an got the knife stuck, the staff cracked up laughing an tried to get it out an gave us a free beer. Thanks heaps will be back. Bye the way the food was so yummy. Cheryl from Taupo

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
“Highly recommend the Seafood Chowder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

From the moment we walked through the doors, we were instantly impressed by the friendly greeting and welcoming atmosphere. Each of our meals was in our opinion complete excellence! , the seafood chowder was sensationally devine and every aspect even presentation was unfaultable. My nine year old son ( destined to be a Master Cheif critic ) made the comment " this is the best place we've EVER been" ! and I add not 1 crumb let on his plate. Thankyou Hennessy's Irish Bar for the ultimate dining experience..& fantastic friendly welcoming atmosphere ...We will most certainly be back!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
2 reviews
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went to Hennessys last night with the kiddies and it was fantastic. Super friendly staff, impecable service and the food was really scrummy. Such big hearty meals ended up sharing mains and puddings it was that big. Nice family place to take your kids, you know how it can be with kiddies and restaurants (but not here) 10/10 a must have experience when your travelling through Rotovegas. Will be returning :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hennessy's Irish Bar also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Hennessy's Irish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hennessy's Irish Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.